We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #22 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very very good!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Although it took some back and forth in terms of emails, we finally opted for the Anantara Premier Suite with 2 rollaway beds for our 2 girls 8 and 6, which worked out wonderfully. The suite (we had 563 which has views of the river and the pool area) is spacious and well appointed with a large bathroom including a rain shower and separate bath, a second wc, a dining area, a sitting area and the master bedroom. The resort is beautiful with lots of green areas, ponds and the central swimming pool. There were multiple families wih kids making it easy for our girls to make new friends. But more importantly, all the staff are constantly smiling and asking after your wellbeing. Wonderful service at the poolbar with reasonable prices and a very good breakfast spread. The resort also has its own boat, which makes it easy to get to Asiatique at night (where you can find many restaurants and bars) as well as the central pier, from where you can easily get to the major tourist attractions (wat pho, wat arun, the grand palace). Very friendly bot staff that will give you a refreshing towel upon returning, which is very welcome after a day in the sun. Very good Spa as well. My wife had the full body massage and came back very relaxed and happy. We tried the BBQ buffet which is accompanied by traditional thai dancers, which was excellent despite the rain ( that evening only). We did not try the other restaurants. There are, however, some areas, which the hotel can improve. The sliding doors to the balcony facing the river are old and do not close well, which means that you can clearly hear the engines of the barges that come close by during the night. That also means that you can hear the music from the Trader Vic bar on the ground floor when they have outdoor music (not every night luckily). The rain shower has a hot and cold faucet, not a modern thermostat, which makes it difficult to get the right temperature. The third issue, and this one was really dragging down the overall experience, is that we were forced to sit in the lobby during cocktail hours because Kasara rules state that children below 12 are not permitted in the Kasara lounge, even if only 2 or 3 tables are occupied. It makes you feel a second class citizen no matter what the explanation. There are other options to 'control' kids that do not behave well.... We stayed at Sofitel Silom at our previous visit to Bangkok and that hotel is more suitable for couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mddrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear mddrijver,
Thank you for taking time to detail your experience with us. First of all , please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings that you had highlighted, these have been looked into and appropriate steps have been taken to ensure that procedures are in place for a delightful experience.

Allow me to also thank you for the positive comments and for appreciating the little details that had made a great difference to your stay with us.

Please call on me on your next visit to Bangkok, as it would be my pleasure to welcome you personally and to ensure that you have another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,021
    1,337
    274
    81
    30
See reviews for
1,573
2,490
249
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Although we were only there for two nights we will never forget what a fabulous hotel it is. When we arrived the room was a "Wow" factor. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and the bed was made up with two towel swans, flowers, fruit and a chocolate cake (which was delicious by the way) and a card from the Hotel Manager wishing us a Happy Anniversary. We were bowled over. The staff were very kind and friendly. On our first afternoon there we went on the hotel ferry, rode the sky train and had a go on a tuk tuk. Grand Palace is spectacular but very busy. Well worth a visit. Although after three temples we saw a lot of Buddhas. We went to see a show whilst there and to see the thai dancing was really great. Telling the story about the different regions. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had the Deluxe Room for a special occasion which had a shower, bath and a phone in the toilet. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Suzanne P,
Thank you for celebrating your very special day with us, and it is wonderful to know that our warm gracious hospitality had added to a memorable experience.

Please allow me to again, wish you both a very Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary, and we look forward to celebrating more memorable occasions with you on your next travels to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Anantara whilst in Bangkok for 4 nights on the way to Samui. I chose the hotel mainly because it was a little out of town, I didn't want a hotel amongst the hustle and bustle. I'm so glad I chose this hotel. The hotel is however very much a corporate hotel with event facilities & a huge car park.

We had a room with a view over the river which we paid for as the pictures made it look lovely, I wouldn't do this again as the river was an awful brown colour.

All the staff were lovely, breakfast was good with lots of options. We ate in the restaurant once at the BBQ night & it was okay- nothing special.

We had an early flight and left the hotel at 6am- the breakfast take away bag we were given was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear kaylz39,
Thank you for sharing your experience and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our riverside Resort, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Although we cater for corporate events, we are very much a resort style hotel, and may I add, with our lush gardens and surroundings, the only Resort in the heart of Bangkok!

Thank you too for appreciating the little things we do that had made a difference to your experience with us.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had the chance to discover this lovely hotel whilst staying in Bangkok this month. The lobby is stunning. Lovely staff, very professional. Don't hesitate to enjoy some cocktails at Trader Vicks, the bartender is very nice and will be happy to serve you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Globtrotter1605,
Thank you for a lovely review and for highlighting the professionalism of our associates and the cocktails at Trader Vic’s! You will be happy to know that we now have some fabulous bands playing at Trader Vic’s - so you have to visit us again!
So, I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzwil, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here again and we felt like home! One of the best Hotels in Bangkok.
Great and friendly staff, like or even better as the Anantara Style.
And the Italian Food at the Brio's is one of the best in Thailand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear TP,
Thank you for your kind words of praises especially the mention of our Tuscan-style Italian restaurant Brio. I have shared this wonderful comment with Chef Danilo and his team at Brio.
When your travels bring you back to Bangkok, you know that you have your ‘home by the riverside’!

I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was our stop over in Bangkok before moving onto chiang mai. It was perfect. We had a family room, a little small with 2 double beds, however we weren't in the room for much. The pool is fantastic - massive and open really late. There's plenty to chose from for food - it's a little bit corporate and set up for weddings - but service is really good. It's on the water obviously and there's a free boat service making it easy to get around.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Damian B,
I am glad to read that you and your family had an enjoyable time with us and that the highlight of your stay was our amazing pool, which is beautifully surrounded by lush greenery. I am also pleased that you loved our dining experiences and the convenience of our complimentary shuttle boat service.

I hope you will return to stay with us again for another amazing stay!

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Sitting at the airport waiting for my flight back to Australia and I just want to turn back around again! Just finished a 3 night stay at Anantara Riverside and I fell in love with the place straight away. The staff are all just so wonderful, with nothing too much of a bother. With all the restaurants and bars this hotel has everything you could want. My family and I went on tours of temples, floating markets and even got to ride an elephant during the day but it was so lovely to come back in the afternoon and sit by the pool drinking cocktails and just simply relaxing.
The breakfast at the Riverside Terrace at the hotel was simply the best breakfast I have ever eaten - with so much variety even the fussiest eater would be happy!
This was my first visit to Thailand but certainly won't be my last. I will definitely be visiting Anantara Riverside again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Joanna J,
Thank you for making my day by sharing your Anantara experience with so much appreciation. I am glad we were able to make your stay truly memorable with our genuine hospitality and amazing facilities which include amongst a host a facilities, our fabulous dining options, leisure activities and local experiences.

I look forward to welcoming you again when your travels bring you back to this fabulous city.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 863 in Bangkok
8,211 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 863 in Bangkok
4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing