We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but Clean,Do Not take city view room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #22 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Baghdad,Iraq
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Old but Clean,Do Not take city view room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

OLD Building but clean ,Good service ,Nice Italian restaurant with Friendly Italian chef who speak English and help a lot ,Nice pool good location and shuttle boat to the subway station .
They have construction in the city view side rooms very noisy you will never be able to sleep because they are building new hotel on that part.
Good breakfast and BBQ buffet at night .
Free Hi speed WI FI internet in the room .
Hotel is very clean ,Big size rooms

Room Tip: Do Not take city view room They have construction in the city view side rooms very noisy you will ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luaysaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Luayssaffar,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our Italian food as we are thrilled to have our new Chef Danilo on board, world champion in pizza making!

I have noted your comments regarding the new hotel at the roadside exit from Anantara Riverside. Please rest assured that we are monitoring this project closely and taking all preventive actions.
We have received only positive feedback to indicate guests have not been disturbed by this project in any way to date. Furthermore, all efforts are made to accommodate guests at the side of the
River or toward the front of our resort to ensure a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

I will make sure to pass on your compliments to our housekeeping team and hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,658
    1,228
    255
    80
    25
See reviews for
1,414
2,296
230
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

As part our honeymoon my husband and I stayed in the Anantara Bangkok and based on our experience we couldn't recommend it highly enough. It is definitely a five star. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly, happy receptionists who offered us a refreshing drink. When they realised we were a honeymoon couple they immediately offered us an upgrade free of charge. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which had views of the river. It was very spacious, impeccably clean and the bed was sooooo big and comfortable. The bathroom was also large, exceptionally clean and had his and hers sinks. As we explored the hotel a very kind member of staff took the liberty of showing us around. It is an exceptionally large hotel and offers everything you could possibly need. In fact you need never leave this hotel as there are a large number of restaurants and bars to suits you taste and budget. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the food is fabulous. The hotel run a shuttle boat from the hotel to the SKY Train every thirty minutes - excellent service. Having left our room for a few hours when we returned we found a bottle of wine, honeymoon cake and a lovely message from management congratulating us. Such a lovely touch. We couldn't fault this hotel and would definitely return if we are back in Bangkok. Best of all it is away from the hustle, bustle and mania that is Bangkok. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great choice for sightseeing for the major sights in Bangkok as it is situated right on the banks of the river. The hotel runs a complimentary shuttle boat every half hour to the main ferry station where you can pick up any number of boats for just a few baht. Having visited Bangkok several times in my opinion the river is the best place to stay as it is so easy to get to all the major sights and shops without being right in the city centre where it is manic. There is also a river shuttle to Asiatique which is only open after 5pm which has many shops and restaurants.
The best rooms are the Riverfront rooms which have a small balcony although not large enough for balcony furniture it is great to watch the river come to life in the early morning.
We were welcomed warmly by the reception staff and escorted to our room which is not always done in a large city hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff when I had to change my flight departure and extend my stay this was dealt with seamlessly.
Our room rate included breakfast and the only disappointment for us was the massive queues at the breakfast buffet so it was not a particularly relaxing experience. But the Italian patisserie has the most amazing croissants/Danishes etc so I think if I were to return I would choose this.
The swimming pool is a great place to cool and relax after a busy day sightseeing. Although it gets busy there were always sunbeds available. I would have liked to have seen complimentary water around the pool but I guess as this is such a large hotel that this is not possible.
I would definitely return to this hotel when in Bangkok if I was looking for some peace and calm away from the hustle of the city but close enough to get to all the major attractions. A very friendly hotel with very good staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynda09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Anantara for 3 nights in late October.
Having done some research we chose a premier deluxe riverside room and we were not disappointed.
From arrival to departure, the staff were fabulous. So courteous and helpful, at times it was embarrassing. Our room (502) had a stunning view over the river and was all and more than we expected. Breakfast at Anantara was a full on attack on the taste buds. Catering for all nationalities,it ranged from full English to sushi.
The pool area is beautifully laid out with plenty of shady quiet areas when the temperature gets too high.
The hotel ferry leaves every 30 mins to Taksin for sky train and rest of city and an additional ferry starts at 5pm to Asiatique which is a fab place for eateries and indoor markets.
The whole resort has an air of calm which is highlighted upon arrival across the river.
A must stay in Bangkok!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth. West Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

we live about 15 Kilometres away from this hotel in Bangkok and decided to have a two night break here.We tried the Japanese teppanyaki one night and were lucky to get two seats as the place is very popular with the local thais. The restaurant was full .The guy cooking for us put on a bit of a show and had us up there with him balancing and throwing eggs on the end of a spatula, ours shattered his were fine.It was a corny but funny interaction.We booked on the hotel site and they specify which rooms have been renovated.We had a riverview room and it had a spectacular in your face view.I had a massage in the spa and it was very good certainly not as cheap as the street but much better surroundings in the hotel spa. Breakfast was too good for someone like me a overeater.This hotel is not in the same class as say the mandarin oriental across the river or the peninsula but then its not anywhere near as expensive.We would stay again and indeed have booked for 5 nights over new year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good value and relaxing moment in a peacefull tropical garden
2 free shuttle
from the hotel to Taksin pier (BTS and public boat)
from the hotel to Asiatique, the new night market. Start at 17 pm, every 15 min
Nice coffee shop inside and many useful shops around, in a small mall.
Still good, even after Marriott management

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was probably my favourite hotel on this trip, there was something about it, lots of nice touches nice antiques, something to look at everywhere you went and I really liked the river side location. we were lucky enough to have a room on the 7th floor over looking the river in the refurbished part of the hotel. Huge comfortable bed, little balcony over looking the river, nice bathroom, plenty of storage. My only slight problem was the hair-dryer was rubbish and I couldn't get it to work in the bathroom was drying my hair was interesting, last time I go anywhere with out my travel hair dyer!

The hotel run a shuttle service across the river and in the evening to the night market.

Breakfast is very extensive, everything you can think off including sushi and there are a great selection of restaurants in the hotel. Drinks were expensive compared to elsewhere in Thailand and comparable with a London Hotel. We had dinner in Trader Vic's and the service and attention was faultless, the food was delicious and we decided it was cheaper to have wine by the glass and they were very generous with the amount.

Not sure about the Bavarian band in lederhosen in the evenings I guess its nice to have a live band !?! Also we did the dinner cruise from the hotel and were very disappointed with the food which wasn't very good and was cold. The experience itself was good, a lovely thing to do sailing down the river seeing Bangkok at night but they do a cocktail one with nibbles which I think would have been better, had I had such a meal in England I would not have paid for it and once you add tax and service charge it worked out fairly expensive too.

Pool area looked nice and there are plenty of sun beds, nice places to sit and a good poolside bar with snacks

All in all a great hotel and much better than I expected, with the shuttle service certainly an easy base from which to explore the rest of Bangkok.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a room with a view it is worth it, its not very expensive and you get a credit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markiemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,789 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing