We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resplendent Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #16 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property for two nights and i admit i was fighting tears when we had to leave, it is such a place to stay and be pampered after a long flight to Bangkok.
Pro's:
1) Free ferry ride connecting the hotel to the mainland metro stations.
2) Extremely friendly and accommodating staff, we got a free upgrade to riverside rooms just by asking.
3) The breakfast spread makes you eat more than your tummy can handle, especially the moist pancakes with elephants drawn on them!(Ref:Pix)
4) Traders vics. Helpful and eager bar staff! Loved it
5) My sister used the spa and parlor services and she had nothing bad to say about it
6) Brio the Italian restaurant with the friendly Italian chef who does nice tricks with pizza dough and pasta. Try it!

Cons:
1) The staff are not very strong with English which could be a challenge

And that's about it!
This is one classy, happy place, i highly recommend it to anybody

Room Tip: Riverside deluxe rooms highly recommended for the perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,163 - 3,169 of 6,402 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived at the Anantara in the evening and were promptly checked in and shown our room. It took a few minutes for us honeymooners to realise we had been given twin beds much to our dismay, guest services offered to move us to another room but we had to wait a couple of hours for it to be available, not a great start.... my concerns immediately dissipated when we were shown to our new room, a complimentary upgrade to a "suite", which is actually just a much larger, better appointed room. If you can afford the little extra my strong recommendation is to chose this option particularly if you will be spending some amount of time in the hotel.

Rooms and beds are comfortable and housekeeping was impeccable, our room was made up one night with folded towel swans and a rose petal bath (very sweet) as a honeymoon surprise.

We enjoyed buffet breakfast daily, excellent choice of western and asian food available. We had a couple of evening meals on the riverside terrace which were also lovely and there are no fewer than ten dining options available at the property.

The hotel is a lovely sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok central, but we easily ventured out for shopping and excursions taking advantage of the free half hourly hotel boat to central pier. From here it is very easy to board the Skytrain and head into the central shopping area or catch a tourist boat further along the river, all the way to the Grand Palace. Behind central pier is a major arterial road with plenty of shopping and dining options, a night market and Robinsons Department store if you don't fancy venturing out so far.

The hotel also offers an evening boat service to Asiatique night market, with a wide variety of touristic dining and shopping options, a nice modern and relaxing place to visit.

My partner is an avid fitness enthusiast and claims the hotel's gym is the BEST he has ever been in!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaJo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

No better way to recover after a long flight than i this oasis of calm and beauty in Bangkok. Everything was perfect we stayed three nights on arrrival i THailand and straight away booked three night before our return to Switzerland. Easy access by boat to shopping centres, the sky train and the reclining Buddha.

The accomodation was excellent full of touches of comfort and it was delightfull to rest alongside the pool, see the antiquities and enjoy the luxury. We will be back

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were excellent with a roo in the main building facing the inner courtyard well pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our Honeymoon experience was made special by Anantara. Since we were GHA members, we were provided a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The hotel is just fabulous. Loved every bit of it. The rooms, the service, the ambiance was just splendid. The hotel even provided us a honeymoon special cake the next day morning. We were so delighted and made us feel all the more special..Thanks Anantara..

The only disappointing piece was the buffet dinner which was not upto the mark. It was not really worth the money. May be there can be an improvement in this area.

Overall, we have been recommending this hotel to almost all my friends. Thanks again Anantara...you take good care of your guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a river side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samita_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Generally this hotel was alright. The good balanced out the bad. Details below.

Service
The staff here are generally very good and helpful, although when I first arrived nobody volunteered to help me with my bag and I was in fact directed to go to the room myself (my friend had checked in the day before, so there was no need for check in). However I arrived on Sunday when they might have been a bit short-staffed, because when my parents joined us a few days later, they were immediately assisted by staff, which was very good. The Concierge is friendly and helpful. The boat staff are extremely smiley and polite as well (this is the boat to the BTS station) and often hand out wet towels so that we can refresh ourselves in the evening. The staff's command of English is also generally good.

There were some communication lapses between staff however, e.g. I requested an extra bed to be placed in our room the next day, but this was not done and I had to call the reception again to get the extra bed done immediately. They responded promptly to this however so not a major fault. Two days later there was a miscommunication with the breakfast staff who were unaware that we had added an extra bed and informed us that the 3rd person had to pay. This was smoothed over very quickly as well with the staff smilingly telling us she would sort this out and we could proceed for breakfast first. Hiccups like these are fine in my view if the staff handle it well, and they did.

The Room
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite (thank you management), and it was a very spacious room although falling short of my expectations when I hear the word "Suite". It does not separate the living and sleeping areas so it's really just a larger room. I appreciated the space however, so no complaints there. The room is also very well lit. Bathroom amenities are plentiful and the staff replace these religiously every day. There's even a loofah supplied by the hotel FOC! I was impressed by that.

Facilities
The gym is beautiful, and available for use at any time, although the lights are dimmed after 11pm, and you have to use the fan as the air conditioners are switched off. The pool is smaller than what you see in the pictures, you can't really do a decent lap in it.
The hotel itself is a little ill-maintained; it rained heavily on some days on our stay and when this happened, the walkways were full of water. There was also mosquito larvae swimming in 1 of the big decorative pots filled with water. Do put mosquito repellant when walking around the resort at night, I got bitten a few times by the hungry bloodsuckers.
We ate at Benihana - great food. Highly recommend the butter fish, their signature rolls and the garlic fried rice. Their tempura is delicious too.

Breakfast
Excellent spread, great food. There's something for everybody - sushi, congee, hashbrowns, sausages, egg stations, noodles, curry, stir fried veg, yoghurt, cereal, ham, sticky rice, etc etc. The bread is not very good however, but the pastries and croissants are great.

Location
If you're in Bangkok primarily to have a resort vacation and you don't really intend to leave the hotel much (i.e. you will do your massages and take most of your meals at the hotel) then this resort is great. If your primary intention is to go shopping however, this hotel is not ideal. Similarly if you intend to do your massages outside. Travelling time from the hotel to the central areas in Bangkok averages 1 hour. You have to take a FOC boat from the hotel's pier to Sathorn Pier, which connects to Saphan Taksin, the nearest BTS station, and this takes 15 min. You then have to buy your BTS tickets. Saphan Taksin is on the same line as Siam station (where Siam Paragon and Siam Centre are) and National Stadium (where MBK is), but if you want to go to T21, you have to change lines at Siam. The famed Platinum / Pratunam is about a 15-20 min walk from Siam station. We often arrived at the Sathorn Pier 20 minutes before the boat was due to arrive and had to twiddle our thumbs waiting for the boat. The frequency of this boat is once every 30 minutes. The other hotel's boats seem to come at much higher frequencies, but then they are usually situated nearer the Pier than Anantara as well.

It is however very convenient to go to Asiatique from this hotel; the hotel provides a shuttle. This is great because on weekends, the public Asiatique boat has a long snaking queue that can take half an hour to clear before you actually get on the boat. This boat is also FOC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schixzotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel and to be honest that was just fine if you are not as old as me with legs which are not anymore what they used to be, why i'm saying this...well...because you almost need transportation if you want to have breakfast to go from your room to the breakfast location....or if you wanna go swimming....or taking the free boatshuttle... this hotel is sooo huge, it's even to huge, if you are staying for example in the south wing than you are almost a half mile away from everything and in my case this was not done, no i won't stay here again despites this is a great hotel, provide a great service and is outstanding for all meals and very big clean rooms, i am very sorry to say that this hotel is not suitable for older people who can't walk very far anymore! I have no complaints anymore about this hotel because it's a wonderful property very well situated with a great service, i can recommend it with pleasure to everyone except older people!

Room Tip: We had a nice balcony riverview room on the 5th floor southwing and it was excellent except it was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Khun Suntara,

Thank you for your sharing your great comments about our Resort and at the same time addressing your concerns. As the Resort has 3 buildings we should ask our guest which services are important so that if needed we can assign rooms close by.

If your travel plans bring you back to Bangkok, please feel free to contact me via our website (www.bangkok-riverside.anantara.com ) and I will make sure we appoint a room close to the breakfast restaurant, pool and pier.

Once again, thanks a lot for your valuable comments.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just come back from a stay in one of the Anantara suites with our two kids. What a stay. The suite was awesome, beautifully designed in traditional Asian wooden style. Quality travel cot better than our one at home and nice single bed for our toddler.

The resort is beautifully designed, have never before been this near a major world city staying in what could easily be - if you so chose - a get away from everything resort. A few decent restaurants like Trader Vics which was quite fun, nothing that's going to tear up trees but fine. Bar on the waterfront was beautiful. Breakfast was brilliant, loads of choice both Western and Asian. And the high teas and cocktail hours in the Kasara executive lounge also had an amazing selection.

The boat service was fanastic, timetable accurate to the minute and a beautiful experience whether going to Central Pier or Asiatique. Loved it. Hotel also arranged a private lontail boat to take us round the hidden canals. Really good trip and great service.

Hotel service always very friendly and they went out of their way to help our kids. One incident summed up the service. Was having a drink in the waterfront bar one day with a sleeping baby when out of nowhere it started pouring. Quick as a flash the waiters sprinted to my table, whisked the buggy under cover and because our drinks had a tiny bit of rainwater in them they insisted on giving us fresh drinks.

Location is the only potential issue. We loved being in the relaxed environment just a boatride away from the BTS, the only vague issue for us was that for good, interesting restaurants - and by that I don't include the OK restaurants in the hotel or at Asiatique - it is a bit of a faf in the evening to have to either get stuck in traffic or to get a boat and thn a sky train just to have dinner.

That aside we loved our stay and will probably return next year which we almost never do.

Room Tip: Suites are awesome and get you into the lovely Kasara Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,640 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,568 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 891 in Bangkok
6,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $128 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing