We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #23 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“tranquil”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

this was our last stop before flying back home.Anantara,,,not the first....not the last-we loved it..!!! by the river...so cool...quite a few kids thou...but great pool.......Amazing breakfast..!!!!!
also close to the Skytrain via there own boat shuttle........great 2 days..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreeceBen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,857
    1,282
    269
    84
    27
See reviews for
1,495
2,408
239
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed 16 nights in a Junior Premier Suite Room 794 on the top floor. Everything at this hotel was fantastic and I have to say that the staff here from every level was a credit to Anantara.
My husband and I loved the 10ft deep pool and we enjoyed a late night swim most nights. The selection of foods for breakfasts at The Market Restaurant was a daily pleasure. Being Kasara Lounge members was a fantastic bonus. It was always so nice to come back to the hotel on the boat, ice-cold lemongrass scented flannels served to everyone to freshen up. We loved it, we would certainly come back. Special thanks to Foon, Kitty and Only - Your service went well beyond the expected. We hope that one day you will come to New Zealand and let us repay your incredible hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwinorthisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel if you prefer to be out of the noise and pollution of the city. It is next to the river so transportation to Central Pier is with the complimentary hotel shuttle boat - very convenient as from there you can do boat trips on the river (to get to the old part of the city and all the temples and sights along the river itself) or go to the sky train station to connect you to the rest of the city.

Hotel staff are incredibly attentive and helpful with organizing tours, taxi, etc. Client service (by phone) was also nice-you are greeted by your name! A nice touch!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will choose to stay in it on or next visit to Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is the 'other side' of the river so is a little bit out of it although they provide a shuttle boat service which runs every 30 mins across.

The hotel is clean and well managed, the rooms are well equipped and as described. One of the bars had a salsa band playing each evening which was a nice change. The pool area is tranquil and a well needed escape from the hassle of Bangkok. The breakfast was very very comprehensive, and yummy. I would certainly lookout for this chain of hotels if staying anywhere. else. The only issue was the cost of food and indeed drinks was expensive a cocktail was about £5 each. A small bottle of water £3 a large £7.
Like a previous review we did get caught out by the scammers a man claimed to work at anantara saying the Siam shopping area was closed till 1pm due to the royal family shopping, he recommended visiting a 'local' shopping area, we walked towards a main road and another 'friendly Thai' appeared saying that Siam was closed and recommended a tuktuk, we got in and sure enough we were taken to a specific tailors, we just bought a silk robe as felt bad and then got back I to the tuktuk.
The shuttle boat also stops at asiatique prior, this is a new shopping and restaurant area. We had a lovely meal on the riverfront here, the shopping was cheaper than MBK shopping area!

Room Tip: Room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed our new band and had a good time at our pool. Thank you for bringing up the “associate” at Saphan Taksin, we certainly do not have any associates working at this station and all our associates are required to wear an uniform. We will address this to the local authorities to make sure you and other guests will have a hassle free shopping experience.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

JK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is excellent and very upmarket. The ferry service to the Saphin Taksin port is brilliant but BEWARE scammers target people from the hotel at the port as you go for the sky train. There is a guy about 30ish smartly dressed who is the spotter he then sends another smartly dressed male (about 40/50) or a smartly dressed female (late 30s - bit chubby) and their opening line is "skytrain" as they point to station. They then engage on conversation and pretend they work for hotel (the guy told us he was inspector of security at hotel and was going to visit his wife in hospital who had just given birth). He then made up a story that the shopping mall we wanted to go to was closed n he knew a great tailor for suits etc n he would get a TukTuk to take us there. I don't know what the shop is like but jut wanted to make people aware of this, I don't know if the hotel know about this but they should do something about it.

The ferry also stops at Asiatique which is a great wee place to spend an evening as its full of shops, restaurants and bars at half decent prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boycekid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is very nice hotel with a lot of dinning options, away from the city. You may have a problem with Taxi drivers, since some of them do not want to go there. Just give it a try, every second or third will take you there. If you want to do some sightseeing, it is a bit away from the city. However our kids (1 and 3) loved the pool area (they have kids pool) and the free of charge boat transport to the other side of the river (they take "IN" the city so you can get around easier).
It is very good hotel, you will not go wrong with it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrusnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

i spent 4 nights in this resort in december 2012 , we were on our honeymoon and we just arrived from koh samui after having a great 4 nights there , as soon as we got off the airport a hotel representative was present to guide us to our hotel pickup car , but it was 30 mins late and we had to wait in airport lobby , but the car was clean and equipped with complementary water bottles. journey from airport to the hotel is about an hour long but mainly it was due to traffic. as soon as we arrived in the hotel lobby which was very beautiful by the way we were escorted to our rooms in about 10 mins. the receptionist was very nice and polite and quicky checked us in .As we were going to the room we could see that it was was big old commercial hotel .our room was very far away from the hotel lobby and sometimes we got confused as to where our room was . the room was clean , with nice decor . the bathrooms were clean but not upto the standards you would expect from a resort of such standard. the best thing abt this resort were the free ferries which left the hotel after every 30 mins from the pier , they connected the hotel to the sky train (which by the way is the best way to travel in bangkok) , taking ferry in the morning was very convenient . the breakfast buffet in the morning was quite large but lacked quality . and whatever u do dont take the hotel romantic dinner boat ride the tour guide lady at the reception offers you , they say its awesome but it is grossly overpriced and the food is bad. as we had an early morning flight the receptionist 1 day prior to our departure called us to check that whether we would like our breakfast packed before we check out , which was a really nice gesture . overall the experience was descent , but i was expecting more of a personal experience so kinda little dissapointed . i wouldnt be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ms Draseem,

Thank you for posting your constructive feedback from your honeymoon last year. I am pleased to read that the service provided by our team did not stop at the hotel but that they managed to make sure you had a snack on the way back to the airport as well.

It will be great if you can contact me in person as I would like to investigate what happened with your airport pick up, we strive to have an impeccable service and have the cars waiting for you and my sincere apologies for not delivering this during your past stay.

Thank you for staying with us and I do hope to have the pleasure of soon welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

JK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing