We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A selection you will not repent!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #63 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A selection you will not repent!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed in Amari Watergate number of times during my visit to Bangkok, both on business purpose as well as personal trips. The tariff might be on a slightly higher side considering there are number of options available in Bangkok but at the end of the stay you will not repent your choice of staying in Amari Watergate.

Everything about the hotel is good. Starting from the location where there are number of shopping malls and local markets with cheaper options as well. Just opposite the hotel is Pratunum Mall. There is also Central World with number of branded outlets as well as Big C, the Hypermarket within walking distance.

Now coming to the hotel. The lobby is big and neatly done up with enough space. The style is contemporary and throughout the day you will get a fresh feeling. The guests can spend time in the lobby either sipping hot tea / coffee or enjoying musical instruments being played in the evenings. There are sufficient number of lifts to take you to your floors and you will not find anything out of place. Every aspect neatly planned and more importantly, immaculately maintained. The staff is very friendly and willing to go that extra mile to please the guests, which is very important in the hospitality industry. The rooms are spacious and decor up to the mark as you would expect from a hotel of this standard. I had issues with the air conditioning and maintenance staff was available in a jiffy to resolve the issue to my satisfaction.

The breakfast spread is one of the best I have come across in any hotel that I have ever stayed in. There is sufficient (rather more than sufficient) option for everyone starting from juices, fruits, cereals, veg as well as non veg options in Oriental, Continental as well as options for Indians also. There are number of dining options as well however I have tried only Thai On 4 which serves signature Thai dishes. I loved the food at this restaurant. This is the first place where I had soft crab and it was really good. There is a Spa and the services are good here as well. The Spa is located at the same floor as the Pool and the Fitness Center.

Go for it........you will not repent your choice!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SupreetLodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear SupreetLodh,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your now home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,030
    1,332
    363
    98
    54
See reviews for
1,123
1,654
314
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Amari Watergate is conveniently located to most popular shopping areas of Bangkok, IT Center, etc. It features an interesting variety of excellent restaurants including a wonderful cafe on the ground floor that is perfect for a snack, a take-away pizza, and wonderful desserts. The executive lounge on the 22nd floor has a beautiful view of the city as well as excellent service. It is well worth the upgrade to enjoy the breakfast and evening happy hours, even an open air terrace for the smokers and those who want to enjoy some fresh air and the open air views of Bangkok. The most important feature, however, are the friendly and helpful staff who are very attentive and who will do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front of the hotel, looking towards the Central World as you can enjoy a ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Sam M,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with a great experience and I look forward to welcome you and your family back soon in your now home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Amari for 4 days and 3 nights and it was overall a pleasant experience! Location is perfect for me as I love shopping and Amari is located right in the Pratunam area with all the night markets, and the excellent Platinum Mall is just directly across the road. Only a 5 minutes walk away is Central World with great international shops and eating choices, and another 5 minutes walk away is Big C hypermarket. The lobby is always blasting cool air-con and smells heavenly with the best essential oils. They also have traditional Thai musical performance at their lobby in the evenings, so this is a really nice touch.

The hotel is a little old compared to some of the new and trendy ones in Bangkok. Nevertheless, the staff is always attentive and eager to help. The room is also a little old but nevertheless a decent size with a good firm bed that provided good quality sleep.

We also had buffet dinner at their highly rated Thai on 4 restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeemandMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear amethystam,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your now home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I along with my family had the opportunity to stay in this hotel last week. The moment I stepped in the hotel, I realized that I made an absolutely right decision by choosing this property for my stay. Huge hotel lobby giving you an instant 7 star feel and the best part is the location of the property which is right in the middle of the market. My wife was really happy as she could just walk down to famous shopping areas like MBK mall, Indira Palace, etc..

I would like to specially thank Mr. Pierre Andre Pelletier, General Manager, Amari, who made our stay even more memorable by upgrading us to the top floor of the building and taking excellent care of us. These small things made us feel really special and made us love the property even more. Our VIP check-in on 32nd floor was something new and the staff & front-desk were very helpful and professional.

The best part was that everyday from 5pm to 7pm there was a complimentary hi-tea on the 32nd floor lounge only for the Executive floor residents. The food & drinks were amazing, but the best part was the view from the lounge. My 4 year old daughter loved the lounge and use to look forward to go to the lounge everyday.

The food was also amazing with Indian food as part of their regular menu. You can order Indian food in-room dining & the best part was the inclusion of Indian food in breakfast buffet like chole bhature, dosa, idli, stuffed paranthas, etc.

Overall, I will say its the perfect property for family & business people. It's right in the heart of the city & the staff & food is excellent. I will highly recommend this property & will love to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Try choosing room with front Road View, which is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rbsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Rbsingh,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with a great experience and I look forward to welcome you and your family back soon in your now home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights got upgraded to an executive room on the 31st floor.

Really good location, excellent shopping close by and Platinum mall across the road and it's amazing (read my review).

Breakfast is huge, lots of stations; fruit,cereal,yoghurt station, pastry, Arabian, Indian, Japanese, Asian, eggs, omelets, pancakes cooked to order, bacon,sausages etc, fresh juice the choice seems endless.

The pool area is lovely, great view, bar, lots of seating. Pool is free form with a spa type area incorporated in the pool with lots of jets. Did not use the gym but it was huge and exceptionally we'll equipped with equipment our 21yr old son was most impresses.

Room is a nice size, great bathroom with shower (rain head and hand held nozzle) bath, large full length mirror, large TV with lots of channels.

Had a great stay would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank funfoodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear funfoodies1,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your now home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed there for our anniversary on the 32nd floor which is also the Executive floor. The view of the whole Bangkok city from that height is just breathtaking. The staff were hands down the most gracious, attentive and helpful staff we have ever encountered in our years of travel. They have this amazing swimming pool on the 6th floor which is a calm place to unwind. The 'Thai on 4' restaurant on the 4th floor offered us some amazing dishes that we still cant get off our mind. The Executive Lounge on the 32nd floor is a MUST VISIT place in Amari Watergate. The property is located in the best place in Bangkok with shopping malls all around the place and Indira Market at a walking distance. They Staff at Amari spoilt us with all the complimentary items and freebies, the best of all being the box of macaroons. I will always cherish my time spent here. Amari Watergate is a true gem.

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views. Especially the 32nd which is the top most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_appu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear wanderlust_appu,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with a great experience and I look forward to welcome you and your family back soon in your now home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated above a mall, so for shoppers it is a well located hotel. Walking distance from Platinum mall. But hotel is really average with small rooms and bad room service. They have very limited in-room dining menu with food quality and quantity on lower side. They charged us for the items from mini bar which we didn't use, please check and make sure it doesn't happen to you too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank manishkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear manishkhanna,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. We are always thankful for constructive feedback as we learn from it to continuously improve ourselves. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared and appropriate actions have been taken; once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in your upcoming visit to Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLOW Pratunam
#83 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#94 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#56 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing