We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and clean hotel at japanese area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #425 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“nice and clean hotel at japanese area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

i stay there during my transfer flight to another city. just stay there one night and during the fasting month. the service is abolutely good, they send me a breakfast at the room on 03.30 am in he morning. bts is on walking distance, you can go all around bangkok by bts. but i love this hotel, nice and clean, enough for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    319
    54
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
28
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel was nice and rooms were lovely. Pool was small and in the shade. hotel was quite empty when we stayed and there was very little atmosphere. Abit out of the way and a taxi required for most trips.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saja_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel was reasonable value for money, one of the receptionists and a doorman were very helpful, and the hotel is very well located.
However, on this second visit to the hotel, I was disappointed to see how it had deteriorated. The first room I was given faced ongoing construction: the second room, while quieter, was full of mosquitoes. It took me over an hour every day to get someone to come and spray the room, with one of the receptionists suggesting I change my room a third time! I was given one small and one large towel, and no face towels, but I decided not to complain; however, as I was leaving, the receptionist came chasing after me asking if I had returned the face towel I'd never received! All in all, a change for the worse after my very pleasurable visit last year, as a result of which I didn't think twice about returning this year.

Room Tip: Specify that you want a room that does NOT face construction work, and that overlooks the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabaco City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

It's small but nice!

Location:
good, surrounded by massage and spa houses.
10 mins walk to the nearest train station.

Rooms:
Modern interior
Clean
Large windows
Carpeted
Soft bed
fluffy pillows
have hot and cold shower and a Tub
Complete toiletries

Staff:
Very nice
Accomodating

Rates:
Quite cheap if you book in advance

This hotel have a mini pool and it's clean.
Restaurant is nice and cozy. Located at the lobby.
Small Elevator (but good for 4 person only)

i recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok.:)

Room Tip: Nothing in particular. All rooms are beautiful and well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times when in Bangkok cos of its good location -- walking distance to the BTS and other amenities like the Emporium Mall & local restaurants just down the road with a cheap laundry service (compared to the overpriced one in the hotel!). Its a small boutique hotel where staff kind of know most of their guests. As a frequent stayer one would have thought the hotel would get better, just like fine wine that tastes better upon maturity! Unfortunately, on my last and most recent trip staff were unhelpful and the quality of service had deteriorated, especially from the front desk staff. The management should take more interest in its guests, especially since there are so many other hotels of this type at the same price range as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmania070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel does seem like it is more suited for the business travelor than young couples but never the less it was nice. It was the more expensive place we stayed and laundry was super expensive compared to everywhere else. They have a full restaurant and bar and it's very modern and updated. You do have to pay for your wifi use which was the first time in Thailand we had to do that. The staff were pleasant but I don't think they much liked us. Not rude but not over friendly either which I had gotten used to in Thailand. It is very close to the skytrain and near many restaurants, bars, a night market and plenty of taxi's and tuk tuks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nefertitiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Quite cheap if you book in advance on the internet, St James hotel is a very nice hotel with beautiful rooms and a small but beautiful swimming pool.

Staff are outstanding and extremly kind (even for Bangkok where almost everybody is nice).

The location on Sukhumvit (expat favorite neighborhood) is full of good restaurant and not far from both BTS and MTR. If you prefer a cab, there is always somebody to write your destination in Thai and explaining it to the taxi driver.

Last but not least, the restaurant and the room service are really excellent.

Maybe the only bad thing is the price of wireless connection, but you just have to walk for 2 minutes to find an internet cafe with affordable internet hour rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichulit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#292 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Sukhumvit
24 Inn Hotel
24 Inn Hotel
#380 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#433 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
DoubleTree by Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#384 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Property: St. James Hotel
Address: 18 Sukhumvit 26 Road | Khlongton, Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located center of the town .And near by Sky Trian ,and shopping mall only 5 min.by walk,also near by hospital.Far from Suwannaphumi Airport 40 min.by express way.All of the 78 guest rooms and suites are stylishly furnished,and include the following features,Air conditioning with individual controls ,private bathroom with bath and shower,satellite TV in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
St James Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing