We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable resort to stay at to begin our Thailand experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #21 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable resort to stay at to begin our Thailand experience.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This resort was awesome! From the time we arrived to our checkout we were treated like royalty.
This place was across the river from the hustle & bustle of Bangkok. It was quiet, clean, & food was amazing! It was the perfect start to our Thailand travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawncally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,940
    1,310
    271
    81
    28
See reviews for
1,526
2,447
244
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,017)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our first and last nights of our holiday so did not spend much time there. Everything was well laid out and of good quality as you would expect and the rooms were good. We had a river view room and think it was worth it. Our only criticism, which is personal to us, is that the hotel is quite geared up to serve a western market. We found it harder to get traditional Thai food and after a poor experience the first night, went out on our second visit despite really preferring to crash out at the hotel

There was an enormous choice of buffet breakfast options which was overwhelming to the point of being off-putting, but not much of a focus on traditional Thai breakfast food.

We do appreciate that the food options laid out are most likely just responding to demand so probably suit the wider market, our views are really only based on our own preferences

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in january lovely hotel great location and rooms excellent. Old barges take you to Asiatique free of charge and many restaurants and bars. Nothing much outside hotel grounds great fir chill before flight back to UK

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Never stayed along the river, but the Anantara is perfect for a combination of Resort and City. The Brio Restaurant is excellent and so is the Benihani. Super staff allover the Resort, greeting each guest and you can see that they are well trained and well suited for this tough job. You wont be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelaroundtheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Anantara Riverside in their Premier Suite. The suite was enormous and well worth the upgrade. The views over the river from the balcony was beautiful.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and were very keen on offering suggestions and local knowledge on the sights around Bangkok. The free river taxi ran frequently and was very convenient.

The breakfast was vast and the poolside food was reasonable and tasty.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location was perfect. A little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Yvonne S,
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our perfect hideaway riverside paradise! Thank you for your positive comments and I hope I will have the privilege of welcoming you back for another delightful Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at the Anantara for a week on combined business/holiday, in a riverview room in the north wing, and thus avoided the construction noise from the site adjoining the west side of the resort. The view was nice, with a small table and two chairs on our balcony.

The Anantara has lovely rooms, comfortable beds, and excellent service. The pool is one of the nicest, with sun or shade options and the perfect temperature. There are plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, and a pool bar. I swam laps early in the morning (opens at 6:00), and at least once got kicked out at closing time. I'm sure I spent a total of several hours in the hot-tub as well.

The downside was the food. I thought the quality ranged from so-so (Italian) to excellent (breakfast buffet), but the prices were really quite pricey, even for a 5-star restaurant (e.g. 765 BHT for breakfast). Because I was feeling lazy, I would have liked to have just stayed at the resort for all my meals, but couldn't justify the cost and didn't find a broad enough selection. It was easy though, to take the shuttle across to the Asiatique night market for some dinner.

All-in-all, the staff were amazing and it was a lovely place. I just wish there were more moderate-cost food options.

Room Tip: For the foreseeable future, do not get a room with a west view, as that area is under construction e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB7264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear GB7264,
Thank you for the nice feedback on our Resort especially on the amazing river views from our guest rooms and our generous swimming pool with its detailed amenities. I thought I should share that the building works beside the Resort is that of our new Avani Hotel which is expected to be completed end of 2015.

I am concerned however to learn of your experience with our food quality and pricing. With 10 restaurants, bars and lounges, we are passionate about offering our guests the opportunity to savour our diverse culinary choices with various on-going promotions at very affordable pricing. Please accept my sincere apologies if these promotions were not made known to you during your stay.

Please let me know if you ever plan to stay with us again, as it would be my pleasure to ensure that you have a pleasant experience in both dining and stay.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

First time in Bangkok, we chose this hotel due to it's location across the river slightly away from the main hustle and bustle but on the water that connects so many main sights.
Check in was smooth and fast, service very friendly and professional. We didn't choose the Kasara Lounge extra and we didn't need to.

The first night we did the Manohra dinner cruise, yes, some say kitsch but for us it was a great way to end a long journey day, and the sights are so beautiful at night. Food was a very good introduction to Thai cuisine and the breeze along the river was soothing.

Every morning we started with a solid breakfast buffet, with a large variety of fruits, juices and yoghurt, pancakes, eggs, other hot and cold dishes. The Danish pastries are absolutely some of the best I have tasted with buttery soft flakiness.

First night sleep was interrupted by hammering and drilling noises from 9pm to 5am non-stop but when we went to the reception, they immediately offered to move our room although they did say they were unaware of any construction. We were a group of four with 2 rooms and both rooms had the same problem. We chose not to due to the hassle and from that night onward we had a solid sleep. Bed was comfortable, not too firm, many pillows to choose from. It was good to know if you had a problem, they were quick to be helpful.

Amenities in the room were great, 2 bottles of complimentary water, beautiful shampoo, conditioner and body wash and plenty of it (none of the small annoying tubes you find elsewhere).

The pool area was nice, every evening at 6pm they have a torch lighting ceremony.

The free shuttle boat across the river is every 30 minutes to Saphan Taksin pier where you can then get boats up the river, or BTS skytrain to other destinations, very easy. On the afternoon journey back we all got handed a cold towel which was a nice touch. Another shuttle will take you to Asiatique which is an upscale type market, good for shopping late at night or food.

Taxi to Wat Arun was about 75THB and the concierge desk called it for us and handed us a free map. Boat from Wat Arun to the pier across the river where the main boats go was only 3THB.

The only thing that would have made this hotel better is a folder or booklet with the hotel information in it (summary of boat times, hotel facilities and where they are, checkin check out times, activity times etc). You can find out about the facilities on the first channel on TV but the other basic information could only be found by calling reception or walking up to the desk or pier to see the boat times etc. Usually hotels tend to have this info handy in a folder for guests.

All in all, I would stay at this hotel again, beautiful oasis garden, nice pool and pool bar to end the day in and staff very friendly and so helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the poolside are apparently quieter than on the street side, they also face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Lisa_in_the_city,
Any General Manager would welcome such a lovely and encouraging review, thank you. You have so wonderfully shared the essence of our Resort’s hospitality, detailing each aspect of our service and facility as well as recognizing our associates’ passion for what they do best. I am pleased that you enjoyed our idyllic Manohra Dinner Cruise with our luxury Rice Barge and even took in the magnificence of our daily ‘Torch Lighting Ceremony’ by the pool.

As for the information booklet in the room, we place our weekly newsletter highlighting the activities for the week and our Resort’s Compendium in all our guest rooms. Further to receiving your comment, steps have been taken to ensure that these are always in place.

Thank you again for taking your time to write about your experience at our Resort, and I would like you to know that this is an added motivation for my team to strive even harder to exceed expectations.

I hope to catch up with you on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing