We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located. Slightly Overpriced. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #68 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Centrally located. Slightly Overpriced. ”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Bangkok now a days has become a paradise location for shoppers. The Amari watergate is very centrally located. Proximity to all big malls is at waking distance. Be it central, siam , mbk, indra market, pantip plaza or platanum. That's a plus as the taxis and tuk-tuks do not run on meter and all for absurd amounts for distances even lesser than even 2 km.

The rooms were quite spacious and clean.
However since I had a single occupancy room, there was no change in rates as compared to my friends staying in double occupancy. Also for me the difference in rates without breakfast was huge. Almost 1500 baht per day. So I chose to eat out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Zubin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Zubin M,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on you recent visit in Bangkok. genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and please rest assured that we have shared your comments with our team.
Again thank you for your kind words and on behalf of the rest of the team here at Amari Watergate Bangkok, I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,283
    1,464
    396
    107
    62
See reviews for
1,281
1,795
330
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Yes I hardly give average ratings for my home in Bangkok.

I am writing to give an honest feedback on the declining service in housekeeping and reception on my recent stay 2-5 May.

I am saddened that the well know for service software Amari seems to slide. Your hotel is always my first choice when I stop over for both business and leisure.

Two of the days 3/4 May bottles of complimentary basic water was not given. So I called for it, came promptly with apologies. But should they have a tick list for checking before rendering the cleaning and replenishment complete.

Next is the night set of reception crew....lead by Yongyan Mankamsn ( night manager).
The check out at 6 am on the 5 May left me upset and hurt.... And almost near disappointment.....


Reception Korrajett showed me a bill with error..... Of two nights and some calls .
So I told him that my room is already pre paid upon booking .....through chorus and I will pay for the calls made during my stay.

Two nights with the points claim and one night already pre paid.

So I told him to dig out the customer check in folio....which he refused..actually I shouldn't be telling him what to do....... Also delaying my time to catch a taxi to the airport for my flight...

At the same time just beside me , there is another guests with similar issue....this didn't help the matters that is concurrently happening....


Then the night manager appeared.... He didn't offer immediate solutions and looked very tried or just about as lost.

Without checking ...he showed me the bill for the second time....so I went crazy....taxi is awaiting....and so I told the night manager... Look... I have no time to waste for your errors when all has already been pre paid and I just left my 100baht asking him to keep the change for the calls made....

He had bad body language and refuses to accept my solution...right ....so... I said ....do whatever he wants....

And so I requested for a tax invoice for the calls of 96 baht and also to cancel my card swipe upon check in which Yongyan refuses to do so.


And I left.......upset.... The hotel leaving the team with another guest that is checking out.

But I must say.... That the Concerige and luggage team service remains high on standard of service with Pui kon leading them.

As I finally boarded my taxi and rushing off ...the nice bell boy even asked me if everything is alright and if I needed anything..

I really think you should investigate this situation and revert on your actions for the possible chance of returning guests in the near future.
The attitude displayed by both The manager Yongyan and Korrajett is below average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblesEito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear BubblesEito,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on you recent visit in Bangkok. I am very sorry and disappointed to read about your stay and genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our services are up to standards.
Please rest assured that your comments have been shared and appropriate actions have been taken; once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in your upcoming visit to Bangkok to redeem ourselves.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First visit to Bangkok and the Amari Watergate was a very nice place to stay. Highly courteos staff and a nice ambience greeted us. The tradinational welcome was really nice. The hotel is ideally located wtih many mall and shopping centres in and around. Food at the hotel was ncie but didnt get to taste any traditional Thai food. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinayk1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear vinayk1975,
Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and that you were able to make the most of our advantageous location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

High quality service is the hallmark of this hotel. Valet parking, reception staff, restaurant staff and chambermaid all provide excellent friendly service which is a credit to the hotel. Breakfasts were excellent and the recently upgraded rooms have all possible amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear khellon,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with a great experience and I look forward to welcome you back soon in your home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Always stayed here whenever in Bangkok, no regrets each time! Location is great! Just across from the Platinum Shopping Centre, Pratunam Market, Palladium Shopping Centre... and within walking distance from Big C Supermarket, Central World. Stayed at the executive floor, staff were great! They were friendly, attentive and prompt in their service!! Definitely recommended as the place to stay in Bangkok!

Room Tip: Executive Floor offers greater privacy and less crowded esp during breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear PhyllisLing,
I am very humbled and pleased to read your lovely comments and on behalf of the team here at Amari we all look forward to welcome you back soon in your home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was my 2nd stay with Amari Watergate Bangkok. It was my wife's 1st stay at the hotel and it's kind of a short getaway to celebrate her 52nd birthday. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted warmly by all the staff we came accross. As experienced before, the hotel front liners are very efficient and courteous. The Concierge team were magnificent, always ready to assist with your needs and thanks to Mr Praprute (Chef Concierge) who organised the birthday celebration for both my wife and our friend. Both ladies were very impressed with the service and attitude of the staff. The rooms were great and there's nothing to complain. We had a very awesome stay and will definitely return to Amari Watergate Bangkok soon. The plans had already in placed for our next visit.
NorÁzali / Rashidah (Singapore)

Room Tip: Higher floors with Platinum mall view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Norazali,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We are elated to hear that you had terrific stay with us. Our staff is truly our greatest asset and we are so happy that you felt well taken care of and we look forward to welcome you back soon in your new home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Once again, back to this hotel for the second time. Great location if you are heading to Bangkok for shopping as it is directly opposite the Platinum Mal. However, traffic is a pain. This is one of the famous places in Bangkok whereby the traffic is a disaster.
Room is clean and spacious. No complains about the service as everyone can speak somewhat fluent English.
We gave breakfast a miss as we are not early birds and there is a huge range of food at the top floor of the Mall as well as by the roadside.
Will I be back? Yes but I will not bring my parents back as the flight of stairs leading to the hotel lobby might be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear chuamel,
First of all thank you for your continuous loyalty. I am delighted to read that our team was able to provide you yet again with a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in your home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#88 of 858 in Bangkok
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#54 of 858 in Bangkok
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Amari Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing