We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #72 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and we're really impressed with the room, the staff, the location,the food, the pool, the gym....everything in fact!
The only regret is that we could not use the spa as it was busy at the time we went there. I must admit they did give us other options but we couldnt fit it in.
They have a lobby ambassador that recommended us to go to this restaurant called Uncle Johns (from her tablet app!!)that was one of the best meals we had on this trip. BTW she everywhere :) we saw her at breakfast and even at the pool. She is an asset to this hotel. A special thanks to her and all others who made our holiday worthwhile.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jazzyjasdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,203 - 3,209 of 5,722 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Amari Watergate between 12 Nov & 15th Nov. Our whole experience right from the time we set foot into the hotel till we checked out was extremely good. Rooms were clean, housekeeping very efficient, buffet breakfast had a huge variety, room service very prompt, staff were extremely courteous & pleasant. The location of the hotel also is extremely central with a number of shopping malls withing walking distance

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prajosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed there end of November 13. The Hotel is ideally located, recently renovated, clean, well maintained and very courteous staff. Try booking and staying in the newly renovated rooms on the higher floors. We stayed in a Deluxe room facing the street and malls. The room was comfortable, clean and adequately stocked. There was some smell in the Pillow Covers when we reached the room but one phone call and it was fixed. Our purpose of the stay was to live in a functional, comfortable and clean space and the hotel did not disappoint us at all.

The hotel is not new but after renovation we did not find anything to complain about. Bathrooms are not big but very clean and functional. Do not expect too much or a luxurious stay and you will not be disappointed. Bangkok people are mostly shopping and sightseeing and this hotel is just ideally located. The room service and the staff is quick and efficient. Good for a shopping, sightseeing or business trip. The coffee shop and the restaurant at the Hotel are also very good. If you are honeymooning or on a vacation and want to spend much more time indoors then try opting for a class higher than the Deluxe rooms.

Room Tip: What I understand the newly renovated rooms are done better and are a better bet. Rooms are not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel had an amazing location if you want to experience Bangkok shopping. We got around easily, staff were helpful and accommodating.

The room size was very decent and spacious. The gym facility was also excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 6 nights from 19 Dec to 24 Dec, in a Executive Room. The room was wonderful and everything was nice and clean, the service staff from the reception to the concierge were extremely friendly and helpful. The GM, Mr. Pierre Andre Pelletier, was the epitome of the hotel's standards. He made it a point to visit the Executive Lounge during breakfast to give his morning greetings and to have a chat with them.

Location wise the hotel is good, with various train stations all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalvinPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Both my wife and myself stayed at this Hotel on 23rd Dec 2013 after our two nights in one of the Hotels at Sukhumvit areas. Here are our comments below.

Pros
1. The Hotel staff was kind enough to allow us for early checked in as we have arrived early that day.We really appreciated that.
2. Breakfast was ok with good varieties.
3. Superb location. Opposite is Platinum Mall and walking distance to Big C. Massage outlets few minutes walk to the deep right from the Hotel past Mc Donald.We went for the corner one and it was a great massage after a long and tiring walk from shopping.
4. To our surprise, the Hotel povided us a complimentary cake as it was our anniversary. Would like to take this opportunity to thank the Hotel Management and staff.
5. We could leave our luggage to the concierge when checking out as we have a late flight whilst continued our shopping.

Can't comment on the pools and gym as we had no time to try them out.

Cons.
1. Though the room and bath room were spacious and clean in general but looked quite old and dated. Some sofa furnitures had some stained and the housekeeping may also need to relook at the shower head. It would be perfect if the Hotel refurbish them.
2. The lobby was grand in size but looked very dimmed.

We paid flat fee of 400 baht from Hotel to Don Mueang Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msiakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was my family's first trip to Bangkok although we had been to Chiang Mai and Phuket. The hotel was selected by my sister-in-law based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor.

We stayed for 3 nights in 3 Grand Deluxe rooms, all on the same floor, and it was a very pleasant experience beginning with the staff at the Check-in counter who made an unexpected trip up to my children's room to assure us that there was sufficient space for an additional third bed which we had booked through the travel agent, the surprising availability of a cable extension from the phone in the room with 4 different adaptors to facilitate the charging of our electronic gadgets and the helpfulness of the staff at the Concierge counter whom we consulted each morning on the status and location of the anti-government protests.

We also tried to swim in the swimming pool on the 8th storey in the late afternoon/early evening but the water was very cold. A slightly heated pool would certainly have been very appreciated at that time! Our one and only complaint was the poor service at the hotel's Thai On 4 restaurant where we had our dinner on our final evening, which marred an otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnabas567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#87 of 883 in Bangkok
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#52 of 883 in Bangkok
5,487 reviews
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $88 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing