We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded for the better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Princess Larn Luang
Ranked #196 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Upgraded for the better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have stayed at the Royal Princess over a number of years and it is great to see the hotel get a much needed facelift. Back for a 7 night say for the first time in 18 months we were pleased to see the public areas, reception, restaurant, bar and pool have had a full makeover and are now modern, clean and inviting. The pool is still big and located on the ground floor but now includes a kids pool and spa area. The gym once located in a spare bedroom is now adjacent the pool and new and uptodate equipment have been installed. Having stayed so many times management always give us a room upgrade to a deluxe room. The Deluxe rooms are a big by hotel standards, overlook the pool with an outside balcony and feature king sized or two double beds. My wife loves the two doubles as they help with the snoring problem. The room and bathroom have had a refresh too but unfortuantely they stopped short of complete bathroom rennovation which really would have allowed a 100% recommendation to everyone.

The hotel is located on the "wrong" side of town for tourism and near the UN Centre and many goverment offices so perhaps more of a business hotel. But we love that it is located where the locals live and close to BoeBae markets, Khao San Road (the backpackers area), a short taxi ride to Chinatown and near many of the most spectacular temples. Hard to find restaurants catering for tourists nearby but plenty of street food especially near BoeBae and a short taxi ride to our favourite Crown Kitchen, near the UN centre, or the highly rated Somboon for great seafood. Kick boxing stadium close too if that is your thing. Food in the hotel is good and cheap by western standards. They also have upmarket Chinese and Japanese aimed at the business man. We prefer the hustle and bustle and prices of a visit to Chinatown.
Large buffet breakfast caters both for Western and Asian and they have a range of cakes and pastries half price in the afternoon to take away that always tempt us for an afternoon treat.

On the concierge desk we have had wonderful help from Nong, Neung and Thani who make the difference between an ordinary stay and a great one.

Seven relaxing days spent by the pool and meeting friends from Phuket who came for the weekend. Free shuttle to MBK for a bit of shopping. The biggest problem was planning where to eat each night! Always seem to get a great rate from Flight Centre.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you have booked a superior room. The hotel is rarely full and you may get luc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, General Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
First of all, thank you very much for choosing Royal Princess Larn Luang.

Please allow me to express my sincere appreciation on your kind patronage to our hotel as well as beautiful comment and very detailed feedback on our facilities, room, lobby, reception, restaurant and pool and overall service delivered to you by our great people.

I am pretty much delighted to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you to have a woderful time in Bangkok as well as a great stay experience with Royal Princess Larn Luang.

I would also like to personally thank you for your gentle recognise on our team members.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations and recommendation on the review. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again at Royal Princess Larn Luang.

Please do no hesitate to channel your room reservation to me directly so that my personal attention can be spared and to assist you on all requests.

Kind regards,

Direk Akaniroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    233
    93
    23
    13
See reviews for
89
129
45
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here to start a Kumuka tour. This hotel is excellent value - recent renovations are very good, the Superior Room was fine although the pillows are a little ordinary. The Princess restaurant has a very good breakfast and the Chinese Empress and Mikado Japanese restaurants attached to the hotel offer very good food at fair prices. Good pool. The only (slightly) adverse comment would be that the hotel's location is good if you want the old, Government part of the city but it is a fair distane to Sukhumvit Road and MBK/Siam Centre/Central World where the great shopping centrres are located - although Khao San Road is a short walk away. WiFi internet is at a reasonable price and the staff is extremely courteous. All in all, I will stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandalf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, General Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with Royal Princess Larn Luang. We are glad that you like Superior Room. We are also delighted that you found our Pincess restaurant, The Empress, Mikado restaurant were very good food and pool also.

Thank you for your kind observations and recommedation on the review. We lood forward to welcoming and seving you at Royal Princess Larn Luang.

Kind regards,

Direk Akaniroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

A friend of mine booked me into this place and I wasn't quite sure what to expect. It's a bit nicer than the kind of places where I would normally stay, maybe around 3.5 to 4 stars. Everything was excellent, rooms, service, cleanliness, and for the price my friend got (around 2000 THB, I think), it was fantastic value. Agoda etc. list the normal price for a regular room at around 4-5000 THB which is a bit over-priced but if you canl get a cheaper rate, it's great value.

There is no public transport around so you'll need to cab it everywhere, but the sights are not too far and Bangkok cabs are cheap. And try the dim sum place across the courtyard - it's fabulous and not that expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalprincessL, General Manager at Royal Princess Larn Luang, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments on this review. I am pleased to learn that you were happy with our facilities and services while you were staying with us. Your wonderful compliments on our room, food (Dim sum) at The Epress restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. I and our team look foward to welcoming and serving you again at Royal Princess Larn Luang. Please feel free to contact me directly for the room reservation.

Warm regards,

Direk Akaniroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Princess in January as it was the starting hotel for a Kumuka Tour I was on. When the taxi driver was taking me to the hotel I was wondering where on earth is he taking me and was a bit anxious but on arrival at the hotel I was pleasantly surprised with what I saw. The hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment which was just being completed giving it a modern and bright lobby and great new feel.
The rooms were large and quite modern, the view well lets just say it was interesting and definitely not what this hotel is about! The pool area will be great once the construction has stopped as it was extremely loud with the jack hammers going while they were constructing the new driveway.
Room service is definitely not a strong point though. I ordered what was meant to be a club sandwich and was thankful that it came served with fries as the cold chicken, plastic slice cheese and stale bread was not that appetising. Breakfast however was quite enjoyable and the nicest that I encountered on the 14 day tour.
Once the refurbishment is finished, I think this would make a great place to stay for those on a budget and that don't mind being a bit out of the main city centre; especially for its location to the main temples and walking distance to Khao San Road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have stayed there 25-31 March for business, very nice hotel with quite atmosphere seems that the hotel was renovated recently. Rooms are very nice and spacious. A welcoming drink, complimentary fruit basket, speedy internet and very helpful and friendly staff !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Comfy beds, good sized rooms. Plush reception. Construction noise at 1am with drilling and hammering of new entrance porch! Located near Grand Palace etc but bit of a trek downtown.

Helpful?
1 Thank VeeVee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here 12 years back before the renovation. The difference is that the hotel looks better now, but some how I missed the coziness that I felt earlier. Although the public areas are great, the rooms remain blant albeit the big size. Staff are great!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amathai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#178 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Prince Palace Hotel
#363 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#128 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Princess Larn Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Larn Luang

Property: Royal Princess Larn Luang
Address: 269 Larn Luang Road | Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Princess Larn Luang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Princess Larn Luang is a venerable local institution, situated in the heart of historic old Bangkok amidst sweeping tree-lined boulevards, centuries-old canals, the Grand Palace, ancient temples, and the Temple of the Emerald Buddha, United Nations agencies including Khao San Road. This charming boutique hotel offers 167 wonderfully appointed guest rooms with a gracious welcome and warm personalized service A modern business centre and meeting rooms cater to guests' business needs while a shady, secluded swimming pool offers a great way to kick back, relax and refresh. The Lobby Lounge and Bar provides an excellent start to the evening's entertainment. Take a well deserved break at our Princess Club on the hotel's top floor every evening. There are four fine restaurants catering to a variety of tastes. Savour for instance The Empress's Cantonese cuisine or the Piccolo's Italian flair. Alternatively, enjoy Mikado's authentic Japanese dishes or indulge in the Princess Cafe's fine international menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Princess Larn Luang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Larn Luang Hotel Bangkok
Royal Princess Larn Luang Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing