We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considerate Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Princess Larn Luang
Ranked #240 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I attended a conference of UNESCAP RIM Rio+20 and decided to bring along my grandchildren. While I was in the conference, the kids enjoyed the tours of the Reclining Buddha and Dreamworld and while waiting for me, enjoyed the swimming pool of the hotel. Since we had to leave for the airport at 6:00 a.m. before the dining room opened at 6:30 a.m., we were told to just order breakfast through room service, AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. Isn't that the height of being considerate so we would not travel on an empty stomach?

Room Tip: We asked for a connecting room so that it was conducive to bonding of the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemini345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Princess Hotel.

The voice of our customers is critical in maintaining our standards and I am delighted to read of your positive comments. Our biggest asset of the hotel is our people and I am glad that we were able to be a part in making your trip memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 514 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

This offers the best locational advantage for someone interested in visiting temples and/ or China Town. The location has its pros and cons. Though all touristy places are just couple of miles away, there is nothing entertaining just outside the hotel.
The hotel property is outstanding and had a grand lobby and lounge. Staff had been very courteous. Rooms are very spacious.
Wi-fi was somehow was priced exorbitantly and free service was offered for only 1 hour a day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip and for your feedback on your stay. We are delighted that you were especially content with the service our staff provided during your stay, thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, we anxiously wait for your return.

With Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is just right for visitors to the United Nations offices in Bangkok or to the several surrounding Thai Government offices. For a tourist, however, the location is a great disadvantage. Apart from the Grand Palace, there is nothing worthwhile to see or visit within walking distance; in fact the surrounding streets are pretty grim, housing automotive spare part distributors, cement and hardware wholesalers and, intriguingly, the Bangkok Drug Stores Club.

The hotel itself is in the "above average" category with a spacious lobby and lounge and three restaurants, one of which - the Chinese restaurant - is outstanding (try the soft-shell crabs in Hongsheh sauce). The rooftop bar is un-manned so you have to phone for service - a great pity since the natural breeze and view make a great change for those fed up of canned air.

My room (302) was fair-sized by Bangkok standards and reasonably equipped. It had an electric kettle and a mini-refrigerator which contained some outrageously-priced beer and soft-drinks but nothing else. The bathroom, while spacious, showed distinct signs of age. The chrome plating had rubbed off the fittings, the door frame showed signs of rust and the shower pressure was pathetic. Room service was prompt but you really have to importune them to clear the tray when you're through. The buffet breakfast was average by Bangkok standards, which can be pretty high. I enjoyed free wi-fi in the room thanks to a U.N package but I believe this is normally charged extra.

Overall, the Royal Princess is good value for money if you have work at the U.N, to which the hotel provides a shuttle service. For the average tourist, it is simply too far from the places one would normally visit; even the closest Skytrain station is a 15 minute taxi drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajanNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to give us your valuable feedback from your most recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food in Chinese Restaurant,wi-fi in the room and that the location of our hotel was convenient to your needs. I further appreciate your feedback regarding the design of the bathroom and I ensure you that we continually enhancing our product and will do more in the future to provide a comfortable and luxuries experience to our guests.
I do hope that we may have a chance to welcome you back. If there is anything I might be able to assist you.
With Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went there for business trip and experienced the nice treat at Royal Princess. The room is huge and has a small corner to work and for guests. The smell is nice. I enjoy use the lotion, bath gel and shampoo at the hotel, every facility is so nice. Buffet Breakfast with both Western and Asian dishes can please you. If you wanna enjoy and relax then this one is a good place. To Khao San road, you can take Tuk Tuk with 100Bht or Taxi with half price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tumanhky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review, your acknowledgements on our service is very much appreciated, we are also glad that you enjoyed our room, amenities and our restaurant had an overall pleasant experience with us. We hope that in the near future we would be able to see you again.

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I don't expect a lot from a hotel I booked with my agent but it is clean and staffs are very nice.

I spent 2 night in here and I think I will come again.

You will not find my attraction near by except Grand Palace.

Bonus of this stay, wifi everywhere for free.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip and for your feedback on your stay. Pleasing to hear that you were happy with your stay and enjoyed our many in-room amenities. We are delighted that you were especially content with the service our staff provided during your stay, thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, we anxiously wait for your return.

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The beds are comfortable and the rooms are big. The staff is friendly, but most of them do not speak English. The big disadvantage is the hotel location. It's close to the temples which are within walking distance, but everything else is at least more than a mile away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Princess Larnluang Bangkok Hotel, on your most recent visit to Bangkok.
The voice of our customers is critical in maintaining our standards and I am delighted to read of your positive comments. Our biggest asset of the hotel is our people and I am glad that we were able to be a part in making your trip memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on a business trip. staffs were friendly, gym is small but enough for what it is. Free internet, spacious room, rather small bathroom but still okay. Room is good for working, bed is huge. Restaurant's food is good when it comes to Thai food, but not so much for international food (same review for breakfast).

Location is good if you are here for work, close to the UN. I think many people stayed here for that purpose. Not so easy to get taxi, not close to BTS. During my work free time, I was thinking to walk to Grand Palace as it looks close in the map, but as it was super hot, and the area wasn't really pedestrian friendly, it wasn't a good idea. Difficult to get food around the hotel. Ended up being scammed by tuk tuk driver right outside the hotel, brought to a restaurant and paid 2500 Baht for a fish dish and veggies stir fried, one plain rice and two coconut. WORSE DINNER ever in Bangkok.

Staffs, while friendly, they aren't quite used to giving touristic tips or restaurant tips. Plus, it's also far from the city centre.

Bottomline, very suitable for work, and I'm happy and giving four review because that's exactly what I did during the stay. But won't recommend it for tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Princess Larn Luang Bangkok Hotel.

We highly appreciate your detailed review and kind words and hope that this will be helpful for future guests.
We thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us in driving our standards to the best.

I look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Prince Palace Hotel
#388 of 889 in Bangkok
2,180 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 889 in Bangkok
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#146 of 889 in Bangkok
183 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#421 of 889 in Bangkok
637 reviews
Banglamphu
Siam Champs Elyseesi Unique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Princess Larn Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Larn Luang

Address: 269 Larn Luang Road | Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $45 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Princess Larn Luang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Princess Larn Luang is a venerable local institution, situated in the heart of historic old Bangkok amidst sweeping tree-lined boulevards, centuries-old canals, the Grand Palace, ancient temples, and the Temple of the Emerald Buddha, United Nations agencies including Khao San Road. This charming boutique hotel offers 167 wonderfully appointed guest rooms with a gracious welcome and warm personalized service A modern business centre and meeting rooms cater to guests' business needs while a shady, secluded swimming pool offers a great way to kick back, relax and refresh. The Lobby Lounge and Bar provides an excellent start to the evening's entertainment. Take a well deserved break at our Princess Club on the hotel's top floor every evening. There are four fine restaurants catering to a variety of tastes. Savour for instance The Empress's Cantonese cuisine or the Piccolo's Italian flair. Alternatively, enjoy Mikado's authentic Japanese dishes or indulge in the Princess Cafe's fine international menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Princess Larn Luang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Larn Luang Hotel Bangkok
Royal Princess Larn Luang Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing