We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service-recommended”
Review of BelAire Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BelAire Bangkok
Ranked #156 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great value and service-recommended”
Reviewed January 30, 2009

The hotel is bright, spacious and tastefully decorated and the service was excellent. The hotel seemed to be a 4 star and to be honest I enjoyed it more than some of the bigger 5 star hotels I have stayed in in Bangkok. It is situated in the Sukhumvit area of Bangkok with a great supermarket just at the end of the road, several internet cafes nearby and a 5 minute walk to the Skytrain.
Breakfast was good-plenty of choice. The rooms are large, white with modern art designs and a large flatscreen TV. It s true the air con can be a bit fierce, but there is an "off" button when needed so not a major problem.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_the_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    770
    227
    53
    43
See reviews for
299
660
198
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This was our second Christmas stay at the Bel Aire and we were not disappointed.We arrived at about 9am and they got us a room almost immediately.On the first night my wife lost her purse(containing credit and debit cards) in a taxi ,the front desk staff were brilliant contacting the taxi firms etc whilst I stopped the cards.Sadly it never turned up .There is so much to do within walking distance of the hotel,I would choose this hotel every time I went to Bangkok.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuanLum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks. UK
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

I have to agree with all the previous reviews here - I was really pleased with this hotel. It's right in the middle of the Sukhumvit Road area where you can buy pretty much anything at anytime! Sure, if you're worried about the seedier side of Bangkok stay somewhere else - but I was a woman on my own and walked around and never felt unsafe.

The hotel is well off Sukhumvit and pretty quiet - I did not need my earplugs at all - and the rooms are very well furnished, spotlessly clean and comfortable. They offer tea making facilities and a (rather expensive) mini bar. There were a couple of nice touches - a packet of detergent so you know it's OK to do your own laundry, free drinking water and a basket of free fruit on the landing in the afternoons. The pool is smallish but big enough to get some exercise in as well as cool down.

The Skytrain is 5 minutes walk which takes you to the shopping malls in no time at all.

The services in the hotel are quite expensive but there are restaurants all around and also the food courts in the malls such as MBK. There's an expat supermarket just down the street (not the 7/11) selling anything you might be missing and the restaurant there looked popular too. Massage could be had cheaper outside the hotel as well as Internet which in the hotel was 100 baht for 20 minutes and outside 1 baht per minute.

Breakfast was a good extensive buffet with plenty of fruit, cereal and also freshly cooked eggs. Friendly staff too. I'd definitely stay here again if I needed somewhere central in Bangkok.

  • Liked — Spotless, all mod cons
  • Disliked — Cost of internet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

What a stunning start to our honeymoon and despite having the lowest star rating definately the best.
After a very long flight and drive in the rush hour of bangkok it was a pleasure to finally get into a well appointed room.
At first it was difficult to find the room number whilst tired but look at the floor the number is printed in large letters just outsidfe the room.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, however the shower is cold unless you run it for some time, in which case it becomes lovely and hot.
Do not be tempted to use the minibar or eat in the hotel as its' very expensive. The best thing is to go down the street to the nearest 7/11 and buy drinks,beer and snacks there. Also if you don't want to go too far to have dinner the first night, go to Gullivers bar just down the street which has excellent food where you can see the sights outside, with a pitcher of ice cold singha beer.
One word of warning about Bangkok, the traffic is dire plan well ahead or use the monorail, it can take an hour to travel less than a mile.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — expense of minbar and restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sjc462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed here over Xmas 08. Cannot fault the hotel which was clean, staff were excellent, room was big, breakfast was great. The only thing I would say is that we should probably have researched the area a bit better as we were not so keen on the seedier side of things. This is really an area for older western men and their younger Thai girls which you kind of expect in Bangkok but we weren't so keen on seeing it whilst having our breakfast!
Hotel is well located for sky train (Nana is 5 mins away) and this was a key for me in terms of choice, however the sky train doesn't reach everywhere so we ended up getting quite a few cabs which although cheap, can take quite a long time.
I feel bad not giving this hotel a 5 star rating but this is more a reflection of the area than the hotel.
PS booked on Asiarooms. A lot cheaper than booking directly with hotel.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Forrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth In England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My wife and l stayed at the Bel Aire Princess for 6 nights at the start of a 18 day trip to Thailand. We chose this Hotel as it had easy access to the SkyTrain about 5 minutes walk to Nana Station fro hotel, although the road on which hotel is situated is a bit seedy it is very safe, and you are off the main road so avoiding lots of noise.
Hotel is modern , staff speak fairly good english but far better than our Thai , all the staff are very polite and helpful , especially the in house tour organiser who we used on a couple of ocassions.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was large and clean , if staying ask for a room a the back as it is quieter than the front which we stayed in at the end of our trip for 1 night only.
Breakfast is wonderful , mixture of fresh fruit, hot and cold buffet and a chef who will cook omletes fresh for you, plenty of tea coffee and soft drinks available.
The food in the resturant in the evening although more expensive than outside hotel is of a high standard and reasonable price , plus no chance of a dodgey stomach. Hotel has a small but welcoming swimming pool to cool off in in the hot Bangkok weather , with pool side service available, which again is good.
Hotel massage is very good , but you can get massages cheaper outside of hotel , but hotel service is very well run.
We would certainly return here on our next visit , we can truely say it was a great hotel due to such friendly staff and a great relaxing atmosphere.
Well done to everyone at the Bel Aire Princess

  • Liked — friendly , comfortable , clean and relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eyelevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We stayed in this hotel in the middle of November, have no faults with the hotel at all. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is close to the sky train (10 minute walk away) and then you can get to anywhere within Bangkok! Will be back to stay in this hotel again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLou2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#111 of 863 in Bangkok
793 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
#240 of 863 in Bangkok
1,189 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BelAire Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelAire Bangkok

Property: BelAire Bangkok
Address: 16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#149 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#155 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BelAire Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the boutique hotel favoured by savvy travellers and the city's elite who need to be at the centre of the action. A portal to all the treasures of the kingdom, BelAire Bangkok, is nestled in a quiet street just off bustling Sukhumvit Road, with its wealth of shopping, business and entertainment possibilities.Just a 30 minute drive to the Airport on the Expressway, in close proximity to embassies, the Central World and Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre, and mere steps to the BTS skytrain and MRT underground transportation systems, getting around has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BelAire Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel-Aire Princess Hotel Bangkok
Bel Aire Princess Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing