We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxorious hotel but shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
lebua at State Tower
Ranked #82 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous hotel! Upon check in we asked whether there were any complimentary upgrades available in a room high, and we were quoted a price which we thought wasn't worth it (as we were only in BKK for 2 nights). We declined the offer but were then told if we waited until 3pm to check in we could have the higher room anyway!

We came back at 3pm ready for our room, but the staff were now so rude. I think this was a combination of them being busy, and their general attitude. The man who checked us in didn't tell us how the key card worked, didn't ask for any of our documents, and was generally very rude. When we got to our room we had a phone call asking us to provide them with our booking details and to go back down to show them! Surely this should have been asked for when we were checking in!

The room itself though was beautiful and spacious, me and hubby were shocked as to the size of the room. The view really was breathtaking, and I would have given the rating a 5 star if it wasn't for the staff.

Breakfast was very good, not in line with Shangri La's breakfast but still very good. The sky bar was unfortunately closed when we were there due to the rain so we went to the distill bar, but on the last night before getting the taxi to the airport we managed to get 10 minutes on the sky bar as it had opened, and the views were just amazing.

The hotel allowed us to leave our cases on the last day until we were ready to get the taxi to the airport which was nice, and we used the spa facilities to freshen up before the airport.

All in all fantastic hotel and highly recommended, but the staff were rude. I think this is the general attitude though so probably can't be helped!

Room Tip: Trya and get a room as high up as possible for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,422 - 2,428 of 7,501 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

This by far was the best hotel we stayed on our trip to Thailand, Treated like a real VIP from the moment we checked in, We stayed on the 62nd floor and the view from our room was breath taking. All restaurants are fantastic and the sky bar was brilliant. The pool and gym were very good. Also the tower club is a great place to relax. Very clean and modern and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is one of the best in Bangkok-have stayed in other hotels in Bangkok, but none have the size for rooms as this hotel offers! That said, have seen better all-suite hotels outside Bangkok.

The suites are good, with great views of the city from the balcony. The Sky bar on the 65th floor and the restaurant, Sirocco is absolutely breathtaking. Its a landmark and a must visit! The restaurant however doesn't have much variety in terms of food and serves mostly seafood.The pool is good, but they do not have an indoor private Jacuzzi. The gym is huge and overlooks the pool.The staff of the hotel is very helpful,polite and go out of their way to assist you for anything.

The flipside is that the hotel is a little far from Siam Square, which is where the main shopping is! However, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the MRT/BRT station close to the hotel and also to the pier.

Overall, a pleasant experience staying there.

Room Tip: Book smoking and higher floor rooms for the view! Plus they open the balcony for smokers! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. We got a free upgrade to a suite which was on the 53rd floor and had a cracking view looking out over the river and the city.

The bar on top of the hotel was brilliant as was the food. Very costly stay but well worth it!!

Room Tip: The river view is stunning at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britishpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The room is huge and the view of the city (we stayed at the river view suite) is breathtaking.
The food provided at the executive lounge is very good, the staff though should be more polite and not so strict with the dress code, at least in the afternoon.
The breakfast is very good with a great variety and freshly made eggs, bread etc.
The staff, apart from the executive lounge that we had a bad experience with a lady, is very polite and helpful, especially the gentleman at the concierge.
The skybar has the best views of the city and provides a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the luxurious properties in Bangkok. Big size rooms with a great view of Bangkok. The club lounge on the 52nd floor is a good place to relax in the evening. Has a very good gymnasium with a big size swimming pool. The sirocco bar is the place to be at night for a drink and the view of Bangkok by night. Service is fast . The location of the hotel is also not very far from the city centre. Overall it was a very nice experience staying here

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandhyasethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The sights from the rooftop restaurant and bar are spectacular and takes you to another world. Highly recommended to go to there 65+ floor rooftop. Service was impeccable and made us feel really special. Have been a great fan of Lebua and they kept up to the expectation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikanshu_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Tower Club at Lebua
Tower Club at Lebua
#50 of 891 in Bangkok
2,039 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 891 in Bangkok
6,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,640 reviews
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#129 of 891 in Bangkok
5,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#62 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $138 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — lebua at State Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing