We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #23 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Heaven in Bangkok”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were here for a wedding. Staff is polite, helpful, always smiling. Impossible to have this resort atmosphere in the city so the shuttle is a minor inconvenience. Beautiful, well-kept grounds contribute to mental tranquility. Breakfast buffet is extensive with breakfast, and what I would consider lunch items. Advise mosquito repellent for any outdoor dining.

I did not use the spa but heard from others how great it is, although it's expensive.
Nice gym although I did not see any wet wipes or towels to wipe the gym equipment after use.
It is accessible 24 hours, and there's an attendant at 6am.
Nice pool, large, can do long laps, and the deep end is 10 feet deep.

Our room had some minor issues-towel bar and soap dish/grab bar loose, no body wash in the
container, which did not dispense. They were promptly addressed.

We got a city view, with a view of construction going on-it did not bother us, although they did work on a Sunday. Not sure what is being done there.

Pretty much like heaven in Bangkok

Room Tip: May want a river view, but probably will have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear mukhi,
Thank you for your constructive comments which have been looked into, with immediate measures already in place. Thank you for also mentioning that the shortcomings you faced during your stay were addressed promptly.

For your information, our new Avani Hotel is currently in progress next to our Resort and is expected to be completed at the end of 2015, which will also see the availability of a new Shopping Mall in the same complex.

I am glad you enjoyed your ‘Heaven in Bangkok’……

It would be wonderful to see you again.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,110
    1,362
    277
    82
    31
See reviews for
1,634
2,517
257
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I and a friend stayed three nights in Feb in a riverside view room, on the last stop of our holiday before returning home. First impressions were very good with attentive reception staff and very helpful concierge. Our room was a good size with a decent size bathroom, furnishings were fine but expected a little better. Not sure if the riverside view is worth any extra as hotel is set a fair way back.The hotel is situated on the opposite side of the river to most of the attractions but has an excellent courtesy shuttle boat that runs every half hour to the Skytrain station and river boat stop which takes approx 15 minutes. One major plus for this hotel is the large pool area, with plenty of beds and parasols and shade by the trees, perfect after a hot day sight seeing. If you have breakfast included with your room you won't be disappointed, it has one of biggest selections I have ever seen with very good service. The hotel has a good selection of bars and restaurants but in particular a great Italian one which serves superb pizza, in the unlikely event that you're craving western food!.The Anatara is the perfect place to retreat to in a busy city like Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Colin D,
Thank you for your positive comments on our Resort and our facilities. It is good to know that you enjoyed our swimming pool and its facilities, as well as dining at our restaurants. Chef Danilo, our Italian Chef at Brio is thrilled to hear your great review about his Pizza; and did you know that Danilo is a World Pizza Champion?

Yes, we are the perfect hideaway, located on the waterfront of the majestic Chao Phraya River, as you have rightly highlighted.

I hope you will return for another wonderful Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wow what a lovely hotel, on the river banks of Bangkok, a great location 35 mins from the airport, its own river transport to take you to the Sky train, only £4.00 for taxi out of the city to the hotel,

about the Hotel, which is split in to 3 wings but all joined together, in a great location on the riverside, with several great restaurants and a hip and trendy bar which plays live music, there was a cuban band on while i stayed there, great to listen too, the breakfast resturant was superb a great selection with good coffee lots of juices and fresh fruits eggs bacon etc, plus Thai food, the staff make you feel really welcome and always there to help, i had problems with an onward tour, with another company they were straight on the case at 05.30 chased the driver and operations and after several calls on my behalf all was sorted,

they have regular shows on and the evening buffet was first class, a massive selection of different foods and freshly cooked dishes, too much choice, but the Thai green Curry and Massaman soup were outstanding

the pool is great catches the sun, and pool attendants are quick of the mark if you need another drink

catch the late time boat over to the market or go into the centre for night life

Room Tip: i had room 326, near the lift above the breakfast lounge entrance, not much of a view thou,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numptydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear numptydiver,
Thank you for sharing your Anantara Bangkok Riverside experience so wonderfully, highlighting the location, the restaurants and bars, the food and the efforts of our associates in making your stay comfortable and personal.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself and my husband had booked into another hotel in Bangkok but with all the protests going on in early February decided to change to the Anantara at the last minute. We are so glad that we did! We had initially thought it might be a bit too far out of the city but the location was perfect. The hotel shuttle boat goes regularly and takes you free of charge over to the nearest stop for the river express and the Sky train. After a day walking round temples in the heat, we found it lovely to sit having a drink or meal overlooking the river. The hotel felt more like a beach resort than a city hotel, with a lovely big pool surrounded by lots of greenery.

The Thai hospitality is amazing and we found this to be no exception at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to help. As it was our honeymoon we were very lucky to get a free upgrade to a Junior suite. Check in was done in our room so we didn't even see reception!

The room was huge with a king size bed and the bathroom had a walk in rain shower which was pretty special. We didn't get to sit on it in the end but there was also a fairly large balcony. The room amenities couldn't be faulted with a kettle as well as a coffee machine, large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel which were refilled daily and plenty of bottles of complimentary water were left for us every day.

The breakfast buffet was very varied and catered to Western, Thai and Japenese tastes. There wasn't anything I could possibly think of that wasn't provided! We ate at Trader Vics, the Riverside buffet restaurant and at the pool bar. All were very reasonably priced considering it was a hotel, although of course you can eat and drink much cheaper if you go to restaurants in the city or street stalls. The Mai Tai cocktails are a definite must!

We organised a private transfer from the airport through the hotel. The journey was a very relaxing introduction to the city and for us took away any stress after a long flight. Cold bottles of water, refreshing face towels and information on the hotel were provided, which we thought were all nice touches.

I would definitely go back to this hotel if we ever return to Bangkok and wouldn't heistate in recommending it to others. It's a great place to relax and to feel like you are out of the hustle and bustle of the city, whilst having all the attractions within easy reach.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear ms_sunshine,
I am pleased to hear about your experience with us at the Anantara Bangkok Riverside, and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. We appreciate the fact that you have recognized the little details, from the convenience of our shuttle boat services, our tranquil location, our restaurants, to our signature Mai Tais’ by our very own mixologist and the efforts of our associates who strive to always make our valued guests feel extra special every time.

Please let me know when your travels bring you back to Bangkok as it would be wonderful to greet you personally.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff all so helpful, amazing breakfast buffet with international food of a high quality. Rooms, pool, pool bar really beautiful. staff you meet around the hotel ( particularly Sunny) really friendly and efficient.
Good Italian restaurant in the hotel with great personal service from the chef - just ask for 'Montalbano'! He will make you what you want.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjiboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Benjiboy2013,
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in particular appreciated our friendly and efficient associates. Yes, Chef Danilo at Brio is all about personal service, as we all are at Anantara Bangkok Riverside.

Please visit us again for another great experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my third stay at this hotel and this is the only hotel I want to stay in when in Bangkok. All the staff was super nice and polite - from the reception to the room maid. Pool area is like a oasis in the middle of a hot and humid city. The breakfast is perfect.

Some may consider that the hotel is a little bit outside of everything, but that is not true. The hotel shuttle boat takes you in 15 mins to the nearest skytrain station. It is often the fastest and definitely the most comfortable ways of moving around.

The only negative thing is that the old shopping mall is gone and they are building a new one at the moment. The construction work do not disturb at all, but the options of having a quick lunch or snack are now limited to the hotel restaurants, which are a little bit expensive. The new shopping center should be ready in 2015 and then the problem is solved.

I highly recommend a stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlliHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear OlliHelsinki,
I sincerely value your loyalty and thank you for your kind support in choosing to stay with when in Bangkok. You are right, a new shopping mall together with our new Avani Hotel will be ready end of 2015; but until then we highly recommend a visit to Asiatique, the night bazaar which is across from our Resort for a quick shopping or a change of dining options.

I look forward to your fourth visit…

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Anyone who has ever been to Bangkok knows that it is not a peaceful, glamorous city! So staying at the Anantara provided us with an oasis from the fast pace of Bangkok. The room was absolutely beautiful, and we were upgraded to a 'suite' (a slightly bigger room). The customer service was unsurpassed. The spa was wonderful… the best Thai massage Ive ever had! The pool area was stunning, surrounded by palm trees and plenty of lounges to lie around and relax. We were at a conference at the Anantara, and the staff were incredibly helpful towards the attendees of the conference. The breakfast at The Market Place was a wonderful buffet, with every imaginable breakfast dish from around the world. I would highly recommend the Anantara. I do not agree that this hotel is worn down. It is beautiful and a well run hotel/spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Jillkc11,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am happy that you enjoyed our riverside hideaway! Your recognition of Anantara Spa, the swimming pool, the restaurants and especially the services rendered by our associates are greatly appreciated.

I hope I will have the privilege of welcoming you back for another wonderful Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 866 in Bangkok
8,284 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 866 in Bangkok
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing