We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathumwan experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Ranked #54 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pathumwan experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Pathumwan twice now and have found my experience at this Hotel to be one of great pleasure the staff are friendly, rooms are very nice and it is located right next door to the MBK shopping centre for those who love shopping

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,146
    1,579
    296
    84
    52
See reviews for
1,486
1,873
278
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (956)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jangpyeong-Dong, Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fourth time this year I've stayed at the hotel (all short trips) and have not had any bad experiences. Rooms are tidy and wel kept, checkin/out staff are very pleasant and helpful, as are the others (door staff, room service and housekeeping). Hotel is centrally located adjoining MBK and close to the other Siam complexes (Paragon, Discovery, etc.) and linked by walkways.
Will be back again in October.

Room Tip: Pick the higher up rooms away from the air-coolers which are on top of the MBK store, as the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SJPTain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza, Mwanza, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The room services are excellent. In addition I enjoyed the Olympic Gym, the Swimming Pool just to mention are few services. All these made me feel relaxed during my recent five days stay at the Hotel. Wholeheartedly, Actually, I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone I know who is going to Bangkok to stay at the Hotel because it offers value for money.

Room Tip: Standard rooms with double beds have enough space for relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Pathumwan now on 6 seperate holidays to Thailand. It has become a ritual for me and I look forward to my stay there. On my recent visit however I found for the first time that I had the constant problem of room key not working during our 2 night stay which was frustrating having to have it continually reset with reception who advised me 'don't keep the key near your mobile phone as it erases access to the room on your key? I found this odd - I should be able to keep both my phone and my room key in my pocket? The hotel itself is great although I never like being served by reception staff who are in conversation with other members of the staff while they attempt to serve (I find that rude). I love breakfast at the Pathumwan however, they do need to consider another omlette chef as the wait for eggs on the buffet is FAR too long. All in all a central hotel that is clean and usually serves my needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kreuz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimphu, Bhutan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Location is good with BTS connection. The hotel is nice with good swimming pool.

Breakfast on the ground floor tends to be crowded. The club lounge is good value for business executives.

It has a small right next to it and is conveniently located. Staffa are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passang12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Pathumwan Princess is your average hotel with clean rooms and bathrooms and excellent service. The service that all Thais are known for. What sets this hotel apart is the location. It is in the middle everything you need. The BTS is attached to MBK which is also attached to the hotel. So you need not go to the street to take the train. There are several banks in MBK (the mall attached to the hotel) where you can change money amd the rates are very good. There is a grocery in MBK that closes at 10pm where you can buy the sweetest fruits of Thailand. Siam Paragaon and Siam Center is just a hop and a skip away. I would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked to stay at this hotel after searching online for 5 star accommodation. From the moment we stepped into this hotel it felt cold and unwelcoming we asked guest services questions relating to our booking in which she looked at us confused we repeated the same question 3 times before we decided it was easier to give up! Hotel overall was clean and looked reasonable. Once we checked in and went up to the room we were disgusted with the standard of the room in which they call 5 star! Appliances and electrics were prehistoric and certainly not of 5 star quality. The room was clean and very small. Housekeeping dont know how to read clearly as the 'do not disturb' sign was on they attempted to enter on two occasions - not good! We stayed over 4 nights so this included the complimentary lunch buffet. We decided to go down on the second day to try this and was disgusted with the service and the food. We looked at the buffet table in disbelief there was hardly anything to eat on the tiny table plus they charge for water in which is usually complimentary when you do buffet. We left straight away and didn't bother going down again! Overall the hotel is definitely not of 5 star quality, service is poor! The only positive thing about this hotel is its location it is right on MBK. I will honestly suggest staying elsewhere and catching taxis to get to the shopping centre!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marioliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthieu R, Hotel Manager at Pathumwan Princess Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Your feedback regarding your overall hotel experience has been found suspicious and reported to the concern department of Tripadvisor for investigation and clarification.

But to clarify with the Tripadvisor community following your review i would like to inform our Superior room are all 34 square meters size with all modern equipments. All 455 rooms has been fully renovated four years ago so there is absolutely no "prehistoric" electrics!
All our electrics and appliances are well maintain and conform to any international standards.

Our Thai Heritage Thai cuisine and Seafood buffet located at our restaurant CitiBistro is not set up on "a tiny table" but on 360 degrees modern open kitchen plus with 2 extras buffet lines and 1 large high table.
We offering 1 salad bar, 1 station with 3 variety of seafood of ice, 1 ice box with a BBQ selection (river prawn, 4 different kind of fish, mussel, rock lobster, beef tenderloin, marinated pork/chicken, meat satay, squid). We have 2 live cooking station with large variety of local noodles. We doing a la minute cooking Thai curry (green or red), Thai soup, Pad thai and a large variety of local soup and main dishes. There is som tum station, 6 thai salads and a Japanese station with freshly made sushi & sashimi. To finish a large selection of traditional Thai desserts + 1 station for Thai roti.

During the month of September we do not have any records made by guest during their period of stay regarding housekeeping staff entering the room during guest presence. We do not have any records of guest complaining our food quality, quantity or presentation on our Thai & Seafood Buffet and neither anyone complaining our F&B service is "disgusted" or either "poor".

Each guest review is important and constructive for us but your review is not as you just using impolite and inappropriate wordings to just demolish the hotel reputation.

We are not looking forward on accommodating you again in the future.

Matthieu Reynaud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#68 of 858 in Bangkok
5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#100 of 858 in Bangkok
2,051 reviews
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathumwan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathumwan Princess Hotel

Property: Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Address: 444 Phayathai Rd, | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pathumwan Princess Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the epicenter of Bangkok's famed shopping, entertainment and arts district, the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is a multi-award winning property towering above the iconic MBK Center. Blending contemporary comfort with the unmistakable charm and elegance of traditional Thai hospitality, the hotel consistently rates among the highest in both customer service and guest satisfaction, as reviewed by fellow travellers. Favored by corporate guests desiring unparalleled access to the city and holidaymakers seeking an oasis in the center of bustling Bangkok, the Pathumwan Princess Hotel provides sophisticated ambience in the center of the "city of angels." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pathumwan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok
Pathumwan Princess Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing