We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing over all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
Ranked #249 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the last hotel of a three-week trip to Thailand. I had stayed at the Amari Boulevard years ago, and had had a very good experience, so we decided to spend our last few days in Bangkok at this hotel. We love the location and the convenience of the skytrain close by.

However, the hotel has really become run down, just as all the other reviewers have said. We were in the old wing. Our air conditioning was insufficient, and the wifi was unreliable. When we arrived at the hotel after 2:00 pm, which is check-in time, we had to wait an additional 40 minutes for our room to be ready. And then I had to go an approach the front desk after 40 minutes to see if it was ready--no one came to get us, despite the fact that we were waiting in the lobby. Then our keys didn't work in the locks.

The breakfast is great, just as I remembered it. But sadly everything else was lackluster. Won't stay there again despite the good location.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms in the newer wing are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback further to your return stay with us in January. I was sorry to read that you experienced the shortcomings described during your stay. As mentioned in our response to previous reviews, a renovation of the property is planned. In regards to our housekeeping service we have now taking steps to re-inforce the team and the standards at the same time. Thank you again for your feedback, and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights from the 9th of January 2013. We found the premises to be clean and welcoming and the room to be very nice and large.
After arriving and settling in we tried to find the pool and ended up getting lost in the fire exit stairway and somehow found ourselves in the car park. There are 5 different lifts in this hotel. 2 take you to the rooms, 1 to the carpark and 2 which are situated at the back of the hotel take you to the pool area. We were not told about this and ended up wasting a lot of time wondering about the hotel.
The pool was set up very nicely however it smelled extremely strong of chlorine which was quite unpleasant.
The second day, we went to the pool to find that the whole area had been cleared for some private party and we were unable to swim or to have a drink by the pool area.

We also noted that the reception staff always seemed to be very busy, even if there were no customers to attend to. When we checked in we had to wait a long time and again when we asked them about taxis.

The hotel itself was in a very convenient location with easy access to the sky train and with a lot of eateries around. We did have one drink in the hotel and found this to cost us more than a full 2 course meal in other places we visited.

We would recommend the food store accross the road from the hotel which is open 24 hours and offers a nice selection of cheap food at any time of day or night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Amari Boulevard. We were glad to read that overall you had a pleasant stay, however appreciate your comments about the service at the reception. We were also sorry to read that you had difficulties to locate the swimming-pool, which should have been explained to you upon arrival. Due to the attractive location of our pool and terrace area we indeed have occasionally private parties in the evening. In this case this appeared to be a company holding a meeting in the hotel during the entire week. Please accept our apologies if this has inconvenienced you in any way. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at a number of hotels in Bangkok and find this hotel befitting most of my criterias. I've stayed at Arnoma before and it was a longer walk to the station. Amari on the other hand, was much nearer and less congested. The hotel room is very clean. The 6th floor rooms are the same level as the swimming pool. The breakfast is quite extensive otherwise right in front of Amari, there is a 24 hour eatery (in the supermarket) that is quite cheap and good. The hotel is easy to identify, once you see McDonald's, u will see Amari. If you like the stalls along the roadside, you will enjoy the walk to the station. But i prefer to take the small alley (turn at kebab stall) just before the main road, that brings me to the station (its an easier walk). The hotel has very good staff that helped me to book several restaurants that i was going to.

Room Tip: If you like the pool, choose the 6th floor on the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celinechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Ms Celinechan,
Thank you very much for your very nice review. I was happy to read that the Amari Boulevard full filled your expectations and that you also enjoyed the convenience of the location. Thank you also for your kind comments about our team members. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Arrived on 28th December and stayed for 5 nights. Booked through Booking.com paying in advance to secure the best rate @ approx £40/night excluding breakfast.The best thing about this hotel is it's location. The rooms are not that well maintained and the maid service is erratic.
Nearby are endless choices of eateries and would recommend the Black Swan - for great British pub food and beer, Gullivers - close to the hotel in Soi 5 - delicious prawn cakes and the best find was Via Vai on Soi 8 - great Italian and Thai food with a cool ambience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bucksexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that the room you were assigned was poorly maintained and that we had shortcomings with the housekeeping service. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused, and rest assured that based on such feedbacks we are taking the necessary steps to improve. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

i stayed in this hotel from 19th December to 22nd December and i find it was not good choice of mine. The entire hotel is so congested and specially the old building is worst. The impression shown on internet and in hotel reception is completely different. All is Bed. So do not stay in this hotel please.

Room Tip: all are bed, do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hargovind29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I was sorry to read that your stay with us appeared not to be a pleasant one and that you found the hotel to be congested. We were indeed completely full during the dates of your stay, which coincided already with year end holidays in some countries. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights whilst on a business trip.

Modern hotel, beginning to fray at the edges. Room not cleaned when I arrived. I told the chambermaid and reception. Still not clean when I got back. Asked to change room, initial reluctance, but eventually given a room down the hall way.

Rooms clean enough.

Very well located for Nana Plaza, and the Nana station. Interesting.

Met a couple of working girls leaving the room next door as I went home in the evening, very polite.

Overall all an ok hotel for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I was glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the neighborhood. However please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortcomings experienced with the cleaning of the room, which forced you to move accommodation. Please be re-assured that based on your feedback this will be addressed.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It seemed the staff was far too busy in the work to even pass a smile to the guests. We went on r honeymoon and visited Bangkok after visiting Amari Vogue Krabi. I must say the amazing experience that Amari Vogue Krabi gave us was all washed out in Bangkok! The location is good on Sukhimvit road.. but that's it! The room given to us was definitely one of the oldest with huge box TVs and spotted carpet. At least it was not the similar room shown on the website. The entire staff was too content that the hotel was bustling... there was absolutely no personal touch, no smiles exchanged, no one to watch out for if you r made to wait at the reception.... The only plus point for vegetarians may be that there were a lot of veg items in the breakfast buffet.. otherwise, i would definitely recommend going for a quiter and friendlier hotel

Room Tip: This is a huge hotel with 400 odd rooms.. The view will be pretty much same from all the sides... i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpana_kharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at Amari Boulevard Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that your experience with us during your honeymoon trip did not meet your expectations, especially after a pleasant stay in our sister property in Krabi. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of attention shown during the period of your stay. I appreciate you brought this to our attention.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#158 of 884 in Bangkok
1,716 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand 5 Hotel & Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
City Lodge Soi 9
City Lodge Soi 9
#496 of 884 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#61 of 884 in Bangkok
2,062 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#56 of 884 in Bangkok
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Boulevard Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Boulevard Bangkok

Address: 2 Soi 5 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $61 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Boulevard Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Sukhumvit Road, the throbbing pulse of Bangkok, Amari Boulevard is the perfect city-centre accommodation from which to explore all that this dynamic Thai capital has to offer.From business to shopping to tourism landmarks, all of Bangkok is at your fingertips, within walking distance, or just a short skytrain or subway ride away. Be swept away with the urban rhythm at Amari Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amari Boulevard Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Boulevard Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Boulevard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing