We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - located out of the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #16 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This is a very nice hotel, and really is a resort hotel with good grounds and a large swimming pool.

It is located a little way from the central area of Bangkok - which can be a good thing or a bad thing. It means you are a little way away from the bustle in the centre, and of course it allows for a more spacious feel to the hotel. But it is a 15 minutes boat ride, call it 25 minutes by the time you have allowed to walk to the landing stage and a few minutes to be on the safe side, to get to the position you would be if your hotel was in the centre. And then you have as long as it takes to get from the dropping off point to where you want to get to. Having said that, we actually quite enjoyed the boat journey - just be aware of the location when you book.

It's a big hotel, 400-odd rooms, but the place never really feels crowded - mainly because of the large area of the hotel. Staff are universally very friendly and helpful. When we told the concierge that we wanted to eat at Vertigo restaurant above the Banyan Tree, he suggested going to The Breeze at the Lebua Hotel - it's only on the 52nd floor, but the view is still amazing and the food excellent. And their bar, on the 61st floor, was equally stunning. An excellent recommendation.

If you are a Marriott Club member, then the Club Lounge is a delight. It's just off the lobby, very smartly done, and with good service from the staff there.

Overall, it''s a good hotel, and I would recommend it. Next time though I might try the Lebua.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKtraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,947 - 3,953 of 6,383 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed here from the 14th - 18th October,first impressions are fantastic,large hotel,spotlessly clean with staff so attentive to your needs it was staggering,our room was situated in the corner on the 4th floor overlooking the mall,Bangkok,helicopter pad and the river,enormous balcony which was great for the kids(aged 5 &1).i cannot give a review of the restaurants in the mall attached to the hotel as the food was that good we never ate out,the buffet was a special treat(don't get big plate fulls otherwise you will not be able to try everything,and you will want to try everything),the food for the children was great,no problems for them and they loved everything),the chocolate cafe is a chocoholics dream(caramel chocolate shake a must),Trader vic's and Benehana's both awesome,the boat ride to the sky train was pleasant and not long,we did it after dinner just to take the kids for a ride on the boat,the food is expensive by Thai terms but we did not mind paying the extra for great food,great service and great atmosphere,it did rain every day but as quick as it started it stopped,its that hot it drys so fast you would not know,excursions we booked through our agent when we arrived here which turned out to be an expensive mistake,do it all yourself by taxi,sky train and save a fortune,we did the Grand Temple,floating market both great for kids,changing money turned out to be a far better rate in the city than at the airport and ATM's are everywhere,all in-all the hotel is a definate recommendation which i will gladly go back to.(TIP:- don't bother with the drinks in the room,there's a little mini-mart in the mall,get your drinks and snacks there,far cheaper)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank besty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

This is like the first time in 15 years that payal & i managed to get away from home without the kids! So was meant to be special. BKK is a familiar place for us, so this trip was really about R&R

Stayed at the Marriott Spa & Resorts on the banks of the Cho Praya river. It's a nice enough hotel - but without being in the same class as Bangkok's best 5 stars. Still the junior suite was large and the bathroom substantial. Food was so-so overall once you were done with breakfast. Biggest problem - the boat you need to get to the Taksin Bridge pier - which acts as the BRT link to downtown (sukhumvit, siam etc). better to stay @ the peninsula or oriental i think.

Must Do's
1) Banyan Tree's spa packages. Steep - costed between 4000-8000 baht for a 2 to 3 hour session. They have a menu larger than many restaurant menus! But the wife loved it enough to go back for one more the next day! Must book ideally a day in advance.
2) While she got spa, he got some lovely cocktails in the breeze at top of the banyan tree... a bar & dining area called Vertigo. Great views on all sides specially of Lumphini Park (if it is pre-dusk). Am told the sirocco @ Lebua is better but they were sold out for 7 days!
3) Jazz lovers must do the Bamboo bar at the Oriental Hotel. Live music starts at 10pm I think. Goes till 1am. Its a nicely cosy place and the band 4 nights ago was very good. Also try Brown Sugar - bordering Lumpini Park on Soi Salasin. It was declared among the world's best bars by newsweek - but in 1997. It's still got plenty of character!
4) A night in Silom Soi 4 is a must. This is a gay hangout - but such buzz that you shd not miss it even if you're straight. We sat outside at the telephone bar - and had surprisingly good food. A huge meal for 2 with a few beers cost about a 1000 baht. Great value. When leaving walk away from Soi 4 and get a cab... the guys outside Soi 4 are just waiting to rip you off!

We're waiting for our next time in BKK - will stay in the middle of the city this time!

1  Thank nandieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

There are days that I wish I could live in Thailand, then I remember that I live in the most beautiful place on earth......Hawaii

Stayed: January 2006, traveled with friends
1  Thank mmlee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in September. I was lucky to have great weather this time around. Have stayed here in the past and found the service sometimes inconsistent. First stay I was wowed, subsequent stays varied from okay to downright bad. Decided to give one more try. This time however, was a treat. Was upgraded to a junior suite, spotless and the bed was great. There was a slight stale odor in the room, but this was addressed immediately and constantly followed up upon. Housekeeping staff was definitely on top of things, room was always cleaned to pristine condition. Throughout my stay I was addressed by name. The executive lounge is great, staff there is the best of the best, always remembered my preferences and could not have been more helpful or efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. Loved that snacks were available throughout the day and the complimentary happy hour included different themed appetizers each night. Given the choice of complimentary breakfast in the lounge or the buffet. Chose the buffet and it does not disappoint. While not as grand as in the past, still one of the largest I have seen. Service not so great at breakfast buffet, plates not cleared, sometimes hard to get wait staff's attention. Kind of a "you're on your own since it is a buffet" attitude. This was pervasive throughout my stay. Ate in the Italian restaurant one night. A little pricey by Thai standards (you are at a resort however, so normal) but service was incredible and food was great. My biggest not so positive was the pool service. Pool servers were always standing around but never tending to guests. One had to track them down to get drinks or food service. I have noticed this every stay. One waiter (whom I remember from past visits) is never friendly and always seems like everything is a bother. Staff at the Longtail bar (great for late evening) however, were just the opposite - Willy, Nutawan et al. took great care of everyone, remembered drinks from previous visits and were a plethora of information about Thailand. They were also very entertaining and provided Thai lessons. Location of this property is fine, I love the resort feel and tranquility. The attached shopping center was very convenient. Water taxi to sky train was great, ran frequently enough and cold towels were a bonus. I much prefer taking the sky train than sitting in traffic and I did have a driver at my disposal. I get the feeling that the hotel is really trying to up the ante with their service. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerobik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Stayed here two nights with my parents. We all loved it, the lush plants seen everywhere. It's a very relaxing and comfortable resort for vacationers.

Breakfast place is beautiful with river view and offer variety of foods. We also enjoyed the business lounge, cookies, cakes, fresh fruit available all day round.

The room is spacious. For the corner suite, the balcony is huge. All our small requests are taken care quickly, service is beyond expectation.

Only drawback I noticed is that the water from the river flowing through the hotel smells bad. The river itself doesn't smell at all but the water flowing inside the hotel seems not circulating. It didn't bother that much, but noticeable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YI_IVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Very nice hotel with a resort like feeling and some interesting thai architecture but on their website Marriott says "a short 15 minutes to the city " when in fact it took us one evening 1h30 by taxi to get back to the resort as we were stuck in the traffic jams. The hotel is located outside of the city and there are no closeby public transportation accessible, it is also on the west side of the bangkok river which means the city can only be accessed by car or taxi going across the very busy bridges. The location really put us off and we wanted to go to various places in Bangkok for shopping or eating and each time it took us a considerable amount of time. As a resort to stay at it is nice but then again why not head for Phuket or Samui? So overall we would not really recommend this to travellers although their prices (understandably) are lower than other luxury hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edgarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,622 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 889 in Bangkok
6,643 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 889 in Bangkok
4,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $124 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing