We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok
Ranked #164 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 994 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There really is only one reason to stay here and that is the airport. It could not be closer with a mere 5 minute walk across a skyway to the check in. Easy! Not easy was the check in. Very nice and friendly reception staff but...you need to speed this up Amari as it was soooooo slow.

We stayed twice in the past 2 weeks and this time we got a basic (superior?) room that was tired and badly in need of a freshen up. It was pretty poor actually and nothing at all like the room shown on the net. The bathroom though very clean also needed a makeover.

Breakfast is just great with everything you could need with both east and west well catered for. It is one of the best breakfasts we have had in Thailand/Asia. (Hotel owners in Burma?Myanmar take note of what a breakfast should be for the prices you are charging!)

We had a good deal from the internet of about €40 Euro, and overall we would, and did, stay again. It was good value and we had no real issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    1,283
    443
    104
    60
See reviews for
518
978
332
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ferntree Gully, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a stopover between flights, two times. We found a free shuttle service between the two international airports that dropped us right at the door of the airport, then we walked across the covered walkway suspended above the highway that connects the airport to the hotel.
The rooms were clean, the beds comfy and tea and coffee facilities were provided along with robes and slippers for the duration of your stay. The pool was clean and although the restaurant was expensive compared to other Thai food prices, there were other options like the display fridge in the cafe/lobby area where you could get sandwiches and pastries etc for about 40baht (~$1).
Factoring in the savings and stress of getting taxis from other hotels to this airport, we found the prices fair and it was a breeze to walk from the hotel and be in the airport in less than 2 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
283 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are flying in or out of Don Muang airport (which you have to if you are flying with the troublesome airline Air Asia), then this hotel is the perfect place to stay. We stayed here because we were on an early flight out, which meant all we had to do was wake up and get across the walkway to the airport to check in.

I think the bed and pillow were the most comfortable of anything I have slept in. Also the room was extremely quiet and had a very peaceful sleep. If you want to relax the pool is a great place to do this or you several channels on the TV. I enjoy watching the Australia Network and this was on their TV as well.

All in all, a great place to stay for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scobie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here because I had a flight out of Don Muang at 7.00am in the morning. Landed at the new arport but Air Asia now fly out of Don Muang so had to catch the shuttle across. (takes about 50 mins in light late night traffic) Room was good - quite roomy and reasonable, and very clean. Was also pretty cheap so good value. There is covered passageway connecting hotel to the airport and it takes about 5 minutes to walk across and straight into the airport foyer. Perfect place to stay for the commuter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotoday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We checked-in late or early morning after transfer from Suvarnabhumi to Don Muang...overall worked well until breakfast time...staff dont really know how to handle guest breakfast administration...we reserved room with breakfast but they dont seem to understand and tried to bill us after we wer done eating. The same thing we have seen other guest been treated...very poor hotel system...some with buffet and some not in the same location...rediculous!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel located right opposite of Don Muang Airport. It is connected by an overhead bridge to airport. Overall, convenient location if u need to be near to airport to catch your next flight. Room is quite spacious with necessities provided however room was quite dirty, with stains on the comforter, dust everywhere. Service was lacking, front desk was unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Amari Airport was a great hotel in its day. Now its a bit run down and showing its age but it's great value for the price and location.
Bed room was good, but the bathroom was not so good. Problems with water in the shower, it kept going really hot making a shower not fun !
Overall , if you have a flight from the airport and want something close and value. I would stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the Grand deluxe, worth the 400 baht extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.4 mi away
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
#385 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Miracle Grand Convention Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mida Hotel Don Mueang Airport Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Residence Hotel
Casa Residence Hotel
#508 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Mueang Airport Modern Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok

Property: Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok
Address: 333 Chert Wudthakas Road | Don Mueng, Bangkok 10210, Thailand (Formerly Amari Airport Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#151 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok is an open door to the endless adventure that awaits in Bangkok and beyond. Located just north of the downtown area and adjacent to the capital's domestic airport, Amari Don Muang offers first-rate accommodation, fine dining, and service excellence to make your trip comfortable and smooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Don Muang Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Don Muang Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing