We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #23 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but bad location”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The grounds were gorgeous, breakfast was phenomenal, and service was excellent. We had connecting rooms, and were there to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. I emailed ahead and asked for a small gift and cake, and they were very accommodating. The only downside to this hotel is that there is really nothing around it. And, the taxi drivers that we had did not know of it, and could not speak any English (and I don't speak Thai), so it was very hard to find the place when we would leave. Even handing the taxi driver the card with a map on it didn't usually help. Other than that, it was great. If I wanted a weekend to lounge in luxury, I'd go back here for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Scott C,
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences. I hope your daughter had a great birthday!
I would like to apologize for us not clearly enough explaining the options you have around the Resort.
From 5pm we have complimentary shuttle boats to Asiatique, Bangkok’s latest landmark for shopping,
nightlife and the Joe Louis puppet theatre and the Calypso cabaret. On our side of the river we have Senafest a new shopping mall just 5 minutes from the Resort.
Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and when this is the case I would like to introduce you to our Streetwise Guru who has a morning filling program, with amongst others, local temples and restaurants.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,131
    1,370
    279
    82
    31
See reviews for
1,649
2,523
258
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Went and stay in this hotel march. The reception staff was friendly, even tho the room wasn't ready when we arrive, but the big lobby was cozy enough to wait.
We stayed in suites so my kids can sleep in living room with extra bed. The suites was quiet big but bit dark, actually for anantara hotel and it's price I expect much more.
The hotel is old, pool was small, I guess if you are not fussy person u gonna be fine, so don't expect too much.
My favorite to do in Thailand is spa. But they charge so expensive, even tho we already bought voucher in their concierge for their spa, still. But we use t anyway, as we too lazy to go out side hotel.
Overall, was ok, but bit dissapointing, so next time I will look more carefully in hotel review such a tripadvisor before I book.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bali256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bali256,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us in March. I am pleased that you have shared your experience with us as we have had some time to implement a few changes we would like to share with you. We run daily Spa offers and if you book online prior to your stay you can benefit from even higher discounts. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the lobby. We have now made it even more cozy by adding live piano entertainment in the Lounge from 6 pm onwards. Today you will also find Danilo, our World Champ in Pizza making, at Brio Restaurant and Roberto, our New Mixologist, making fantastic Cocktails at Trader Vic’s.
New things are happening all the time at the Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa!
I do hope to have the opportunity to soon welcoming you back to our Resort.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

this hotel is fab and is an oasis right in the middle of bkk. wonderful room, wonderful food, wonderful service and staff. added bonus is the boat taking you to sky train or aisiatique. we had a great 3nights wished it was longer.

Room Tip: upgrade to junior suite was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekytraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

i have reviewed this hotel before as we have stayed here at least 20+ times in 20 years.

While there are small changes from time to time and things change with each successive GM, the hotel itself and it's wonderful staff remain largely unchanged---excellent in every way.

this year we note a couple of significant changes: the attached mini mall has been knocked down to make way for a new hotel, which is a new brand for the Minor Corp also, the owners.
the decking around the pool (the best in bkk) has finally been replaced, making for an even nicer experience.

the buffet breakfast continues to be a big hit with us and offers a great start to the day--- try to include it in your reservation rate. BUT, if you do not want the added expense, there is a wonderful bakery, UNO, on the ground floor offering eat in or take out bakery items for sale, fresh from the oven.

when we arrived the other night about 10:30, no fewer than 5 staff people greeted us, some even using our name. Now that is amazing.

some say this hotel is out of the mainstreme.. we do not agree. they offer a free rice boat shuttle from the skytrain to the hotel from early morning till late at night, which only takes 12 minutes. we find the air both cooler and cleaner here.

While we do stay at other hotels in bkk, we consider this our main and best liked hotel.

the hotel is kid friendly, and i now see they even offer queen, queen rooms, which they did not in the past. btw, the beds are amongst the best we have had worldwide.

daily newspaper delivery to your room daily seems to have been cut out as have cookies/chocolates on your pillow at turn down, but if these are the only cutbacks evident, i guess it's a small price to pay... btw, prices have remained moderately steady for the last several years...

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK..

Room Tip: we prefer the main, central building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spend 10 days in Thailand and the last two days we stayed at this fantastic Hotel resort.
Coming from Chiang Mai by plane we entered the Anantara Riverside resort and were impressed by the designs of the several departments. Fantastic vieuws from our room and super designed room with amazing bathroom with seperate built in rainshower of 60/60cm!!
Fantastic designed Italian restaurant BRIO with very friendly Sicilian masterchief.
Amazing swimming pool with very friendly and helfull staff.
Top breakfast everything was there.
Coffee and Bonbon chocolate corner NUMMERO UNO very well designed and super service a must to visit.

Room Tip: Always ask for Riverside vieuw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanzi188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed he with my 10 year old son last week,on the way back from Australia.
The only drawback was distence from the airport.It was fine when we arrived at night,but leaving Monday morning rush hour allow at least 90 mins by taxi.
Hotel staff were helpfull and charmin,food especially the breakfasts perfect.Swimming pool lovely and warm.Room clean and comfortable.We used the free half hourly boat service from the hotel to cross the river to Bangkok to explore and were not disappointed.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue190765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had the Anantara Premier suite which was very spacious. We also had access to the private lounge which was a nice touch with the free drinks and snacks and wifi. However, if you are out and about throughout the day and will not use the spa then I am not sure it's worth it if you had to pay extra.

Hotel is really nice as it has a resort feel to it rather than a city feel. This was exactly what we were looking for after having spent a few days in Krabi. Access to the city is easy as the boat drops you to the central pier where you can catch another boat to the temples/Grand Palace or get Skyline trains. However, the 2 boats per hour can be a little frustrating. We kept on missing it by 5 mins every time! Once they were nice enough to come back as they had just left! If you are ok about waiting around then that's fine. I think if you want that kind of hotel then you just put up with it. Transfer takes about 15mins.

Ate twice at the hotel and although expensive compared to eating outside, prices were reasonable for European standards. Food was very nice both at the buffet and the Italian Brio.

The hotel toileteries were amazing! Very good quality.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and highly recommend the hotel if you want to feel in a more relaxing environment in a big busy city!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabsoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 868 in Bangkok
8,300 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 868 in Bangkok
4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing