We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #72 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for shopping”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Terrific hotel for the price. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. There are some housekeeping issues - mould on shower, toilets not cleaned properly. Overall a good hotel for a 4 star certainly not 5 star though the service is excellent. Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,357
    1,513
    408
    110
    68
See reviews for
1,339
1,839
333
841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
DUBAI
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed here from 25-28 October and chose it as I had previously stayed in the Amari Rincome in Chiang Mai and enjoyed it.

The entrance to the Watergate and Reception are quite impressive and staff are attentive and very friendly. The feel is definitely of a 5* hotel. I paid around BHT 2,200 per night for a deluxe room not including breakfast and I think this was reasonable. My room was HUGE with great views and a huge TV. I had a bath + separate shower room which was also a nice bonus. I do feel the hotel is a little old (the facade belies this) if you look closely at furniture etc but it is generally quite clean (OK, I am a bit picky about this - the phone was a little grubby and other things were not up to my personal standards but overall I could definitely live with it). Location-wise you can walk to the Siam Paragon mall in around 15 mins (an interesting walk across the river and through very authentic thai living area) and the Platinum mall is just across the road, however, it is not as central as I expected. Not a big deal in Bangkok though where you can grab a taxi or tuktuk very easily and cheaply.

I never took the time to check out the hotel amenities unfortunately (tooooo busy shopping!) but they seemed to have LOTS of nice restaurants. I did not take breakfast here either so can't comment on that. I did take the flexible internet package (BHT 900 for 6 hours) and it was very fast. I would recommend taking a taxi to/from the airport as the hotel transportation (as most hotels) is very expensive. The taxi from the airport cost around BHT 220 and back to the airport cost quite a bit more (but don't know why) at BHT 380.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAZZA_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

This Hotel was amazing, by far the nicest hotel I have ever been in. Outdoor swimming pool and one of the floors even had a little park on it with trees, something you dont get to see offen in Bangkok. The Hotel felt like a little city in itself, thai,chinese,italian restaurants shops and even a bakery on different floors. The rooms were lovely and you even got the Housecoat and sleepers in the warddrobes :) Location is Central, and their is a shopping centre in front of the hotel as well as the Central Festival to the right. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Bangkok

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khaibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We chose Amari Watergate after reading reviews. We stayed there for five days. The service, the staff and the room was really good. Such a clean hotel! Spotless everywhere we touched. The staff must have worked at their best to keep it so well. The room was good equipped too. Send thanks to the staffs and we'll return someday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisGuillemot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Was in Bangkok to basically shop, eat and drink and so tried to find a hotel which was central so that the mission could be accomplished without much problem.
Alas..thought the hotel is right in the Pratunam market and bang opp a wholesale mall called Platinum mall, there is no access to the metro or the overhead train thus making a taxi necessary to go anywhere.
Though most malls and restaurants are close, the crazy Bangkok traffic can almost kill you in trying to cover a distance of 2 to 3 km.
The room itself was clean, on a higher floor as requested and non smoking.
The flush which was functioning optimally was looked into as soon as we complained - the breakfast was very lavish and service was good.
As mentioned the hotel was fine - only problem is the location.
On the day of our return, we almost missed the flight as the distance from the close by Siam center took us almost an hour to cover - thank God that the airport train had started by then - so we took a taxi to the closeset stop and took a train the airport otherwise wiuld have missed the flight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Amari is located near the Central World and just across Platinum. So for shoppers, this will be a very very ideal location. I accompanied my wife shopping during the 4 days trip, and I was very thankful that the hotel was just across the mall.

Also, other places such as Siam Paragon & MBK are quite near by taxi. Or you could try the train to make going around easier.

Breakfast could be better, because there was not much variety. But the staffs were great. Overall, a very good stay in Bangkok, although we felt it could be better if the rate were cheaper. Can't go wrong with the location though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyatoKamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Amari Watergate for 3 nights in October and thought it was very good in terms of location,cleanliness and size of the room.We were directly opposite a big shopping centre which we did not manage to visit,apart from a late visit on our first night for a snack.Our schedule was pretty busy as we had a lot of sightseeing to take in and could have stayed longer,but had planned to go to the River Kwai for a couple of days.The hotel was really nice,the staff very friendly and helpful and the faclities were top class.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 863 in Bangkok
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 863 in Bangkok
5,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amari Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing