We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Bangkok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Thani Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #101 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

Good overall place to stay. Stayed a couple of nights here before heading to Phuket. Hotel upgraded to us to a suite--very cool room. Location very close to the skytrain and Chao River. Great pool/spa/ workout facility.

  • Liked — Suite
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneBoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    872
    280
    106
    34
See reviews for
429
929
314
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

I am a travel agent and stayed here recently for work.

We were very spoilt at the Dusit Thani and all had our own Dusit Grand Rooms, which had separate lounge, huge bedroom and the biggest bathroom I think I have ever seen in my life! And I didn’t even have to share it!

This was one of the original 5 star hotels in Bangkok. It opened in 1970 and has housed many famous guests over the years including musicians Black Eye Peas and Fifty Cent.

The hotel had a USD$200 million dollar refurbishment last year and will also be having the exterior repainted in 2008.

They offer Superior, Deluxe, Club Rooms and also Heritage Rooms. Heritage Rooms are decorated in traditional Thai Décor based on the Thai Regions – Sukothai, Lopburi & Ayudthaya.

They also offer a fantastic spa with fourteen treatment rooms and for the boys, a roof top golf driving range.

This hotel was in a great location; it was within a 10 minute walk to the Suan Lum Night Markets and was only 50 baht by taxi to the MBK shopping centre.

  • Liked — The size of the bathroom!
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault anything about it!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel before travelling on to Hua Hin. The location of the hotel is great, it is located in Downtown right near to Patpong Markets and cheap but lovely spas. The hotel is very large and in the 1960's was the tallest building in BKK. The staff were very helpful and polite and check in was smooth and hassle free. Our room was a deluxe room and I can make the assumption that it has been partly recently refurbished. Its a shame the whole room and bathroom hadn't been completely improved but the size of it was fine and it was clean. Breakfast buffet was included and was the usual buffet feast. The lobby area and restaurants were all smart and the views from the D'sens on the top floor were breathtaking. The GM was in there at the time and came over to say hello and was very nice and polite.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room only partly refurb'd
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladypp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

With so many good hotels in Bangkok my friend who lives here suggest the Dusit Thani hotel. I stayed here for 7 nights in a suite which was very nice. Arrival was by a hotel Mercedes Benz from the airport. I was greeted by no less then 5 people. Check in was on the third floor (Dusit Club lounge).

The room itself was very large with a separate sitting area. The bathroom was huge with a shower that could fit 5 adults no problem. I will agree with others some of the room looks a little outdated but not bad.

The service was excellent for the entire stay. I was greeted by name everywhere. You can't go anywhere in the hotel without staff standing by to as sit. They are not annoying just their if you need them.

The location simply in my mind can't be beat. It is at Sliom station where the sky train and underground are at. You walk out the hotel and rest of the city is in reach. No need to take a taxi anywhere. If you walk the area has many places to eat, bars, pubs, fast food you name it. The hotel itself has at least 7 places to eat at. I did not try them all just two of them.

The hotel gym is good with plenty of equipment to keep you in shape. If you want to walk about 5 blocks there is another gym(California Fitness) which is huge!

Overall I have zero complaints on this hotel. I enjoyed my suite for 7 days and the service. Location is to me a real key to choosing any hotel. This one has that hands down. On a side note I did check out the Grand Hyatt and Four Seasons. I did not like either location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank moobaby214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

I went to Bangkok in April and May this year and stayed at this hotel as my local friend recommended it and was glad I did for their warm hospitality and the very nice room. I was upgraded to the club suite on the 19th floor with a huge bathroom - a plenty of towels and toiletries which they always supply new one if I use any. I had a basket of at least 5 varieties of fruits to enjoy, free internet connection, free local calls, free breakfast, 2x televisions and so on. Oh, and their bed is so comfy and good night sleep is guaranteed !

You will have a choice of having breakfast in either Italian restaurant on the ground floor or a sort of open restaurant in the basement. I would recommend to go to the Italian if you can as they have nice atomosphere and will cook freshly for you.

The Club lounge is rather modest side compare with another hotel I stayed in different occasion. Hope they refurbish the lounge , change the selections of sweets everyday and serve more variety of snacks in happy hour. It will be nice if they have a tall wine glasses, too.

When I had a overnight trip to Pataya, I left my suitcase there ( free of charge of course) and it was already delivered and waiting for me in the same room when I returned. It was very nice.

The bakery in the basement seemed very popular among the middle class Thai and you will see them queueing up for the last minutes bargains before they close every night.

Dusit Thani is, with no doubt, one of the quality hotels in Bangkok where well heeled Thai people would dine and gather.

Highly recommended !!

  • Liked — good service and newly refurbished room and a very good taylor in the basement
  • Disliked — I can not think of anything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bonitaipanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

We stayed one night at the Dusit after arriving late from Chiang Mai,
we were given a room on the 5 floor over looking a roof. Even thought
the room was clean, it was in need of a upgrade and at the rate that was charged I felt was way over priced. The staff were friendly and helpful and both the food and service in the Italian restaurant was first class. The breakfast buffet was incredible. The bottom line- the Dusit Thani is a nice hotel but for the price one would expect a little more. It definitly doesn't compare to the stay I had there 25 years ago.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at the Dusit Thani in February 2007. I also stayed at the Westin in March 2007, which I was less impressed by (I have also posted my review on that hotel).

The Dusit Thani was built in the late 60's, but the design has aged well and the premises have been well maintained. It has very spacious public areas and a nice classy elegance. I liked the lobby and courtyard with the waterfall.

The pool is not very large, but a pleasant place to relax in busy hectic Bangkok. The gym is very modern, large and well equipped.

The restaurants have a lovely decor, the Italian restaurant is very modern and stylish, the Thai restaurant more traditional and opulently elegant. The food we had was perfectly acceptable, but not outstanding.

The room was probably the weakest area. It was pleasant enough, but could do with a refurbishment. There were only bedsheets, whilst I much prefer proper duvets. The bathroom was spacious. elegant and marble-clad, but again there were signs of wear and tear.

Staff were consistently friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a great location, next to Silom Road and public transport. It's great to be able to just walk to some nice places as a tourist (there are plenty of nice restaurants, massage places, the night market, Jim Thompson, Robinson department store) within easy walking distance.

Overall, I found the hotel very pleasant and would recommend it.

  • Liked — Elegant public areas and restaurants, great gym, great location
  • Disliked — Room could do with refurb and better bedding
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CM002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,331 reviews
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#87 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,820 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Property: Dusit Thani Bangkok
Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing