We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusit Thani Hotel Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dusit Thani Hotel Bangkok”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I returned to this hotel after twenty years,and was delighted to find it had lost none of its character and atmosphere.The staff were very polite,helpful and attentive.The Thai restaurant-Benjarong became my favourite with views of the outside waterfall.Ideal location for sky train,underground and just about everything.Overall it was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: I prefer the original tower block,although there is a more modern extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessetara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear tessetara, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you had a chance to return and stay with us after 20 years. A lot has changed during that time, but our commitment to Thai hospitality and graciousness is still the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    912
    292
    110
    36
See reviews for
457
963
331
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Expensive but BAD, bad service, noisy, problems after problems. As a Thai, I will never come back to this hotel again. There are so many cheaper but better hotels in Bangkok. Don't come here, not worth your money !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ittipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Ittipon, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. However, your comments are very valuable and help us to improve.

It would be very helpful if you could provide us with more details about the problems you encountered, such as where the problems occurred (front office, restaurant, concierge, gym), and what were the causes of the “bad service” that you encountered (not pro-active, lacked product knowledge, unhelpful). This will help us to find more targeted training and overall solutions to avoid these kind of issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheslyn Hay, Walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Dusit Thani for 2 nights at the end of August, on our way home from 16 nights in Phuket. We travelled as a family with our 2 boys aged 16 & 14.
We received a great welcome when we arrived from the bell boys dressed in their fab traditional costume to all the reception and concierge staff. We had 2 inter-connecting rooms on the 10th floor with great views of Lumphini park and the hotel pool area below, both with huge bathrooms. The hotel is in a great location being right next to the skytrain station at Sala Daeng and also within a 5 minute walk to the night market at Pat Pong. There are also loads of street food vendors close by and many shops which are open late. We took a couple of trips to the Siam Centre where there are many shops and restaurants and also went on the river boats up to Khoa San Road where we hired a couple of Tuk Tuk's for an hour for only £4 each!! This was one of the highlights of the holiday and great fun, whizzing around the streets of Bangkok hanging on for dear life! We also went to the floating market via taxi and although an experience, it was an expensive hour and a bit at £80 for the 4 of us, just for the boat trip.
The Dusit Thani is an amazing place to stay whilst in Bangkok, with fanatastic staff and wonderful decor in true Thai style. We especially loved the lady playing the traditional Thai keyboard in reception!
Whilst we didn't eat in the hotel (other than breakfast), we did go up to the D'Sens sky bar on the 21st floor for drinks and a fantastic view over the skline of the city.
Breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of choice from cooked to order eggs and omlettes to sushi, Thai noodles and rice. We only went to the pool once as we were so busy doing all the tourist stuff, but it was lovely to relax and get away from all the hustle and bustle (including the traffic!) of the city for a couple of hours. They even bring you your pool towels over to you and lay them on the sunbeds for you at the Dusit!!!
We were sad to leave such a lovely hotel but will definately stay at the Dusit Thani again if and when, we return to Bangkok.
Thank you for a wonderful end to an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the park and the city in a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Martin D, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you and your family had a chance to experience all the wonderful sights and sounds of the city while enjoying your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments about our welcoming service staff, our Thai hospitality and our excellent facilities at D'Sens bar and the pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was in a great location to everything that a tourist would want to see while in Bangkok. Pat pong night market was just around the corner. I think this hotel is more suited for business meetings and business trips. I think the food is very expensive considering you can get the same thing around the corner for half the price.
The room was very basic, i wouldn't say its a 5 hotel at all. At a push i would say its a 4 star
The concierge services was great, we had to ask them many questions and every time they was a great help.
I don't think this hotel is suitable for families.
On the plus side the breakfast was great, you had so much to chose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear hayley t, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on how to improve in some areas.

As you mentioned that this hotel is more suitable for business and not for families, will look into ways to improve our services for families. Although we do offer various family packages and entertainment for children at Kid’s Club Family Brunch on Sundays, perhaps we could do more in this regard.

Regarding the price of food, we will review our prices and ensure that we always stay competitive, relative to the quality and location.

Regarding the “very basic” rooms, we will put into place plans for renovation in 2013, which will address the issues that you raised. We hope you will have a chance to stay with us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As soon as you enter, the very essence of Thailand is felt. From the theme, to the staff, and even the smell. Though it may feel a bit old due to its traditional approach, it becomes a very cozy and homey place. Food is great. People are great. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabvalenciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear gabvalenciano, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our traditional Thai hospitality and culture so it is very rewarding for us to hear that you enjoyed it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel was just opened, and I was in Bangkok for the first time. It was like a shock, both for the quality of the hotel and the high level of service. My presence was just for 2 nights but the pleasure my family and I had was like if we would have been there for months.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Marketing at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear TandDAustralia, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about our excellent service staff, breakfast and restaurants are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok. In the meantime, please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A traditional great service hotel. Had an excellent suite with lots of room and a great bed. The rooms are dated and probably need a refurb.
No complaints with staff or service which is done in the traditional Thai way.
Couple of restaurants tried and both good hotel quality.
Location didnt suit my needs, (booked by company) and anyone who has to travel by car in bangkok will appreciate the importance of being as close to what you want as possible. Skytrain great for tourists but hard when working with 3 bags of equipment.
Was happy overall and would stay here again particularly if value for money important. If booking myself would probably choose Grand Hyatt Erawan which is more modern and better located, albeit twice the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear TandDAustralia, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your comments about the quality of our services.

It is unfortunate that you found the hotel to be inconvenient for your work. We do the best we can to help our guests, but battling Bangkok traffic is not always easy.

We will put into place plans for renovation in 2013, to address the issue of “dated” rooms. We hope you will have a chance to stay with us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,435 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#91 of 858 in Bangkok
3,161 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,147 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#36 of 858 in Bangkok
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Property: Dusit Thani Bangkok
Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing