We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service? Not at Lebua” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of lebua at State Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
lebua at State Tower
Ranked #86 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Customer Service? Not at Lebua”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having traveled the world and now living in Bangkok i would consider myself well versed in what to expect from different types of hotels, to my complete disappointment i would not expect the lack of customer service at the cheapest of places anywhere on the globe.

The Lebua prides it's self on being a 5* hotel and along with it comes a price tag that rivals any hotel in the middle of Bangkok.

Having my father over for my wedding in BKK i felt i would book him into a decent hotel (i have visited the sky bar before and stopped in a 3 bedroom 'tower club' suite in the past) and settled on the Lebua, booking one night for my new wife any myself in another suite so we could fully enjoy their first night in Bangkok.

Checking in was a joke and i was made to feel like an inconvenience rather than a welcome guest. Upon explaining i did not have a passport with me as i live in Bangkok i was initially told to go away!

After a rather embarrassing discussion in Thai between my wife and the check in staff they accepted a driving license as proof of ID, from there the person behind the counter simply said 'go stand over there' and indicated to the side room. Having stopped in the hotel previously i understood this to mean some one would come and check us in and take details etc but my father and his partner were horrified at this sort of behavior and language.

Once we finally got two separate persons to check us in the lady checking my father and partner in spoke to them as though they were rather stupid insisting every line of the H&S policy was read and understood, again this was just embarrassing as the lady checking ourselves in simply asked for a signature and did not explain the paperwork at all!

Feeling rather embarrassed and finishing the 'check in' procedure first i explained i was happy to go to the room ourselves as we had only a small bag, to which the lady took dislike to and simply walked off. Once my father had finished the procedure his 'check in' lady similarly walked off and they were left to carry their bags to their own room. (Amazing! 5* i think not)

The room was spacious and adequate although the access to all 3 balcony's was permanently locked? Whilst my fathers room on a higher floor was not.. this detracted from the experience somewhat.

Finally after finishing an excellent meal at a restaurant close by we decided to call ahead to the hotel and see if a, they had any space at the 'distil bar' and b, if my daughter (2 years old) would be able to sit (or sleep as the case was) whilst we had a 'goodbye' cocktail with my father and his partner. I was greeted on the phone by reception and put through to the Distil bar who explained booking wasn't needed for drinks and the child was not an issue at all. This was a little surprising so i repeated 2 or 3 times to the person from the Distil Bar - are you sure i am ok to bring my daughter if she is well behaved. The answer every time was that this wasn't an issue at all. There were no language difficulties.

Arriving at the hotel after our meal and being denied access to the bar as i am sure any one can imagine was annoying and ruined a perfect evening.

Please note i am not against the hotel policy (nor do i disagree with it) however the way it was dealt with was nothing short of disgusting.

i asked to speak with a manager and was spoken to by Nittaya Kumkhuntod who is a 'senior' hostess manager. Her instant reaction from getting to ourselves was ' i am sorry for your inconvenience ' Amazed at this first sentence we then proceeded to explain the situation ie calling ahead etc. After being interrupted on no less than 5 occasions with ' i am sorry for your inconvenience ' i asked what this actually meant to which she said 'your not going to Distil' Her whole attitude was disgusting and she was not interested in solving or rectifying the issue. Whilst i fully understand it is not within her power to change a hotel policy nothing was done to resolve the situation. When Nittaya clearly got annoyed by the fact we wernt happy she decided to begin to raise her voice! (something i haven't seen from a Thai person working in a hotel ever)

Clearly as Nittaya (who introduced herself as a senior ops manager after telling me ' i am sorry for your inconvenience ') speaks for Lebua and has the authority to do so i can only presume from this (and the above mentioned issues) that the senior management at the hotel do not care if you have an issue and are simply not interested in customer service or repeat business.

If you want to visit Lebua, stop at the many other hotels in this price bracket and visit Lebua for the skybar and leave, enjoy the other hotels customer service and hospitality because you won't get it at Lebua.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdamB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear AdamB001

Thank you very much for returning back to our hotel and for your detailed review following your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your valuable comments and will definitely look into all points mentioned by you.

lebua Hotels and Resorts prides itself in offering our guests a comfortable, relaxing environment and staff that are attentive and helpful. Feedback such as yours is crucial to us, in order to continually improve the service we provide.

I was dismayed to read that we fell short in our service delivery, as this is not indicative of our usual standards. Especially the check in procedure did not follow the normal standards.

Also the fact that you were confirmed to bring your young daughter to Distil was a clear failure from our side and the way my colleague communicated to you afterwards is definitely not the way we talk to our guests. When realizing our mistake we should have offered you a babysitter instantly so you can enjoy the rest of your evening.

Please do accept my sincere apology for all inconvenience this experience has caused you and rest assured that your comments have already been addressed with the respective Managers for immediate improvement and to avoid similar shortcomings in the future.

Notwithstanding the disappointment, I would like to ask you, to treat these incidents as isolated.

Once again my sincere apologies and I do hope you will give us another chance. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance to you.

In the meantime I remain with kind regards

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,367
    1,638
    541
    191
    137
See reviews for
791
3,662
364
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

there is some reason why you pay so much for a room, the services even to a very minor details, and lebua is worth very penny of it. The breakfast is superb, Skybar, Breeze lounge is breath taking. if there is one thing to complaint that is the 3 nights is just not enough.

Room Tip: High Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthanFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear EthanFoo,

Thank you very much for your nice comments following your recent stay at Tower Club at lebua & lebua at State Tower.

The entire team was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you can stay longer than 3 days next time you are coming together with your partner to Bangkok.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Lebua at state tower is an impressivo hotel at first glance, especially with its soaring tower and golden dome at the summit. The rooms, we stayed at the 57th floor, room 5705, have an overwhelming view of the city and the Chao Phraya river. The Carrara marbled bathroom and room are very spacious and new. We had access to Breeze Bar at the 52th floor, with good happy hour. Breakfast was superb but can get crowded and busy. There were some other issues. Toiletries weren't always renovated each day. In this room, we expected the minibar to be replenished but was only by demand. Shower box leaked a bit. Overall, a bit pricey for what you get. Skybar and Sirocco at the top floor are not accessible to all guests and extremely expansive food and drink. Hotel van drops you no cost at the nearest river station. And be very careful if you wish to negotiate an upgrade at the front desk, since services and details can get dubious. Request that everything is written down clearly to you. Besides that, very polite and professional staff. But with this rate, I advice to seek for another hotel and leave lebua to its fame only.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil_Unzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Emil_Unzer,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel and your positive comments about the room, the view and the service provided.

We have also noted your comments about specific issues. Normally we do replenish the toiletries and the minibar on a daily basis. Please do accept my sincere apology that this did not happen during our stay. Be assured that I have shared this information already with our Rooms Division Manager to avoid similar shortcomings in the future.

We do allow each guest to go up to Sirocco and the Skybar. The only request we have is that our guests follow a certain dress code.

We do hope that you will give us another chance and that we will have the pleasure welcoming you and your partner again and for any future booking request please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

No additional adjective is required to describe this heavenly hotel. It's name should be transformed to an Adjective to describe itself.

LeBUA Wow.

The Sky Bar has an amazing view at night of the city beneath and the dome above it.

The Service personnel were excellent and ready to help. Yet again got to experience the interconnected tourist engagement circuit in Thailand. Well Done to DS Travel company for good job done on organizing transfers etc.

Room Tip: 52nd Floor quite complete with special additions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SsirKenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear SsirKenK,

Thank you very much for your review and your positive comments about our hotel, the service and the Skybar following your recent stay at lebua at State Tower.

We are also delighted to learn that you were very satisfied with our partner DS TRavel who arranged your ground transportation.

Please do let us know when you plan to come back so we can ensure you will have another wonderful stay in Bangkok

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Bangkok for 5 days and stayed at the Lebua. It's located in a great area of Bangkok, with lots of food choices and things to do. The boat to go to the Palace is only about a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel itself was spacious (our room was an incredible deal and the view was unbelievable) and the service is top-notch. My only complaint is that the food, while good, is very overpriced, and the drinks equaled nearly $20 in USD. I would absolutely stay at the Lebua again in Bangkok!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear M B,

Thank you very much for listing so many positive details about our hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay with us again when you return to Bangkok. Your comment about the prices have been chares with the F&B General Manager.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you and your boyfriend again.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just for two nights in Bangkok, this is a beautiful place to stay. Situated in the center, very high building with beautiful view over the city. On the rooftop a breathtaking bar, nice fitness center and a really fantastic restaurant, Breeze at the 52nd floor. The suites are spacious and the personal is extremly friendly and helpfull. All in all a very pleasant stay, will go there again.

Room Tip: I did get an upgrade to a high floor room with own terrace and breathtaking view of Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gero Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Gero Z,

To read reviews like yours are a great motivation to our team. We would like to thank you for finding the time informing us about your experience in the hotel following your recent stay at lebua at State Tower as well as your comments about our restaurant Breeze.

We look forward to welcome you again during your next Bangkok trip.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very good hotel, the staff were amazing catering to every need. The location in the centre of Bangkok. The skyline bar at the top was beautiful, a must see. Overall an amazing place and would happily stay there again! :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PriyaG124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear PriyaG124,

Thank you very much for the review that you posted on TripAdvisor and your positive comments following your recent stay at lebua at State Tower and your visit to the Skybar.

We hope your friends and yourself will visit us again in the near future.

Best regards

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Tower Club at Lebua
Tower Club at Lebua
#53 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,921 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Property: lebua at State Tower
Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#75 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — lebua at State Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing