We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, very nice staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #416 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, very nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Quite cheap if you book in advance on the internet, St James hotel is a very nice hotel with beautiful rooms and a small but beautiful swimming pool.

Staff are outstanding and extremly kind (even for Bangkok where almost everybody is nice).

The location on Sukhumvit (expat favorite neighborhood) is full of good restaurant and not far from both BTS and MTR. If you prefer a cab, there is always somebody to write your destination in Thai and explaining it to the taxi driver.

Last but not least, the restaurant and the room service are really excellent.

Maybe the only bad thing is the price of wireless connection, but you just have to walk for 2 minutes to find an internet cafe with affordable internet hour rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ichulit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    318
    54
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
28
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Booked my room online, when I arrived, the tried to charge me 40% over the confirmed booking price. The manager of the hotel confirmed the high price. After I complained and showed my receipt they tried to charge me about 20% over the agreed price. Unfriendly and uncooperative throughout.

As for the room (I arrived late and had to take the room due to an early morning meeting the next day): clean but run down, the pics were taken long ago, now the rooms are scuffed up and worn. Vintage and small tv, shower over the bathtub, no hot water for the sink.

Good points: it is well located near the skytrain and the emporium mall. If they changed management they could turn it around well.

Overall: this is just the type of hotel I usually love, and enjoy staying at most. However, they are so pushy, and obviously taking advantage of foreign tourists, adding hidden costs etc., and not keeping the rooms up. THere are far too many better alternatives in BKK, you can do much better for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlternateRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petporter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Hotel is modern, spacious, clean, has all that you need in a hotel and room, has a small by good swimming pool to cool off after a day out in bangkok. the location is about 5 mins walk to the sky train. no shopping in the area, but lots of japanese restaurants in the area. we found this hotel to be amazing for what we paid which was $50 per night on a deal that we found through trip advisor.
can't fault this place, we were even given early check in as the counter staff could see we were worn out from our travels.
thanks for a great stay St James.
Yes i would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel was a great find for us. It is very well located close to the skytrain with exceptionally helpful and polite staff. Breakfast was extensive in a very modern, pleasant restaurant setting. We ate at the restaurant twice during our brief stay because the meals were delicious, service was exceptional and the environment was so quiet and pleasant. Our room was cosy, clean and comfortable with a pleasant outlook. Thanks to the staff for our stay. We'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Great Hotel in a relatively quiet area although only 5 minutes walk to the sky train...
Lovely Staff,room was clean.....great value.......
Breakfast was much better than we expected and the breakfast area was extremely trendy.....
Pool area was nice although you are surrounded by buildings(was to be expected in Bangkok!)
Take the skytrain to mo chit(20 minutes in air conditioned train) to go to the best weekend Market in the world....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brompeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

St James hotel is in a fairly built up commercial/ business area so first impressions make you think you are a bit far away from things. However, turn left out of the hotel and left again at the bottom of the street (short walk) and you are right by the skytrain and walk a little on from there to the Emporium shopping centre, bars, restaurants etc etc.

Overall this is a very very nice hotel, just like the photos on the website. Very clean, well maintained & great service, beds are a little firm but not too bad. Swimming pool is a bit small but good for catching the morning sunshine. Breakfast is buffet style i.e. help yourself to what ever you want, plenty to choose from and good food. We paid £45 per night for a deluxe room which some will think is expensive but then again it is a definate 4 star experience. Would stay there again !!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

i stayed here for 3 nights and was very happy that i chose this hotel. i have stayed in other areas of bangkok and personally feel that the sukhamvit area is the nicest.

i arrived at midnight after a long flight and ordered room service, the food was great and clearly made fresh in the hotel.

the room was clean and modern. the restaurant on the ground floor was fantastic and the food was great.

i would definitely stay here again, especially because it was so cheap!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfootballbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#288 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Sukhumvit
24 Inn Hotel
24 Inn Hotel
#363 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#459 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hope Land Executive Serviced Apartment
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#386 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Four Wings Hotel
The Four Wings Hotel
#381 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Property: St. James Hotel
Address: 18 Sukhumvit 26 Road | Khlongton, Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located center of the town .And near by Sky Trian ,and shopping mall only 5 min.by walk,also near by hospital.Far from Suwannaphumi Airport 40 min.by express way.All of the 78 guest rooms and suites are stylishly furnished,and include the following features,Air conditioning with individual controls ,private bathroom with bath and shower,satellite TV in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
St James Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing