We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business oriented, but works for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Princess Larn Luang
Ranked #247 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here while sightseeing in Bangkok. The location is not very close to most attractions, mostly because of the heavy traffic that clogs most streets most of the time in this city. The hotel is somewhat fancy, and you might feel a little out of place in basic vacation attire (walking shorts, t-shirt), but as such it is also very nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. During our last day there we found the nearby local market, and had we known about it earlier we would have come right back to this hotel after our trip to Ayutthaya instead of booking one that was closer to the tourist zone/palace grounds. The restaurant was a little pricey and not overwhelmingly impressive - probably best suited to having a meeting with a business partner rather than cheap local flavors. This is where the local market comes in - lots of cheap food from the various stalls!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your continuous support to Royal Princess Larnluang Bangkok Hotel,
The voice of our customers is critical in maintaining our standards and I am delighted to read of your positive comments. Our biggest asset of the hotel is our people and I am glad that we were able to be a part in making your trip memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 509 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. The rooms are very good, comfortable and clean. Bathroom ok but there was a massive leak somewhere under the bath which meant the whole floor flooded when we showered. Staff polite and helpful but the.location meant we had to taxi/tuk tuk everywhere and because its quite out the way, it often took the staff about half an hour to get a taxi. Make sure you get them to pre-book a taxi for travel to the airport & be prepared to have to chase this up! We didn't eat here at all during our stay and the lobby & restaurant always looked pretty empty during our stay. Overall, an ok hotel, ok rooms, pleasant staff but poor location means we'll not stay here again and have previously done a lot better in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Princess Larnluang Hotel.

The voice of our customers is critical in maintaining our standards and I am delighted to read of your positive comments. Our biggest asset of the hotel is our people and I am glad that we were able to be a part in making your trip memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

With Kind Regards,

Thatpicha Noppakun
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

First time for us in Bangkok, but our Norwegian tour guide had used this hotel for a couple of decades for his annual trips to Thailand. Staff was first class, breakfast a tasty first meeting with Thai food. The rooms were clean and neat. Our trip was based on chartered buses to the sights, and we therefore have no impression of the location in relation to other communication. We would like to come back to this hotel again, recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony, north side against pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it is absolutely wonderful to hear that you were happy with our hotel. I was happy to read that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed our room and our service. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast with Thai food, your comments regarding our service is appreciated.On the other hand we have taken note of your positive comments and will certainly share it to the team.

We appreciate your insight and valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Thatpicha Noppakun
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My room is spacious (double room means two double bed!). The pool is also excellent. The Thai food from their cafe is also authentic though a bit pricey. Around the corner of the hotel is a Nang Loeng Market where there are a few small Thai restaurants. A sleepy neighbourhood. Services are excellent and I enjoyed the Loi Krathong Festival at the hotel very much. As for the hotel facilities, I think that their TV should improve a bit as the quality of screen is not too good (a bit unclear). Also the metal handle in the bathroom gets rusty already and that there is no indication of the electric socket for hair dryer which is located next to the room door. I thought the hotel is within walking distance from the Grand Palace but actually it is quite far away and there is usually traffic jam on the way back after 5 pm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah88HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

On behalf of The Royal Princess Larnluang Hotel, we thank you for a taking your time to write us a lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation and the benefits that came with our executive package . We are glad that you enjoyed our Loi Krathong Festival, your comments regarding our service is appreciated. On the other hand we have taken your note of improvement into consideration. Thank you once again for this review we hope to welcome you back in the future

With Kind Regards,

Thatpicha Noppakun
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Hotel was clean and well appointed, the room very good and the staff excellent. The Cafe food was also very good indeed. I have a very enjoyable stay. The Lobby bar staff were very good and theuir service excellent. I was exceptionally pleased with the overall level of servcie and would not hesitate to stay there again when i return to Bangkok. They provide a free shuttle bus servcie to the UN office just 15 minutes walk away, thus the location was Ideally suited for my trip

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip and for your feedback on your stay. Pleasing to hear that you were happy with your stay and enjoyed our restaurant and lobby lougue. We are delighted that you were especially content with the service our staff provided during your stay, thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, we anxiously wait for your return.

We appreciate your insight and valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Thatpicha Noppakun
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

PROS:
The Hotel is excellent, high standard one, you feel in luxury. It has spacious rooms with LCD TV and international channels, coffee maker and 2 bottles of mineral water as coutersy. The beds are incredible: big and comfortable, one of the best bed I ever found in hotels. It also has split type air conditioning which is very silent to face the hot nights of Bangkok. The lobby is luxury and the hotel offers a piano presentation during the Happy Hour for the hosts. The pool is big and very relaxing. The breakfast is of the highest quality, with at least 4 types: continental with good variety of tropical foods; integral items; american style (with eggs and bacon) and asian style (with rice and vegetables). The hotel also have 3 restaurants and a parking. The location is very good if you are looking for a temple tour, since you are at 5 minutes by taxi or tuk tuk of the most important temples in Bangkok (like the Lying Buda temple or the old city), or if you like to walk, in 25 minutes you can reach those sites in a nice walking passing through other minor temples in the way. Also, it is very close to the United Nations Convention Center (10 minutes walk) and has easy exit to the airport by car. It is also relatively close to the Khaosan Road (by taxi, you get in 5 minutes too). Staff is very helpful and friendly. The surrounding doesn´t look very easy or turistic, but you get used, and I felt very safe there.

CONS:
The location doesn´t help you if you want to do shopping at one of the famous malls or if you are looking after fancy restaurants of night rooftop parties of Lumphini or other Districts due to the distance and traffic (you will need a cab and patience). The staff also has limited command of english, so more complex communication is complicated. At minor extent, the rooms still uses carpet, which is bad for alergic people. Finally, the bathtube in the shower is not pratical and the gym is small.

Room Tip: Pick a pool looking or top floor room because they have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinhoAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, Front Office Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for your feedback on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Royal Princess Larnluang Hotel.
It is our utmost pleasure to hear that you had a fantastic stay and memorable experience, especially with the services provided by our ambassadors that met your expectation and fresh quality and beautiful set up.

We hope your plan will bring you back to Bangkok and Royal Princess Larnluang Hotel in a very near future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,
Ms.Thatpicha Noppakun
Front Office Mabager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The other reviews basically capture everything that I felt, but one glitch for me during my entire, six-night stay, was the lack of English-speaking staff, including the front office staff. The service, hospitality, and facilities were top-notch, absolutely befitting their status, and I enjoyed the ambience and the quiet and yet-bustling environment during the evenings. The piano player at the lobby was a treat as well, he had some magical hands! I'd love to bring my family over next time but only if the hotel gives me a good bargain. One more thing, try to spice up your buffet breakfast menu alternately, the same breakfast every morning isn't quite the 'perfect' way to start your day! I'd rate the hotel 8 out of 10, and remember, I'm normally a cynical, skeptical individual who isn't too easy to please! The staff were well-behaved and courteous and were ever-eager to help you with your needs, even in their un-English-friendly ways!

Room Tip: If you like quiet and frolic low-profile, this is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Prince Palace Hotel
#381 of 883 in Bangkok
2,146 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#172 of 883 in Bangkok
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#141 of 883 in Bangkok
176 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#409 of 883 in Bangkok
628 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#34 of 883 in Bangkok
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Princess Larn Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Larn Luang

Address: 269 Larn Luang Road | Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $49 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Princess Larn Luang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Princess Larn Luang is a venerable local institution, situated in the heart of historic old Bangkok amidst sweeping tree-lined boulevards, centuries-old canals, the Grand Palace, ancient temples, and the Temple of the Emerald Buddha, United Nations agencies including Khao San Road. This charming boutique hotel offers 167 wonderfully appointed guest rooms with a gracious welcome and warm personalized service A modern business centre and meeting rooms cater to guests' business needs while a shady, secluded swimming pool offers a great way to kick back, relax and refresh. The Lobby Lounge and Bar provides an excellent start to the evening's entertainment. Take a well deserved break at our Princess Club on the hotel's top floor every evening. There are four fine restaurants catering to a variety of tastes. Savour for instance The Empress's Cantonese cuisine or the Piccolo's Italian flair. Alternatively, enjoy Mikado's authentic Japanese dishes or indulge in the Princess Cafe's fine international menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Princess Larn Luang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Larn Luang Hotel Bangkok
Royal Princess Larn Luang Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing