We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise in the run of business and snarl of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #22 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dormagen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A paradise in the run of business and snarl of Bangkok”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wonderful: A really good oasis in Bangkok. We want to come back - once more. It was really a paradise in the run of business and snarl of Bangkok. The service in the hotel was excellent and immediately.

Room Tip: We have had some little trouble with the bathroom (water oulet in the shower bungs up)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,021
    1,337
    274
    81
    30
See reviews for
1,573
2,490
249
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I had an amazingly relaxing 5 days 4 nights at the Anantara. Perfect for couples or families where you can relax in the spacious grounds of the hotel but go to the city when you want more excitement. The hotel decor is well designed and modern, many facilities and restaurants which have excellent food, much more expensive than in the city but not too bad for a high class hotel. The large pool is beautifully landscaped and has a pool bar but there are a lot of mosquitos so take spray. The hotel could do with spraying the plants around the pool area more. There is a gym with free classes and a spa area, although this is very expensive.

When we first arrived the reception was warm and easy. The room did not look like the pictures, we had the most basic room, maybe I looked at the photos or maybe there is not the photo of the basic room on line, not sure. The room was large but design a little dated, still very high quality and nice though, not bad. The balcony was lovely and from the 3rd floor (the lowest floor) we could see the river and the swimming pool which was nice.

The hotel is quite for from the CBD but they provide a convenient 15 minute ferry to the train and further boat connections. Actually we discovered it was quicker to get the boat than taxi during the day. Past 8/9pm at night you can get a taxi back from the city centre about 30 mins drive and very cheap.

Room Tip: Try to face the river, cant see the river from 3rd floor when in bed but can see from balcony, highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Melanie R,
Thank you for your kind compliments. We are pleased to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us especially the room with the views across the river and the swimming pool. It would be nice to welcome you to stay with us again on your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Despite being rather large, plenty of space to dwell in tranquility. Very spacious and utterly well thought out suite. Zero noise. Lobby bar unfortunately very quiet despite extraordinary performer Jessica Falk and well stirred generous Dry Martinis. VIP lounge / reception Staff extremely gracious and efficient. Dined late at the outdoors buffet (not usually a fan) which displayed astounding variety (incl. a delicious Mongolian grill) and attentive waitstaff. Enjoyable complementary boat shuttle to the sky train (takes a few minutes though) which staff was both amicable & polite despite the number of passengers. First Anantara experience; overall very positively surprised! Will return, thanks!

Room Tip: Guess a suite on high floor will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnusBvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A large resort with a big pool and a great view of the city. They are on the river, but have regular boats to the station and other attractions. The breakfast buffet is one of the best i have ever seen, with everything you want. If you have time do the river boat dinner it is great. Just loved our stay.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room if you can so much more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jcamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is very well positioned with a frequent taxi boat to Sathorn/Saphan Taksin. This allows you to connect to either the BTS Skytrain, or the Chao Phyraya Express (boat service). Both of these services are all you ever need to travel around Bangkok, while avoiding slow and expensive taxi's. The hotel also offers taxi boat services to a great night market (Asiatique), which I'd highly recommend.

If you'd prefer not to leave the hotel, it's the perfect place to relax, as it has many restaurants and an amazing pool! Definitely a hotel for families or couples! I generally don't like to go to the same hotel twice, but this hotel is all you'd ever need while visiting Bangkok. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear David L,
Thank you for your reviews and for your recommendation of our resort. Please let me know when you plan your next trip to Bangkok as it would be my pleasure to personally welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We returned to the Anantara Riverside after over a year.
Because we had an amazing time there in May2012, where we celebrated my husband's birthday, we wanted to go back there again, to celebrate my birthday!
It felt as if we went back home. It's an oasis not far from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok which is within easy reach too. The hotel offers a complimentary ferry ride between the hotel and Saphan Taksim BTS station as well as to Asiatique on the opposite side of the river. On arrival at the hotel we were so warmly welcomed.
The breakfast buffet was a feast!!. Did not know what not to eat - there was just so much to choose from! One needs to go early to breakfast to do it justice :-)
On the up side, I celebrated my birthday there in December and was sent up a beautiful cake surrounded by macaroons just before we checked out.
On the downside my husband had to remind them of the special occasion on the day and was told that they had not forgotten and would do something special - nothing happened for the entire day and he had reminded them twice until he went down to reception to find out - they had forgotten. But made up for it late that evening just before we were ready to check out.
As our flight out of Bangkok was a very late night departure, we paid for that night even though we did not spend the entire night there. As luck would have it, our flight was over-booked and we were unable to travel. We returned to the hotel and were given the key to our room!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in a resort setting and yet enjoy city life as well.

Room Tip: Deluxe premier pool-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashmiRaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear RasmiRaga,
Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday celebrations with us and we are humbled that you feel coming here is just like returning home!
We are pleased that you were happy with your stay and enjoyed our genuine hospitality.
We look forward to having you ‘back home’ again for many more joyous celebrations!

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful grounds, quiet, clean, comfortable and spacious rooms (premium); quality and extensive breakfast buffet; large and attractively lanscaped tropical pool; extensive and diverse facitities and eateries. I think its the landscaped grounds which set this place so above other five star locations in Bangkok. So gentle and lush, in contrast to the flash mausoleums that many other five star hotels are.

But above all it is the staff which excel. All so calmly professional and engaging. Whether gardeners, waiters, cooking, reception, bar, gym or other staff. Each as friendly and professional. Well done, and thanks for such a memeorable time at Anantara

The only irritation I experienced was the extremely high charge for laundry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mark J,
Thank you for sharing your positive and encouraging comments. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed ‘tropical serenity in an urban oasis’ experience by the riverside; in the heart of Bangkok. Our associates appreciate the recognition.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more Anantara memories!

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 863 in Bangkok
8,211 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 863 in Bangkok
4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing