We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice older classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #99 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stayed in better and much worse for more and for less . My partner and I stayed in a club floor suite room that was nicely furnished and beautiful large bathroom . The breakfast was good and the club lounge offers free alcoholic drinks from 5:30-7:30 with some small bits of food actually quite nice .The pool is a bit small for the hotel but o.k . I assume this was one of Bangkoks first 5 star hotel with royaly , dignitaries and movie stars all staying here , but of course this was years ago . My only complaint and it's a small one is westerners AND Thai's enjoy a nice cup of coffee in the morning . I'm hoping management is reading this because the expense of putting a single cup espresso machine is minimal compared to what is offered . The same instant Nescafé coffee you can find in any $10 a night guest house across Thailand . So get with the new millennium and offer a little more for the $200 plus a night suites you are offering .

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here upgrade to a club room otherwise stay anywhere in Bangkok for the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Danudej7,

Thank you very much for the positive review and for your compliments on our Club facilities. LIkewise, your suggestion with regards to adding coffee machine to our room amenity will be taken into consideration for the improvement of our guest services and facilities.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again very soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok on your next visit to Thailand.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 3,099 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Thailand with the family and started and ended at the Dusit. I have stayed at Dusit on business and always loved the older charm of the hotel compared to some of the faceless newer options.
Location is great just off Silom Road, so all the shopping, MBK, Markets, BTS, are within easy reach.
Hotel lobby is just the best, so large and spacious, plenty of seating and nice comfortable bar area. Good selection of restaurants, but pricey.
I prefered it when the down stairs restaurant was 24 hours, you could just drop in any time and get a meal, we had the evening buffet on the 2nd night as we had the kids, dissapointed, over priced @1,500 bhat each for a very average meal.
Breakfast was okay, but when you have just come from the Centara Grand in Hua Hin, now thats a breakfast buffet.
We had 2 interconnecting rooms on 14th floor, good size rooms, bedroom section was nice and modern, carpets were stained though, bathrooms were old 10 years ago, really need renovating as they don't befit luxury hotel.
Staff were excellent, we had a baggage problem [wife took someone elses case off airport carousel !!] and they couldn't have done more to help, so praise to the concierge for all his efforts.
On our return again 2 rooms on 14th Floor, they were so noisy with what i assume were aircon units on roof, how you could sell those rooms with that racket was beyond me.
Their was also a wedding on, we had half the Thai navy [officers] on our floor, out of their heads laying in the corridor, good job the Burmese are quiet at the moment as the navy was out to play Saturday night.
They quickly moved us to the 4th floor on the front wing, refurbed rooms, nice bathrooms, but quite small for Bangkok premium rooms. My room overlooked a flat roof where 2 extracts were located, so again not quiet rooms for us light sleepers.
Would I go back again? I would like to say yes as for me the Dusit is everything a Bangkok hotel could be, it's just that competition is so fierce in BK and I just think they need to up their game a tad and concentrate on delivering the quality they are capable of supplying.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 1433 and 1435
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear nw24,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your observations and feedback during your recent stay with us. Your constructive comments have all been noted with much concern and we will certainly review all of them for the improvement of our guest services and facilities. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and your family for having to move to another floor due to noise disturbance. Despite not having met all your expectations during your recent stay, we are glad to know we have your continuous support and loyalty to Dusit Thani. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance on your next visit to Bangkok.

Lastly, I would like to thank you for your compliments on our staff, lobby, restaurants and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is my second stay at the Dusit Thani and they have maintained the service and quality that I remember. The convenient location just outside the skytrain/MRT station is a plus but returning to the serenity of the Dusit Thani after a day in the hectic streets of Bangkok is what will keep me coming back when visiting Bangkok. We reserved a club room and were given a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite. I've never had a walk-in closet in a hotel room! The Dusit Thani oozes elegance and class. The sense of refinement is evident in every aspect of the hotel. The staff is ever present and helpful without being obtrusive. The breakfast in the club room was one of the best meals we had during our stay in Thailand and the chocolate buffet in the evening was not only beautifully presented but tasty. A definite highlight of our stay. There are numerous opulent hotels in Bangkok but the gentility you sense at the Dusit Thani is unmatched.

Room Tip: The club room extras is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear xtacie,

On behalf of my team, I would like to express my appreciation for the positive review and for the 5-Star rating! It is a pleasure to receive your compliments on our services & facilities but especially your kind words on our staff. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful letter. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance on your next visit to Bangkok.

Looking forward to your continuous support and hope to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I had been looking forward to staying at the Dusit Thani and overall it is a wonderful hotel and for the rate we paid it is competitively priced.
Beautiful interiors and lovely ambience. Our suite was very comfortable and the housekeeping is exceptional. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in.
Staff were very accommodating when they could see we were very disappointed the pool was closed for renovation. The duty manager arranged for us to be driven next door to use their pool. This was much appreciated.
My only real concern was the breakfast buffet. Each morning dishes had run out and staff seemed to be low in numbers. When searching for a spoon a drawer was practically slammed on my hand rather than a spoon offered to me. Don't hold your breath for a cup of tea.
Despite breakfast needing better management the rest of the hotel is terrific. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank throughsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Throughsmoke,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. On behalf of my team, I would like to express our appreciation for the compliments and positive review on our staff, services and facilities. We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us despite the breakfast shortcoming. Your comments on our breakfast services are well noted and we will certainly look at improving those issues you have raised.

Thank you again for your time and if we can be of any assistance on your next visit to Bangkok, please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location, old-world charm and elegance mixed with modern facilities, fantastic selection of restaurants, staff who are well trained, service which is reliable and friendly.
What's not to love about this hotel?
I've stayed at them all in Bangkok and in my view it does not get any better than the Dusit Thani.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear CGMcAleer,

I would like to express my appreciation on behalf of my team for the overall compliments and positive review on Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating and for taking the time to post your comments.

Should you require any assistance on your next visit to Bangkok, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to your continuous support and hope to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel with history. Stayed for 3 nights. Excellent location as very close to SkyTrain station and Patpong night market. The room spacious with complementary tea and coffee facility as well a bottle of water every day. Jim Thompson flag store just around the corner with beautiful things , bought nearly all Xmas presents for family and friends.
Very good breakfast with lots of choices. You can have cappuccino or latte for no extra cost.
Number of good restaurants in a hotel , i think 8 or so. We had a problem with lights and were offered another room, as this was for the last night we decided not to move.The swimming pool was under renovation and there was a shuttle bus to another property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ania24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Ania24,

Indeed, the Grand Dame is 43 years old. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write and thank you very much for the compliments on our services and facilities.

We look forward to your continuous support and if you ever require any assistance on your next visit to Bangkok, please do not hesitate to contact us. The 5-rating is highly appreciated.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have used the Dusit Thani in Bangkok for many years, and have always been completely satisfied. But we were not so impressed during our last stay in October 2013. We had requested a quiet room (preferably in the rear tower) when booking, and repeated this at check-in. We were disappointed to be allocated a room next to the lifts that was blasted by noise from nearby concerts at night. We were also disappointed to discover on arrival that the pool was closed for major renovations (There had been no mention of this before.). The breakfast buffet was its usual high standard, but every morning we had to ask staff to re-fill some basics (butter, bread for toast, scrambled eggs) - no big deal, but frustrating when it happens every day. Other aspects of our stay were excellent, but we were left with the impression that the Dusit's high standards have slipped.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3shoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Canberra,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your observations and feedback following your recent stay with us. Sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and we will certainly review all your comments for the improvement of our guest services and facilities.

The swimming pool renovation is now completed as of 1st of November. It was under renovation for two months and we did highlight this on our website and with the agents we do business with. We are sorry to hear that you are not aware and hope this did not cause too much inconvenience.

Despite not having met all your expectations during your last visit, we are glad to know that all other aspects of your stay were excellent.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok and allow us to provide you with the level of service and attention that we failed to do so on this occasion and experience the true Dusit Hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#31 of 884 in Bangkok
2,489 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 884 in Bangkok
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#84 of 884 in Bangkok
3,364 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 884 in Bangkok
6,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $88 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing