We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #67 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hi all, we stay here for 4 nights in October and would recommend this hotel. Firstly there was 13 of us as 3 famililies and check in was smooth and efficient with staff very friendly. We were quickly shown to our 27th floor Grand deluxe room which was an adjoining room for our teenage children. The room was amazing, very spacious with a big bathroom. The bed was comfy and the room was cleaned even with our clothes folded which was a nice touch. The location is Good if you like shopping not so good for restaurants. The restaurant in the basement, I think its called Henry J Beans Bar and Grill, was great we even had the staff and band drinking shots with us, great night lots of fun. Breakfast was vast an enjoyable with lots of variety. Overall very impressive hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snooppoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Snooppoppy,

Thank you for the brilliant review, I was delighted to read your whole family had such a great experience at the hotel.

For shopping you are correct, we are in a great location. It was great to hear that the team werebeing so helpful and fun in Henry J Beans, which is exactly the type of atmosphere we want to create there.

I will most definetly pass on your kind words to all the team here, a very big thank you for taking the time to write and I hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you and your family back to the Amari Watergate.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,175
    1,406
    380
    104
    57
See reviews for
1,193
1,748
325
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here in October, Staff was very friendly and welcoming from point of arrival to point of departure and easy to communicate with. Check in was quick and easy. Room was spacious, clean with good city view, flat screen tv and working area when on business. Pillow menu available to meet your health requirements.
Bathrooms equipped with clean shower as well as bath.

Breakfast was excellent with much variety for everyone. Pool area, on the 8th floor, has a very tranquil setting. You can overlook the city while walking the treadmill ammidst many others to choose from and even have a indoor squash court with the breezes spa on the same level.

Location is within the heart of Bangkok, having the famous Platinum Mall just across the street.
Hotel on the doorstep of the street markets and Worldwide food franchises such as Macdonalds and KFC just across the road.

Will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip for its exceptional service, location and standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travell-Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Travell Consultant,

What a fantastic review to receive, thank you so much. We were thrilled to read that all elements of the stay worked for you and most importantly that our team here were helpful and effecient.

We too love our location and product here at the Amari Watergate but we are biased of course, so to hear our guests offer these compliments is a great boost and I will be sure to relay your wonderful comments to our team.

I hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back as there will be a warm Amari Watergate

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We regularly go to Bangkok and always stay at this hotel. The management and staff really do look after you very well. It is easy to get around the city from this location. The rooms are extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts are great and cater for everyone - you will not go hungry! The hotel's other amenities are also very good and the swimming pool, gardens and spa have been recently updated. It is well worth booking an executive room for the additional benefits and use of the newly refurbished executive lounge. The hotel also has a large and secure car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKexpatsinThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear UKexpatsinThailand,

What a great review and from such loyal guests. I am delighted to hear that some many elements of the hotel work for you, from the lounge, pool area, breakfast, rooms and staff.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and for your continued loyalty to the hotel. I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. The lobby was awesome and the staff was very helpful. Food was also good but some of the areas were a bit dated but I heard that they are currently renovating. Just outside is the Platinum Mall which sells all types of clothes at very cheap prices. The hotel is also nearby King Power Complex, Siam Paragon and MBK.

Room Tip: Book the newly renovated deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Asombrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Michael_Asombrado

Thank your your great review. I was delighted to hear you choose Amari Watergate for your honeymoon and that the hotel and most importantly our staff were up to expectations.

We are indeed planning further enchancements so I am sure if you return, you will see more improvements to the product.

Our location is great for the local shops and saves a lot of time not spent in the busy Bangkok traffic.

Thank you for your feedback, it is always welcomed here and taken onboard. Maybe we can tempt you back for your 1st anniversary? Either way, there will be a warm welcome awaiting you.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Amari Watergate for three nights in October 2012. We can't rate this hotel better.
The bed was comfy, there was a pillow menu for softness, and the room was lovely. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe on the 22 Floor.
Breakfast had a good selection and great pastries and just across the road was the Platinum shopping mall and only a 50thb tuk tuk ride to MBK.
It was heaven to go shopping and then indulge in the spa - steamroom, sauna, and jacuzzi. For the price I thought this was one of the best hotel's we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Jade888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear 888Jade888,

Thank you for your amazing review. It was a delight to read that so many aspects of our product and service met your expectations. The pillow menu originally was only a service offered on the Executive floors but due to it's popularity we have extended it to all rooms in the hotel.

The spa is definetly a rewarding treat after a hard days shopping, I am glad you availed of the facilities on offer.

Your kind words and feedback are greatly received and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to the Amari Watergate.

Yours sincerely,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I loved my stay at the Amari Watergate.
My room, Grand Deluxe was very comfortable and clean with plenty of room, I was surprised that the bed was comfortable because most people complain about beds in Thailand being very hard. Watch the step down into the bath room.
I loved the breakfast, lots of things to choose from.
The hotel was surrounded by street markets and a great location for shopping, there is a bit of a walk to MBK, we walked there and got a taxi back.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear JanisBrisbane,

Thank you for your wonderful review. it was great to read that everything from the location, friendliness of the staff, good breakfast and comfortable bed made your stay so enjoyable.

These are the key elements to a successful stay so I am delighted we met your expectations.

Once again, a very big thank you from us, your feedback is most appreciated and I do hope we will be welcoming you back to the Amari Watergate in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights from 26th october. Loved the spacious lobby, gave the place a grand feel amidst the hustle and bustle of bangkok. Check in was smooth and quick, staff were very helpful and quick to help us bed in. Location of the hotel was fantastic if you're here just for shopping. The famous platinum mall was just directly opposite, and you definitely dont have to worry for dining options with so many street stalls and western establishments like macdonalds and Swensens just a stone's throw away.
There was also a fantastic little restaurant called Once Upon A Time just a brisk 5 minute walk away. Though expensive by bangkok standards, the food was excellent and came highly recommended by the hotel concierge.
In any case, i digress. Back to the hotel review. The hotel rooms were spacious and clean, though the television in the room was a little bit grainy, but that could have been something to do with the broadcaster rather than the hotel itself. Most importantly the hotel room was spotless, and the bed comfortable(though a little bit on the hard side).
I highly recommend Amari watergate if you are here primarily to shop because basically its right smack in the middle of the shopping district. You definitely dont want to have to take a taxi or tuk tuk to and fro shopping(i'm sure most of you have heard of the traffic jams in central bangkok).
I wouldn't say Amari was a top of the line hotel, but certainly you get what you pay for. I will definitely be staying there again on my next trip back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jansen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jansen88,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that so many aspects of your experience met expectations from the location, our helpful concierge, smooth check in and room cleanliness.

I have made careful note about the TV reception and the bed hardness which I will relay to our maintenance and housekeeping departments respectively.

Once again, a big thank you from us here at Amari Watergate and we look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#60 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing