We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very far!!!! Go to a real hotel downtown instead.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok
Ranked #170 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2006

I will ignore the price for now.
OK, I won't.
It is 200 USD and you can stay at one of the breathtaking, service-friendly downtown hotels for the same or less. This hotel is deceptive. It is a VERY far walk and for pure convenience sake, it is easier to reserve the Oriental, use their car service and do an overnight at that hotel. You will be in bed sooner. We did the Amari Airport hotel once for a 12-hour layover and were shocked how long it took to walk there and again in the morning. We did the Oriental the second trip for a 12 hour layover and will do it again next month. At 11:50 pm there is no traffic in to town, and even if you have an early departure, there will not be much traffic either.

Stayed: May 2002
5  Thank travlindudeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2006

I am sitting in their lobby - after a 10 hour flight from Europe - waiting to check-in because they gave me incorrect information over the phone and then did not have my reservation at all when I went to check-in. They only believed I had made the reservation at this hotel when I showed them the hotel number in the register of my phone. It is indeed very convenient and beautiful, but I'd double check before counting on landing here after a hard flight.

Stayed: April 2005
3  Thank Vermando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2006

Having read some reviews of the Amari Airport hotel, we were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of rooms, services, reception etc. We arrived at around 2am, and were welcomed and quickly shown to our room, which we booked for a late check out the next day. We were on the 2nd floor, and access to the garden and pool was just round the corner. The pool was clean and refreshing, and snacks were available all day. Altogether, a hotel that I would return to for a brief stopover.

2  Thank Elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2005

While this hotel is clean, modern and very convenient to the airport, I agree with the other online reviews I've read that the room quality is lower than what you'd pay for a comparably priced hotel in Thailand. The service, however, was very bad by any standard.

We reserved two rooms with a king bed via email directly with the hotel for $165/night. When we checked in, the front desk told us the rooms were $230/night. We showed the manager the copies of the emails reserving and confirming the rooms, but she told us that the $165 rate was for 1 person, and since 2 people were staying in each room, it would be $230. The email confirmation we received contained other terms and conditions, but gave absolutely no indication that the room rate the hotel quoted us was based upon single occupancy. The manager made it clear that she didn't care that there'd been a miscommunication by their reservations department. She finally agreed to reduce the price slightly, but we still paid over $50 more per room than the price we were originally quoted.

Then, at 7:00 a.m. the next morning, a maid knocked on our door and asked how soon we were checking out so she could clean our room. And she hadn't knocked on our door by mistake, thinking it was empty - she had a room to clean, and wanted to know when she could come back to clean it. We couldn't believe that we'd paid over $200 for a hotel room with a 12:00 p.m. check out time, and a maid was trying at 7:00 a.m. to get our room ready for the next guest!

Unless you're suffering from jetlag, and must have a few hours sleep before an early morning connecting flight, do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. My family and I agreed that it would have been well worth it to have spent a few extra minutes on a short shuttle ride to a hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mydogtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Leonardtown, MD
12
Reviewed September 12, 2005

Service - excellent
Amenities - excellent
Room Size - huge
Everything was outstanding, plus it is attached to the Bangkok Airport so you can walk there.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

Neutral / average is just the way to describe this hotel. Not at all worth the $200+ room rate I paid upon my arrival. My deluxe room was very below average for the rate. What looked like a nice king size bed was actually two twin beds pushed together hidden by a bulky comforter. The wait for check out in the morning was disturbing as only two staff were working the front desk while others roamed around looking busy. It took a good 20 minutes just to check out. I'll choose a different hotel next time! I was deceived by the convenience of the close location to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank STLGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

as to the convenience, it is super convenient - you can walk to the hotel from the airport. the rooms are ordinary there is no view. but you can get a train to bangkok for less than $1. if like me you had a fligth to catch at 7 am you can walk out of the hotel at 5am instead of 4am if you stay in town. you dont stay here because is a fantiastic hotel but you do because of the convenience. the queues can be horrendous - do a quick check out proceedure.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.3 mi away
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
#347 of 887 in Bangkok
82 reviews
3.5 mi away
Miracle Grand Convention Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mida Hotel Don Mueang Airport Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Centra by Centara Government Complex Hotel & Convention Centre Chaeng Watthana
16.7 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#330 of 887 in Bangkok
686 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok
Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok
#349 of 887 in Bangkok
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok

Address: 333 Chert Wudthakas Road | Don Mueng, Bangkok 10210, Thailand (Formerly Amari Airport Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#142 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#151 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $62 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok is an open door to the endless adventure that awaits in Bangkok and beyond. Located just north of the downtown area and adjacent to the capital's domestic airport, Amari Don Muang offers first-rate accommodation, fine dining, and service excellence to make your trip comfortable and smooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splitty, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Don Muang Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Don Muang Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing