We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, reliable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent location, reliable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were here for 2 nights on business. It is an old hotel, but very established and well-kept. I loved the old-ish décor that reminded me of a grand old lady.

The room was spacious and comfortable. Bed was great. Loved the bananas they left daily on the complimentary fruit platter. Bathroom was spacious, strong shower. A good quality room for a good night's sleep.

The steam and sauna facilities were nice. In the ladies' dressing room at the pool level, there is a steam and sauna room along with hot and cold dipping pools. Lovely.

BTS was about 5 minutes walk away, uncovered. Next door there is a Starbucks, McDonald's, some other eateries as well as a local supermarket. It is also very close to where I make my work shirts, Gulati.

Would I come back? Maybe, although my first choice would be Sheraton Sukhumvit with a covered walkway to BTS Asok.

Room Tip: We had a corner room where the window is small, and the tv was located at an awkward angle from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear fong28

Thank you for recognizing the JW Marriott Bangkok. I appreciate the favorable comments you have made about the guest rooms, the bathroom and the shower as well as the comfort of the bed. I am glad that you have also enjoyed the Gym and the Hotel Spa.

There are indeed many shops in close vicinity of the hotel of both, local and international flair.

Thank you once more and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    500
    142
    32
    28
See reviews for
251
517
300
898
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

J.W. is, by definition, supposed to be Marriot's signature brand - this hotel does not live up to it.

Check-in on the club floor was very slow (albeit friendly), despite having booked through the Marriot website and their having all my details.

Room is nice - large enough, relatively modern, clean. Very comfortable bed. Good amenities. Like many other reviewers, my only complaint about the room is the shower - and like the response to other reviews, I'm confident mine will get no action. For whatever reason, the shower door leaks, allowing water to cover the bathroom floor. Secondly, the engineers appear to have come up with acoustic alchemy in designing a shower drain that amplifies the sound of draining water so much that it sounds more like a freight train passing each time you shower (small complaint but very easy to fix).

Several previous reviews note poor service quality in the lounge. Nothing appears to have been done. The lounge is large, with breakfast and evening snacks served. The staff are friendly, but there is no management whatsoever and the few service staff (normally only 2) are incapable of serving the guests and clearing the tables. I left something on a table, coming back 1/2 an hour later to collect it - the table was still not cleared! In total, therefore, the table remained uncleared for an hour. On several occasions staff accepted an order or coffee and it didn't come. The two chefs at the counter are very efficient. The fact that this issue has been raised several times before and is so obviously below standard says that management just does not care about feedback. Note to management: cockroaches on the buffet counter should probably be dealt with swiftly, not in the nonchalant, this-happens-so-often-I-can't-be-bothered way that is was.

This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at (including many in the Marriot stable all over the world) that does not allow club floor guests to use the "regular" breakfast facility. Why?

On one night, the electricity supply was cut to the hotel (apparently, to the whole area). The emergency lighting worked, but no other facilities in the room. The caused havoc with the main room control panel and TV. There was no communication from any hotel staff (unless you called the switchboard), except for a small notice at the lift lobby on exit (!). Again, management does not appear to know how to deal with issues. Where was the notice on entering the building, where was the note sent to rooms, or the voicemail? The next day, the problem persisted and for about an hour in the afternoon the lifts were not working either. The hotel staff struggled in vain to contain the problem; but at least they served drinks and cold towels to guests waiting in the lobby.

While the hotel is, in the absolute, a good hotel, my expectations of a Marriot - and particularly a JW Marriot - are much higher. This hotel is managed at the level of a Courtyard. The product is not bad, but there is evidence in so many areas that management and service leadership are gravely lacking. Let's hope someone from group level is reading this and action is taken.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear G T

I have read your review and discussed the issues and I am very concerned about the number of problems you have raised in your review.

May I first apologize for coming in short of your expectations and for not delivering the kind of service you have come to expect from a Marriott property.

The JW Marriott Bangkok has been often recognized for the hotel facilities and the service levels across the property. It is the hotel's aim to be as good in service delivery today as we have been yesterday and will be tomorrow.

I am taking the liberty respond to you off line to your email address in more details about the challenges you have encountered.

It would be a privilege to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Bangkok once again in future, enabling us to restore your faith in the hotels product and services.

Sincerely Yours

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel about 4 separate occasions now. I can honestly say that this is a great hotel to stay in. The staff are terrific. Incredibly polite and courteous. They 'wai' every time you approach or pass them.
As for the hotel itself, it's very clean. The executive room is first class. the gym is very good and the pool is pretty big and good for a swimming session. It catches the sun from about 11am onwards. despite being right in the city it's a tranquil place to relax.
The hotel is well placed next to Sukhumvit Rd and you have everything at you doorstep. The Nana BTS stop is a short walk. This is the overhead rail network that opens up the whole of Bangkok to you..
So if you don't like incredibly humble, polite, helpful staff working in a really nice hotel then don't stay here!

Room Tip: Round the corner from this hotel in Soi 4 you will find a number of Laundry shops. Their prices are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOMAROMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear GOMAROMA

It is very nice to read your review. I like to thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to readers of this forum.

You have mentioned the facilities, from the Executive Rooms, to the Gym and the Pool. You have mentioned to location and the proximity to the Skytrain (BTS).

Most importantly you have mentioned how graceful the associates are. It is indeed true to say that Thai people are very hospitable and humble. All the employees of the hotel take much pride in taking care of the guests. They know that a happy guest will return again and again.

I do hope to be able and welcome you back to the JW Marriott Bangkok soon again as well. Thank you for your review once more and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stay at JW Marriott for business, of course I expect only goodness from it. I get most goodness, but not all...

The lobby is not as grand as I would've imagine.. nevertheless you can still feel the nice ambiance in the lobby.. They have nice display of flowers..

Room is spacious and clean. I didn't get king bed, so I settle with double bed - same quality of bed I suppose.. can't complain! Bathroom however is a disappointment; the bathroom itself is spacious, but shower are is too tiny, I am an Asian girl and I thought that was too small for me to move around so I guess for Caucasian guy, you would rather enjoy the bathtub. The drainage in the shower room didn't work well, water is flooding whenever I shower. I mentioned this to receptionist during check out, and she agreed to it, she said, I am not the 1st one to raise this complain - so better fix it!

Breakfast and lunch buffet are excellent! Various choices and they all look appealing and fresh!

So apart from the shower, the rest are up to their standard.. just that shower matter the most for me :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngelencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Ngelencer

Thank you for taking time and trouble to post a review on this forum. It is nice to see the complimentary comments you have for the guest room size and cleanliness and for the spacious bathroom.

It is with regret to learn that you encountered some issues in the shower. I have taken good note of your remarks. The hotel is currently in progress of checking the shower drains in all the guest rooms as part of a regular maintenance program. I am confident that the sort of problem you have encountered will be overcome through these checks.

I like to thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Bangkok and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Although this is not my first review of the JW Marriott at Sukhumvit Soi 2, I think it may be useful to update my previous review with a statement that in this reporter's opinion, the JW remains the best value in Bangkok, especially for those interested in being near a Skytrain and being in the Sukhumvit neighborhood. Since my last review, I have stayed at a couple of other hotels (including the old, tired, and faded Dusit Thani) in Bangkok. My mistake. My experience over the years with many hotels is that at times, management neglects to maintain standards or lets things start to fade. Not so with the JW Marriott. The beds are better than ever, with soft white sheets on a perfect mattress, topped with a down comforter. A practical tip if your budget permits: The Executive Level is a legitimate upgrade if one can take advantage of the amenties. I was there two months ago and the sweet and helpful staff could not have been nicer, greeting me as on old friend, getting me drinks, seeing whatever I needed. A special thanks to "Aphinya" and "Babe" and "Sky" for being there. If you want to go on a full size PC (versus using WiFi on your cell phone or iPad) for free internet use and free printing, and if you can take advantage of the free breakfasts and free dinners and free drinks all day, the extra cost for the Executive Level may be well worth it. Bottom Line: If you ask me, with its health club-quality gym and great pool, I would say that the JW is just about the perfect place to stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The high rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M in L.A.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear M. in L.A.

Thank you for posting a very nice and thoughtful review and for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to fellow travelers.

I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the JW Marriott Bangkok. I am particularly happy about your comments about the bedding standards and the service consistency across the hotel.

The associates at the Lounge are doing a great job in taking care of their guests. Indeed, they are taking much pride in their day to day work.

Thank you for your loyalty and for returning to the JW Marriott Bangkok again and again.

Best regards


Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just had three nights here, not my first time. The staff are extremely helpful and polite and the rooms are comfortable. The housekeeping is amazing, room was spotless everyday. Keep up the good work.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Colin L

It is with much pleasure to see the review you have kindly posted on this forum and I like to thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok as the place to stay in Bangkok.

It is gratifying to note that you have come to appreciate the consistently high service standards at the hotel.

I am looking forward to welcome you back soon again and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice Hotel stay. Hotel has all desired amenities for a global chain. Located in the heart of Bangkok, close to shopping and lots of eateries. We had no negative experiences at this hotel. Excellent price to value ratio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacombs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear jacombs70

I like to thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to readers of this forum. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#61 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2 | Klongtoey, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#55 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and substance combine for tremendous results at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. Located on the famed Sukhumvit Road, our luxury hotel offers travelers an unbeatable city centre location from which to explore Bangkok. Arrive with ease - we're just steps from the BTS SkyTrain - and check into our modern, thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. Thanks to our luxury bedding, marble bathrooms, and an array of modern conveniences, you'll immediately feel pampered. Spend your days touring the plethora of local attractions, or take time to relax at our on-site spa and health club. Foodies will delight in our impressive assortment of restaurants, which include award-winning buffets at Marriott Café, sushi at Tsu Japanese Restaurant, and fresh pastries at Bangkok Baking Company. Moreover, with over 15,000 square feet of flexible venue and meeting room space, we're a fantastic choice for business and personal events alike. Come discover a unique brand of luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing