We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but still the BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Thani Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #100 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Catarman, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dated but still the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We enjoyed our 3nights/4days stay at Dusit Thani, an old but very GRAND hotel.
The location is GREAT especially for tourist like us, walking distance to Patpong market, shopping malls, trains (BTS and MRT) just infront of the hotel, close to nightspots.
Excellent breakfast at The Pavillion, nice restaurants like Benjarong, Mayflower.
The staff were polite, nice and very accommodating, very courteous.
Room very comfortable with spacious bathroom, and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojolayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear jojolayon, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments about our convenient location, excellent dining experiences and courteous staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    872
    278
    106
    34
See reviews for
428
926
312
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Yes once again we have taken off to the land of smiles Thailand, our choice for our hotel in Bangkok this time as we wanted some luxury for our 2 day stay was the Dusit Thani, what a hotel. We had decided to go out on a limb and book a rather expensive Suite, the “Ratanakosin Suite” which comes with all the Club Lounge benefit, we also booked the E Class Mercedes for our airport pick-up. I will start with the only negative and it being a small one, in the blurb for the Suite it says you will be taken to the Club Lounge floor for a swift and painless check in, this actually wasn't the case and we had to wait in the foyer for up to ½ hour to be checked in at the usual reception, I’m not a snob but they did offer Club Lounge check in on arrival in the blurb. Now apart from that all was fantastic, the room or should I say room where absolutely beautiful, separate dining room, lounge, and bedroom, 2 toilets and an oversized bath tub, a king size bed that was just heaven to lay in. The breakfast for the Club Benefit was great, a huge selection, and not the hustle and bustle of the normal dining area, the choices where numerous and the quality unsurpassed. During the day we went to the pool a nice oasis in the centre of the hotel and at night to the Club Floor for our complimentary canapés and drinks, once again the canapés where beautiful and the drinks where free flowing, the Club Lounge is located on the top floor and allows outdoor seating which on sunset was something special. All in all, yes, this is an older hotel, but it has been kept in such good shape, and we could not fault the staff, a great stay and will defiantly be back for that wonderful Thai hospitality and smile.

Room Tip: If your wanting to spoil yourself either the Thai Heratage Suites or the Ratanaskosin Suite, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kevin R, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the mix-up during check-in. Incidentally, the Club Lounge has been under renovation for the last few months (and temporarily moved to 21st floor in the meantime). We will be unveiling the new look Club Lounge within a matter of weeks and hope that you can experience it on your next visit.

In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Dusit Thani Hotel had always been one of the hotels I was dying to stay in after passing through it many times in Bangkok. I finally got a chance to stay in this legendary hotel this month. I stayed here for two nights and well. there were some highs and lows.
My room was not located in the main building where the check in counter was, and I suspected that it was an older part of the hotel. Upon entering the room, the room smelled a bit musty. Overall the room was ok, but the bathroom was another issue. The bathtub was just way too low for anyone to take a hot bath in.. unless you are really short. On the other side of the bathtub, there was the shower.. however,the water was so thin and sharp that it can literally cut through your skin. The walls and door were paper thin.. and the door was heavy, so anyone going in and out of the room will always end up with a huge bang.. which could be heard from one end of the hallway to the other.. imagine trying to sleep through that!!!!
Breakfast buffet was excellent and there were lots of choices to choose from. A complimentary drink was given to each guest during check in. I opted for the D sens bar located on the top floor, which gives you a great view of Lumpini Park and Silom area.
The hotel is located in a fantastic location with proximity to either the BTS or MRT, and really convenient for travellers. My only concern was that by booking through some websites which offers you some deals, they tend to give you rooms that are old and outdated. The WIFI was free, but only two devices can log on at the same time, which is REALLY inconvenient for business travellers when you have your smartphones, smartpads,and laptop.

Pros: Location is everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fleurbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear fleurbean, thank you very much for your review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all pleased that you finally had a chance to stay with us, although the experience could have been improved. We have plans to renovate the East Wing, so that guests can experience the expected quality, no matter which room they book.

We hope that you will feel the difference and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Dusit Thani is one of a very good brand in the world. I have stayed here for 12-14OCT for 2 nights. I was amazed with the smooth and efficient check in with less than 8 minutes, I have got a very good room.
Althought this is an old hotel, but it is still radiance with her charming, grand and beauty.

All staff are really polite and serve with big smile.

Room was vary comfortable. Spacious bath room and plus its cleanliness. Bed is very comfortable.

Breakfast was very nice and with many variety of food and more important it is HALAL. I have seen a Halal Certificate.

Gym was spacious and complete in hotel range. And Swimming pool is nice.

Location is best. Only less than 5 minutes to Sala Daeng BTS and SiLom MRT. And many eating place with local delicacies.

Of course I would return to this hotel and highly recommended with all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fxboewnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Fxboewnam, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate all of your positive comments about our wide range of services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is truly Thai hospitality hotel. I stayed there for 2 nights and for the first time stepped in- a doorman with big smile to welcome me. This is my second stay. Even the hotel is old but still feel her beauty and grand.

Excellent location. Only less than 5 mins to Silom area and BTS and also MRT.

Check in time was very smooth. Less than 8 mins to get a room.

Stayed at Executive suite. Room was clean, nice and comfortable. Especially the bed was excellent.

Gym was complete and swimming pool was nice.

Breakfast was very good variety of foods. I really enjoy the breakfast.

Internet was quite fast.

Overall I am very happy to stay and definitely will return again.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisxavierchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear francisxavierchung, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate all of your positive comments about our wide range of services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Last stayed one year ago for a meeting.Given a room in the smaller tower.Room was ok only. This year, got a room in the main tower. Room looks new and clean.
Discreet room service, helpful staff and good amenities. Even had a mini gof driving range to sweat it out.
Close to night spots and good eateries in downtown.
Conference room is excellent, no pillars to obstruct view of the stage.
Much easier to get to airport as it is nearer to the highway.
Would like to stay here again whenever I am in Bangkok but will always ask for renovated rooms in main tower.

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms in main tower,new and clean with good and larger shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ylkk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear ylkk1234, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you had a chance to stay with us again during your conference. We currently have plans to renovate and upgrade facilities in the East Wing (the smaller tower) so we hope guests can enjoy the same quality experience in any room.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bad homburg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

hotel in bangkok. best service, best personal, great rooms, and a lot of different restaurants, one better than the other, really great expirience to stay in this hotel. great location, skytrain just in front of the hotel.
but the best is the breakfast , after 9 month they still remember you, greet you with your personal name and the service and the way of serving the breakfast is a unique expierience.
always happy to come back to this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear misterxm, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you had a chance to stay with us again. We very much appreciate your glowing comments about our staff and facilities, especially the breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#88 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Property: Dusit Thani Bangkok
Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing