We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #18 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at the Anatara again for 3 nights in early November, for what was probably my sixth or seventh time! Like so many of my friends, the Anatara is the place to stay when in Bangkok. You simply cant go wrong. All previous rooms that I have stayed in were recorded by the check in staff - so my preferences were easily met.

Extremely relaxing, with excellent service. We were met by the extremely helpful Pim - who one morning - met my family and made them feel so welcome. She was always very helpful - nothing was ever too much trouble. The staff are fantastic ambassadors for this hotel.

I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,280 - 3,286 of 6,683 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a fantastic place - calm spacious excellent service and a great selection of restaurants and bars. A true resort in itself. Rooms well appointed and the atrium design of the buildings gives a great feeling of space. The everywhere is clean and the staff super-friendly and helpful. The pool area was busy, but not unpleasantly so - still a relaxing time there. Sundowner entertainment round the pool was a lovely lighthearted show - make sure you've got your insect repellent on though!

The restaurants are superb, especially the riverside terrace buffet, where the staff really looked after us - ordering and bringing more 'specials' (grilled meats and king prawns) than we knew what to do with at the end of service, so we didn't miss out. It was like they were making sure we got value for money, cos it's not cheap. The complimentary cocktail at the riverside bar was lovely too.

A few minor niggles - we were expecting a complimentary upgrade to a Premier room with sliding doors connecting the bathroom to the bedroom, but told they don't have this kind of room at the hotel? The balcony was small - too small for the table and chairs and 2 people to fit on it! And the noise of the barges on the river can be a bit of a nuisance first thing in the morning, but that's being by the river, which is actually great - the boat service to the city makes a refreshing change to getting in a cab.

Overall though, this is a great escape from Bangkok without actually leaving Bangkok.

I'll definitely be using it for future weekend escapes from the madness of the rest of the Big Mango!

Room Tip: Get a river view or river front room, but beware of the engine noise from the tugs and barges which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevePies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in late October. It is a stunning hotel with first class service from all the staff. We were collected from the airport (choose the fast track immigration service which is excellent) and transported to the hotel to be met in reception by a lady who escorted us to our suite to check us in. The suite was massive (the largest I ahve ever seen) and was decorated in a lovely way. We had a very large balcony overlooking the river. You would never know you were in the heart of a large city staying here. Suite guests are entitled to free cocktails and canapes in the afternoon which was always welcome. The restaurants are each very different from Trader Vics (didn't eat here) to the breakfast area which served masses of food from continental breakfasts, miso soup, etc to the traditional English fry-up. The pool area is also lovely. Try this hotel - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite overlooking the river - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was set on the riverside. Large resort and the suite rooms are particularly gorgeous!
The Kasara club benefits are quite useful as well. Location is a bit way out but otherwise very good. The hotel runs a ferry boat also, which takes you to the Asiatique night market and the Calypso cabaret ..

Room Tip: Ask for the suite.. Fabulous experience although a tad too expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Fantastiskt Sunday brunch ! Detta hotell har en restaurang som heter Traders vic !
Dom har en underbar Sunday brunch med allt från skaldjur, sushi, barbecue m.m.
Fantastic Sunday brunch at this hotel, called Traders vic ! You just have to try it. We will go back already now in december.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ullaoarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've stayed at an Anantara hotel before and was impressed. This is a beautiful hotel in every sense. We had a river view room with balcony, which provided 'entertainment' when we wanted.There's a good selection of quality restaurants onsite [I noticed that one of the princesses has a regular table here]. The courtesy hotel boat ferries you across the river, where you can use the public river boats or jump on the monorail system which provides fantastic, time-saving, traffic-free connections all over the city. After a long day out and about in Bangkok, taking the hotel boat back across the river instantly made me feel like I was home [they handed out refreshing towelettes during the hot and humid rainy season].
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are warm and friendly and made me feel like they genuinely cared about my welfare.
We took breakfast which is probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had: lots of good quality international dishes to choose from, which set us up for the day.

This is a great hotel - hard to believe you're in the hustle bustle of Bangkok when you stay here. It's like a Spa Resort! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Although a large hotel it never felt crowded. Lots of space, greenery and fabulous pool. The hotels ferry took you from its pier across the river in 12m linking with the public ferry, tourist boats, long tail boats and Bangkok's MRT transport system. After a day in Bangkok the hotel ferry takes you back on a relaxing ride to your own oasis. Some guests I suspect never venture out enjoying the Spa and pool.

Bangkok is relatively cheap for hotels and therefore we upgraded to a suite. It was the same price as a basic room in Singapore yet 6-8 times the size. It also came with a wrap around balcony overlooking the river. The suite also comes with the Kasara package which meant each day we returned at 5 pm we could have complimentary cocktails and nibbles a great way to unwind. Also had the best bed on our South East Asian tour so far.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a riverside suite, you can't justify it in London, New York, Paris etc but here why n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 895 in Bangkok
8,880 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 895 in Bangkok
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 895 in Bangkok
6,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $115 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing