We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Hotel! Excellent for shoppers at MBK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Ranked #53 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Central Hotel! Excellent for shoppers at MBK!”
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We chose this hotel for 3 nights after reading positive reviews and wanted to be next to MBK for my wife to indulge in shopping without having to sweat it out in getting there.
Last minute booking hence neither agoda nor asiarooms could help. The hotel was apparently running 80% full. Hence booked through dusit website (not pprincess which was surprisingly costlier) and shelled out a quite more for low season .Sadly, didn't even have breakfast included at this price. Chose a deluxe as was only $10 more than superior.
The limo transfer was over priced for a 45 ride which usually costs Bt 400 - 500, however it was hassle free.
Had requested for an early-checkin and a room was made available 2 hrs prior to check-in time.
The corner rooms are deluxe so they are either facing the pool and city or MBK. We got the pool view. However one morning a low thumping noise started. I called up reception to complain, and was told that the M floor below us had some construction going on and should stop by noon. We got back in the evening but the thumping was still on. On speaking to the guest relations manager we finally got another room higher up and a bowl of fruit for the discomfort. The guy at the concierge desk was always smiling and eager to help with information. The gym is very well equipped , the pool is clean. Its definitely a 4 star standard.

  • Liked — proximity to central shopping district of bangkok
  • Disliked — a bit over priced for low season
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysticlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    1,627
    305
    86
    54
See reviews for
1,564
1,926
287
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I am a travel agent and stayed here last week for two nights at the end of a business trip. It was so close to MBK that I could actually come back to my room to drop off shopping or use the bathroom (MBK charges 1 baht to use the bathroom, which is only like 5 cents!)

The Pathumwan Princess in Bangkok is a first-class hotel located in the heart of the city, in Bangkok's central business district. Adjacent to the MBK Centre and opposite Siam Square, Pathumwan Princess is surrounded by some of Bangkok's best retail and entertainment outlets with direct access to the National Stadium sky train terminal.

The Superior Room is of a generous size with a shower over the bath. I preferred the Deluxe Rooms which had a separate bath & shower and they were generally located on the corner of each floor so let more light in the windows. ExecuPlus rooms were some of the best, but only offered Queen Size bedding so not the best if you had two friends travelling together.

This hotel also offered an outdoor pool which proved to be very popular with guests who were staying at the hotel. After a hard day of shopping what a great way to cool down & relax. This was located on the 8th floor so had a great view of Bangkok. Recreational facilities at the hotel include The Olympic Club, the largest of its kind in Thailand at a massive 9000-square metres offering tennis, badminton and squash courts, basketball, jogging tracks, and Jacuzzis. The gymnasium at the Pathumwan Princess accommodates over 100 different types of exercise equipment. There is a free weight section and two aerobic studios with over 300 classes per week, including body combat and jazz aerobics.

They also offered spa treatment facilities on site, and massage was available in room.

  • Liked — Location to MBK
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Good hotel 4*, annexed to MBK dept. store huge 5 floors shopoing mall (with maybe over 3.000 stores!!) excellent comfort huge rooms, fantastic pool on 8th floor with italian restaurant and view on city . only watch that if book single room, and you wish to bring a GUEST AFTER 10 PM they will charge you 30 U$ ..! so make sure you book room double(they're same and rate is same at booking!) .

  • Liked — CONFORT
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MONTESXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We chose this hotel owing to the location above the MBK shopping centre, and it's worth this alone if you are there to shop. Popping upstairs to drop some bags is wonderful.

The room was nothing special - dated but large. Average bathroom with broken and stained tiles - shower over bath. Room smelt of stale Body Odour on first arrival. Small old TV with no DVD player or music.

The cafes and bars looked great, but a couple of coffees and muffins was over twice the taxi fare from the airport, so we ate in MBK.

The pool area is great, but not if you want to relax - it is full of gym members doing laps. Two jacuzzis were also well used. The Olympic gym is a fantastic facility and free to use for hotel guests. They have Les Mills fitness classes.

Service was fantastic. We flew in from Koh Samui on the first flight to Bangkok arriving at 7am, so although check-in is somewhat later, we were kindly allowed into a room by 10am. Likewise they allowed us to check out later at no cost.

We would go back there - purely to shop at MBK again. Otherwise there are better value and groovier places to stay in BKK.

  • Liked — MBK Shopping Centre, Large Room, Nice Lobby area
  • Disliked — Needs refurbishing rooms, waiting for the elevators
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank beanbagdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Have stayed here before and loved it and opinion has not changed.
Great location and service and comfortable rooms. Strangely though we are a family of 5 and every time we have stayed, we get allocated rooms on seperate floors but manage to have an interconnecting room with someone else! On this stay the neighbours were particularly noisy with an unsettled young child wthat cried a lot at night.
The hotel does lack a lounge or seating area on the ground floor if you just want to sit and wait or meet up with somebody. There is a small seating area tucked away near the main entrance where people wait for transfers or tours but that's all. You can sit in the cafe area only if you buy something to eat or drink.
Excellent buffet breakfast but dining room has become smaller and more congested with recent renovations. Some of our group used the pool/ spa etc and found it was excellent
Will be back!.

  • Liked — good service and location
  • Disliked — nothing major to dislike
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DolB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

After a LOT of deliberation of deciding where to stay since we were two couple travelling with two kids each(aged 9 months, 4, 6 and 7 years) we had effectively zeroed in to deciding between Holiday Inn Silom or PP at the MBK Shopping centre. That choice was largely due to reading these tripadvisor reviews, in retrospect that was time well spent.

The fact that we finally chose Pathumwan Princess was due to non availability of rooms online for Holiday Inn..but thats another story(interestingly we happened to go to Holiday Inn Silom for dinner at the Tandoor and were told rooms were freely available...but DO NOT USE YOUR CREDIT CARD...mine was compromised and blocked by my bank but thankfully not misused (had used it at only these two hotels but am told they are most likely not at fault)

Only good things to say about Pathumwan Princess especially for family travellers. The location is fabulous, if shopping is on the agenda..mind you, we could not complete the MBK shopping centre itself even though we were there for 5 nights!!( evenings could be set aside for the lumbini market night bazaar which we thought was another shoppers delight and family friendly).

There is easy accessiblity to the skytrain and hence most tourist locations

We stayed in Deluxe DBL on the 27th floor which had a lovely view, comfy bed and a large bathroom(which is where it differed from the std dbl)

Service was courteous, no problems

Spa was a trifle dear but worth the experience. REspectable pool and Jacuzzi but no kiddie pool:(

The lobby barman makes delightful B52's and guess what ..they were cheaper there than at a restuarant in Night Bazaar!!! 190 Bahts or so

The most important thing for us as a couple of Indian couples travelling with children was to have a family friendly environment and surrounding along with a respectable place to stay, which I am pleased to say we certainly did get

Thouroughly recommended

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really had a good time. My credit card was compromised but am not sure if it was at this hotel and was reassured by my bank that the hotel is probably not at fault
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We arrived at the hotel impressed with the lobby! We were even offerred a welcome drink... However, upon entering our room we were very disappointed. The lobby looked 5star but the room looked 2star! Very old furnishings, and the bed smelled as though it wasn't dried properly. The bathroom was tiled instead of marble, so it had the look of a public toilet. The elevators were also extremely slow! You would usually get on it with lots of other people who had been waiting for ages for the elevator as well. Location is very central though, it's easy to get to by cab and is connected to MBK, a big mall in Bangkok. The buffet breakfast was yummy as well.

  • Liked — Location & low price
  • Disliked — The smelly beds and slow lifts
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Belly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#73 of 866 in Bangkok
5,507 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#97 of 866 in Bangkok
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#74 of 866 in Bangkok
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathumwan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathumwan Princess Hotel

Property: Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Address: 444 Phayathai Rd, | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pathumwan Princess Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the epicenter of Bangkok's famed shopping, entertainment and arts district, the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is a multi-award winning property towering above the iconic MBK Center. Blending contemporary comfort with the unmistakable charm and elegance of traditional Thai hospitality, the hotel consistently rates among the highest in both customer service and guest satisfaction, as reviewed by fellow travellers. Favored by corporate guests desiring unparalleled access to the city and holidaymakers seeking an oasis in the center of bustling Bangkok, the Pathumwan Princess Hotel provides sophisticated ambience in the center of the "city of angels." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pathumwan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok
Pathumwan Princess Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing