We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Ranked #54 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and I can't fault the hotel. The rooms were average size, very clean, well presented and with everything you need. The breakfasts were excellent with a huge buffet choice and very good quality food. The location was excellent as it was close to shopping and the sky train (you don't even have to walk outside). We got a great last minute price but I would have been very happy even if we had paid a lot more. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,146
    1,579
    296
    84
    52
See reviews for
1,486
1,873
278
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (956)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

If u are pretty spoiled in general, yet ur budget only allows for a 4-star hotel, look no further! This hotel was recently renovated and is connected to MBK Center, so it's perfect esp for tourists wh are in Bangkok by themselves.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dupatinaglace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I've stayed in more expensive big brand name hotels in Bangkok before, but after spending two nights at the Pathumwan Princess, I would question the sense in paying any more for a hotel. The location is great - next to shopping centres and very importantly the BTS. the staff were more than helpful, the rooms were well appointed and the breakfast was all that I could ever ask. I've never been to a hotel where they have crispy and non-crispy bacon and 5 and 10 min boiled eggs. Even my rather more discerning other half was more than delighted at the range of Asian breakfast dishes available

The only downside I can think of is the lack of free internet access (wifi or wired) in the rooms. Also note that if you do want to pay for access, the only way in the room is to use the wired connection. Not much use if you want to use an iPhone/iPad type device. Free Wifi is available in the common areas on the G and 2nd floors though. Just ask reception for an id/password

I stayed in a Deluxe (ie cheaper) room on the 29th (top) floor, and can't see a need to pay extra for a Superior room. Save the money on the room and opt for the breakfast instead

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmppb, General Manager at Pathumwan Princess Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Dear Hod13,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about your stay at the Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
With great pleasure can we confirm that we are currently installing WiFi throughout the entire hotel and will offer a basic access for free from 01.07.11 onwards.
Hoping you will stay with us again and benefit from this enhancement!
Yours sincerely,
Christoph J Knichel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Oz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Being connected to MBK was great especially for a first timer to bangkok like me.

The breakfast was the best buffet breakfast I've had bar none. It really is so good there better than many other more expensive hotels we have stayed in.

My only criticism is that while there is wifi in the lobby (Which is better than some hotels which offer no free internet) internet in the room was wired and expensive. In the defense of pathumwan this is still the norm in the bigger hotels which is sad.

Staff were fine. English barrier made communication sometimes difficult but this is part of travelling and overall my experience at the princess was a positive one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmppb, General Manager at Pathumwan Princess Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Dear Bonski78,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about your stay at the Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok.
With great pleasure did we learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the breakfast buffet.
Regarding the level of English, we would like to assure you, that your comments have been shared with our team members and we will continue our daily English classes on site in order to improve the level of communication.
As to the WiFi we are glad to announce that we are currently installing WiFi throughout the entire hotel including all guest rooms and will offer a basic access for free starting July 1st, 2011.
The entire team of the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is committed to ensuring a most enjoyable experience and hopes to soon be able welcoming you back here in Bangkok!
Yours sincerely,
Christoph J Knichel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We unpacked after a long day travelling, and went to have a bath....no hot water.
Hotel couldn't fix it so we had to re-pack and change rooms.
New room had a blocked toilet, and sink.
Couldn't be bothered moving again at midnight, so put up with it and used the lobby toilet.
Staff didn't seem to care, and didn't make us feel welcome or valued as customers at all.
Won't return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmppb, General Manager at Pathumwan Princess Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Jemmacat,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about your stay at the Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok.
Please accept our most sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations.
We are very concerned to learn about your negative experience and would agree besides the technical issues, the lack of compassion shown is clearly unacceptable.
Please rest assured however, that this is not indicative of our level of service and that your comments have been shared with our team members for immediate corrective action. We apologize to you and your spouse for the inconveniences caused and sincerely regret that they were not addressed before your departure.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services on a future occasion and invite you to contact us directly. The entire team of the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is committed to ensuring a most enjoyable experience!
Yours sincerely,
Christoph J Knichel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I've been staying at the Pathumwan Princess twice a year for a number of years. It's main selling point is the location, which is slap in the middle of Bangkok, near Siam Square shopping area and BTS Skytrain. The hotel is part of the MBK Shopping Centre, which can be handy in bad weather as it is all indoors and connects with the Discovery, Siam and Paragon Centres.

The hotel has been recently refurbished, which has cause it to loose some of its character and become a little lacking in atmosphere and individual style. Just to cause confusion, standard rooms are called superior and are brignt, clean and spacious, however they are very much furnished in a standard "hotel" way, which is a little cold and characterless.

Staff are always very polite and efficient, but seldom what you would call friendly.

There is a nice gym, pool and outdoor jacuzzi which are complimentary to guests and a delight to use.

As a frequent guest I asked for Club Lounge privilidges and had to almost sell my soul to be granted buffet breakfast there. I was made abruptly clear to me that I wasn't allowed to use the lounge for drinks or snacks at any other time, and the way this was handled left a very unpleasant taste, which again re-enforces what I said about cold and clinical versus warmth and friendliness.

If they got this right it would be a gem of a hotel. But yes, I will still continue to stay there

Room Tip: Even numbers overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmppb, General Manager at Pathumwan Princess Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear lestatsmikle,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about your stay at the Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok.
Please accept our most sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations.
We are very concerned to learn about your negative impression and experience and would like to extend our sincere apologies.
Our corporate lounge is accesible for corporate customers or upon invitation. We regret that our associates failed to infirm you correctly.
Please rest assured however, that this is not indicative of our level of service and that your comments have been shared with our team members for immediate corrective action. We sincerely regret that they were not addressed before your departure.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services on a future occasion and invite you to contact us directly, at what point we will be delighted to add the Club Lounge experience.
The entire team of the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is committed to ensuring a most enjoyable experience!
Yours sincerely,
Christoph J Knichel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Hotel is just a door away from the famous MBK shopping mall, where hundreds of shops and many eateries are literally just steps away. There is an elevated pedestrian walkway that takes you across the busy road underneath. It's right across from the Art Gallery, and the other more upscale malls like Siam Discovery, Siam Centre, Siam Paragon, and the Empire mall. It's also just 10 minutes from the SkyTrain station (which is situated next to Siam Centre) where you can take the train all the way to Chatuchak (sp?) - which is the end of that line so you won't miss it.
There are a number of restaurants within the Hotel itself so if you want a more relaxed ambience (as opposed to eating inside the shopping malls), this hotel has them at your convenience.
Hotel reception staff were all helpful, and the concierge staff were great as well. We had no problem getting in from and out to the airport from this hotel. I heard that it was recently refurbished and the photos will show what a lovely room we had.
Best thing my friend and I liked about the Hotel was that it is a completely smoke-free hotel. So no smelly corridors or sniffs of cigarette smog inside the elevators!

Room Tip: Look out for offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happenings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#68 of 858 in Bangkok
5,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#100 of 858 in Bangkok
2,052 reviews
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathumwan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathumwan Princess Hotel

Property: Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Address: 444 Phayathai Rd, | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pathumwan Princess Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the epicenter of Bangkok's famed shopping, entertainment and arts district, the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is a multi-award winning property towering above the iconic MBK Center. Blending contemporary comfort with the unmistakable charm and elegance of traditional Thai hospitality, the hotel consistently rates among the highest in both customer service and guest satisfaction, as reviewed by fellow travellers. Favored by corporate guests desiring unparalleled access to the city and holidaymakers seeking an oasis in the center of bustling Bangkok, the Pathumwan Princess Hotel provides sophisticated ambience in the center of the "city of angels." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pathumwan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok
Pathumwan Princess Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing