We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but losing its shine”
Review of Asia Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #336 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but losing its shine”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel a few years ago - quite happy with the hotel then.
Recently stayed another 3 nights in Dec 2013. As the hotel is connected with the BTS Ratchathewi transit station, it is very popular and was nearly fully booked during the Dec holidays.
Customer relationships seemed to have deteriorated as could be seen from staff becoming more overbearing and having a "take it or leave it" attitude. To be fair, the hotel at that time also have many local tourists due to the 'whistle revolution'.
The problem might be due to procedural as staff became very busy answering queries from guests enquiring about wifi charges and charges for so called 'added services like having to pay 59 baht (us$2) for a flask of hot water. This can be overcome by charging more for the hotel rate to include the charges for wifi and convenience services like hot water to make milk for babies.
Another suggestion is to have more handicap friendly access to the nearby BTS train which is one of the hotel's key selling point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kengyew_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    545
    423
    153
    110
See reviews for
262
413
144
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the Asia Hotel for 5 nights, because our usual place,happened to be right in the middle of a protest zone!
First impression: the lobby area looks like an old cruise ship. It is huge. The people behind the front desk are not your typical Thai friendly people. One guy was even down right rude!! Wifi costs $6.00 US for 20 minutes. Ridiculous!! Hint: go out the door,,turn right, and go,to the Mezzo coffee shop. They open at 6 am and excellent wifi is free, if you buy a drink.
Now the positive: The room that we had was really big and very comfortable. The nice clean bathtub was a nice touch. It was a comfortable place to return to after the hectic Bangkok streets. The Skytrain is literally outside the door, making it easy to get around-- even to Survarnahbumi .There are several restaurants inside the HUGE hotel, but they seem pricy and were mostly empty. One restaurant hosts an Elvis impersonator every night. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices.
Another hint: if you want a taxi, walk out to the front of the hotel.. You will find them waiting and they will be half the price of booking one at the taxi desk inside.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vayabien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a terrible experience at this Hotel, and what was worse was the fact that the Management didn´t seem to care about the Staff treating customers badly!!!!

GOOD POINTS:
easily accessible from Airport.
good breakfast selection, BUT ALSO SEE BELOW!

BAD POINTS:
1) Extremely poor and arduous check-in procedure! We pre-advised the Hotel that we would be arriving late, and duly arrived at 23.40hrs. We were served by an extremely surly Receptionist (called Shivaporn), who was more interested in receiving a tip from aTaxi driver than attending to us! Eventually, at 00.15hrs she gave us the key and told us that the room was on the 9th floor.
Well, it wasn´t!!! Having revisited the "lovely" Receptionist once again, she then informed us that the room was actually on the 10th floor!!!
Having arrived at the correct room (now about 00.30am), it turned out to have twin beds, whereas we´d booked a double bed. This time, phoned the "lovely" Receptionist who informed us that there were no double rooms available (notwithstanding our specific booking!). I requested her to ask the Night Manager to phone me (as by this time, I´d had enough of this incompetent Receptionist).
The Night Manager didn´t phone, and so I returned to the Reception Desk, to ask for the Night Manager. When he eventually arrived, now about 01.00hrs, he was extremely surly (obviously had been trained in the same Concentration Camp/Prison, as the Receptionist). Firstly, he insisted that the Hotel did not have double bedded rooms, and secondly that my booking could not have requested it. I forced him to show a copy of my booking where it clearly stated a double room, and so demanded that they cancel my booking (notwithstanding that it was now about 01.30hrs), because I was furious at the service I´d received. He then recanted and said that there was a double bedded room, but that it didn´t have a safe deposit box!!!!
If it wasn´t for the fact that it was past 01.30hrs, I would have told them to stuff it, and go to another hotel!!!!

2) breakfast is good, BUT BEWARE that they clear away everything at, or before 10.00am!!!
We had a difficult and late check-in (as above), and so arrived for breakfast at about 09.50am. Believe me, they were already clearing away all the food, and it was difficult to find simple things, like clean cutlery, glasses etc, apart from having to make do with whatever scraps that the hadn´t already cleared away!!!

Never again at this Hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (8 and above) are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampar, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Spent a few days there . I've been here few years ago and it's obviously getting aged judging by the hotel room that I got. Services had improved . It's nice location near the sky train station would lead you to MBK easily.And we hopped on "tuk-tuks“ to get us to Chak Tu Chak market.On the return journey we choosed a cab as it is safer.Thumbs for Asia Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelat0_Gelat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Arrived from Chiang Mai stayed at the Asia for 5 days. Stayed here many times, great hotel and
location. At the moment Thailand suffering from lack of tourists going there, I think because of trouble with the government. But there is no threat to tourists. So we got a free upgraded to a better room and it was great, nice friendly staff, hotel clean and spotless, lovely breakfast
overall excellent stay, and elvis is still singing there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is very well located (direct connection to sky-train station, 10 min. walk to MBK shopping center) and the price is low enough to define this hotel as good value for money. The rooms are very aged, including the bathroom. Breakfast is average, and the service is OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

They gave us a free upgrade which was very nice. Staff were friendly and the train is SO useful! Especially to and from the airport! Takes the same amount of time as a taxi!

Breakfasts were nice, very decent options even though it didn't change from day to day but you could always have an omelette made up and there was nice quality fruit every morning unlike other hotels I've stayed at.

Downside is that there were tiny ants in our bathroom. Not sure how they got there since we were on the 9th floor.

A word of advice- never take taxis in front or even down the street from the hotel. Take the train one stop down (to victory monument) and catch a taxi from there. The drivers were trying to charge us 1000baht for a trip they said was very far, their special price was 800 baht which was a joke. On the meter it ended up being 135baht. So much for being very far...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azalie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#155 of 863 in Bangkok
1,459 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#371 of 863 in Bangkok
259 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#120 of 863 in Bangkok
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#150 of 863 in Bangkok
512 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#102 of 863 in Bangkok
2,090 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel Bangkok

Property: Asia Hotel Bangkok
Address: 296 Phayathai Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#111 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#212 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asia Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Asia Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Asia Hotel
Asia Bangkok Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing