We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience in Amari Watergate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #72 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
1 review
“Superb experience in Amari Watergate”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

During the chinese new year, my family, all together about 25 people went to bangkok for a short trip for 5 days. My best friend strongly recommended Amari Watergate at Bangkok to us. She said she knows the General Manager Mr Pierre Pelletier very well and he manages the hotel very well too. Going according to her recommendation, we did stay in Amari Watergate.

It was such a pleasant experience for our family. Firstly, staff there are very polite, always greet you with a warm smile. you would feel very warm and welcome over there. Secondly, environment, under the strong management team, led by Mr Pierre, was very clean, neat and pleasant. Thirdly, we are just normal travellers, not the rich and famous group. Mr. Pierre took the trouble to greet us during one morning. The impression of our stay there is really warm and welcoming. Needless to say, the rooms are affordable and super comfortable.

Will definitely stay in this hotel again should we visit bangkok again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalaysiaJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,382
    1,530
    412
    111
    69
See reviews for
1,359
1,850
334
845
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

This hotel represents excellent value for money & is ideally located for the major designer shopping centres of Central World & Siam Paragon. I would say it is more of a business hotel than a tourist spot as it is some way from the major attractions of Bangkok. It would be more convenient for sightseeing etc to be based on the river.

Rooms are great, we had a deluxe room on 14th floor & it was very spacious with good bed & shower. Hotel offered a deal for breakfast on arrival & it was great value. All normal services you would expect for a large city centre 4/5 star hotel specialising in conferences etc.

Very helpful concierge staff & nice rooftop pool area, gym & spa on around the 6th floor.

"Bakery" for tea/ coffee/ cakes etc off main reception. Basement, American- themed bar offered a useful late "Happy Hour" between 11pm & midnight with 2 for 1 cocktails that served as a nice nightcap after getting back from dinner. Competent & good value in all areas is how I would characterise this hotel.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rocky2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We were not staying at that hotel. I was booking in a hurry and I booked another hotel nearby (Baiyoke Sky). But next time when we go to Bangkok we will stay at Amari. We had some troubles with eating. The street food stands were unacceptable for us, the system of booking of the buffet restaurants in our hotel (Baiyoke Sky) was so annoying and complicated that you could lose your appetite before you could get to the table. There were no decent restaurants around. Only fast food and some Japanese/ Chinese shops in Isetan and Central World Plaza. Actually we were really happy when we found a Thai restaurant in Amari. The hotel lobby is extremely cool, so great after a day in Bangkok. The staff was very helpful when we were asking about the restaurant. The restaurant is very quiet, clean and has a good choice of Thai food and the food was very nice and delicious, if you like Thai food. We were dining there all three nights that we had before our departure. The hotel is listed as five-star, but if you stayed at five-star in Europe, you will say the hotel Amari is more like 4+. I can judge only by seeing the lobby and restaurant because, as I mentioned, we didn`t stay at the hotel. But I am sure it is a much better place to stay than any other hotels in Bangkok. We will choose Amari next time, not Baiyoke Sky.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0letstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

This hotel is wonderfully placed around all the major shopping hubs of Bangkok.
A business like hotel and a busy one too.
Quite a comfortable hotel though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monk5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I had opportunity to stay twice in Amari Watergate.
1 week in January for business conference among a group of 200 pax.
2 times 3 nights in February as this was my 1 landing point as home to prepare my move to Bangkok.
1st stay went well and, even though I was anonymous among 200 pax, service was excellent, and a few staff members paying special attention to me (concierge go to buy cigarettes with small tip for exemple).
When I came back on my own 3 weeks later, many staff remembed me and gave me special welcome back attention.
The GM is everywhere, paying attention to everything to ensure smooth and professional services.
After having been travelling in Thailand for various trips more than 15 years, I would say that Amari Watergate does not reach prestige of higher hotels such as Shangri La for example. However it definitely provides excellent services for much more affordable package.
Really need to be seriously considered for painless trip in confortable atmosphere!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacArthur10110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I have been staying ath the Amari Watergate for many years. In fact Iasked the resevation office just out of curiosity if they had a record of my stays and it turned out that I stayed there about 70 times, all stays added up it almost comes to one year. Amazing, that the service level has never dropped, although staff change, but they are friendly, helpful and efficient, which shows a consistent training on all levels. The rooms have been upgraded and refurbished, they are spacious and spotless clean.
The most impressive is the GM. Mr. Pelletier who has the gift of always being at the right spot at the right time. He is well visible, he talks to the customers, he always has a minute to ask how things are and it seems that he is working around the clock.
I will continue staying at the Watergate, it has become my home away from home and the staff really make me feel at home. It always a warm welcome back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farangdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Great 5 star hotel with gorgeous rooms the Size of room was comfortable. Shower and Bath very nice. No noise and the views very nice, great location near every major malls and places to go shopping,

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 866 in Bangkok
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 866 in Bangkok
5,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing