We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Nearby Hotels
$114
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$104
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$206
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Bangkok(Bangkok)
$81
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Oriental Residence
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
$317
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$463
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,007)
Filter reviews
7,007 results
Traveler rating
4,986
1,566
321
96
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,986
1,566
321
96
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivertrader vicskasara loungeshuttle boatbeautiful resortfree callselephant barswim up barasiatique night markethotel boatfree boatboat servicejunior suitedinner cruisepool areasaphan taksina river view room
Filter
Updating list...
3,655 - 3,660 of 7,007 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is excellent and very upmarket. The ferry service to the Saphin Taksin port is brilliant but BEWARE scammers target people from the hotel at the port as you go for the sky train. There is a guy about 30ish smartly dressed who is the spotter he then sends another smartly dressed male (about 40/50) or a smartly dressed female (late 30s - bit chubby) and their opening line is "skytrain" as they point to station. They then engage on conversation and pretend they work for hotel (the guy told us he was inspector of security at hotel and was going to visit his wife in hospital who had just given birth). He then made up a story that the shopping mall we wanted to go to was closed n he knew a great tailor for suits etc n he would get a TukTuk to take us there. I don't know what the shop is like but jut wanted to make people aware of this, I don't know if the hotel know about this but they should do something about it.

The ferry also stops at Asiatique which is a great wee place to spend an evening as its full of shops, restaurants and bars at half decent prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boycekid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is very nice hotel with a lot of dinning options, away from the city. You may have a problem with Taxi drivers, since some of them do not want to go there. Just give it a try, every second or third will take you there. If you want to do some sightseeing, it is a bit away from the city. However our kids (1 and 3) loved the pool area (they have kids pool) and the free of charge boat transport to the other side of the river (they take "IN" the city so you can get around easier).
It is very good hotel, you will not go wrong with it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vrusnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

i spent 4 nights in this resort in december 2012 , we were on our honeymoon and we just arrived from koh samui after having a great 4 nights there , as soon as we got off the airport a hotel representative was present to guide us to our hotel pickup car , but it was 30 mins late and we had to wait in airport lobby , but the car was clean and equipped with complementary water bottles. journey from airport to the hotel is about an hour long but mainly it was due to traffic. as soon as we arrived in the hotel lobby which was very beautiful by the way we were escorted to our rooms in about 10 mins. the receptionist was very nice and polite and quicky checked us in .As we were going to the room we could see that it was was big old commercial hotel .our room was very far away from the hotel lobby and sometimes we got confused as to where our room was . the room was clean , with nice decor . the bathrooms were clean but not upto the standards you would expect from a resort of such standard. the best thing abt this resort were the free ferries which left the hotel after every 30 mins from the pier , they connected the hotel to the sky train (which by the way is the best way to travel in bangkok) , taking ferry in the morning was very convenient . the breakfast buffet in the morning was quite large but lacked quality . and whatever u do dont take the hotel romantic dinner boat ride the tour guide lady at the reception offers you , they say its awesome but it is grossly overpriced and the food is bad. as we had an early morning flight the receptionist 1 day prior to our departure called us to check that whether we would like our breakfast packed before we check out , which was a really nice gesture . overall the experience was descent , but i was expecting more of a personal experience so kinda little dissapointed . i wouldnt be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Ms Draseem,

Thank you for posting your constructive feedback from your honeymoon last year. I am pleased to read that the service provided by our team did not stop at the hotel but that they managed to make sure you had a snack on the way back to the airport as well.

It will be great if you can contact me in person as I would like to investigate what happened with your airport pick up, we strive to have an impeccable service and have the cars waiting for you and my sincere apologies for not delivering this during your past stay.

Thank you for staying with us and I do hope to have the pleasure of soon welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

JK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful few days at this hotel. The hotel is located right by the river so it’s great for excursions and being a bit outside the busy city yet still close by. The rooms are spacious and clean, the décor is pleasing. The food is very good, a lot of choice and the quality is good although some employees weren’t very well informed. The pool facilities are nice to relax and the grounds are well maintained. However, the biggest plus of this hotel are its friendly employees, they are so helpful at all times and work so hard, even though the manager Mr. Jan comes off as a bit arrogant, the hotels constantly smiling employees is what makes your stay so great!!! All in all, I would defiantly recommend this hotel if you want a quieter time, well as quite as it can get in Bangkok, at a relaxing location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualityLovers_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We travelled to Bangkok as a family in September 2012 for a wedding. The wedding took place at the hotel, which was why we stayed here. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, although there are a few things to note: firstly, we were travelling with our 3 & 6 year kids, who absolutely LOVED the hotel, although for those of you who have - shall we say - very "active" children, you may want to be on your guard. The breakfast area has an outdoor seating area that is right on the river. There is a railing, but you may want to supervise your child, as if they climbed up onto the railing, they could easily fall into the river below - and when i say river, i mean THE river that flows through Bangkok! Also, there are ponds around the pool with water lilies floating in them. They look very pretty & my 3 year old (who is not a naughty child) went to have a closer look & fell in (she thought she was stepping on to grass). It wasn't above her head, but nonetheless, I would not have wanted her to swallow any of the muddy water & she got a big fright. But apart from that, thisisan absolutely wonderful hotel. The breakfast is AMAZING - you name it, they have it. The staff put bread out every morning so that hotel guests can feed the catfish in the river. They also have someone playing music, or flower arranging in the hotel lobby, which the kids loved. There is a kids club, but my two weren't that interested - there weren't any other children there, so I think they would rather be with us. We got a suite rather than two rooms (it was cheaper that way) and the bathroom was the largest I have ever seen (apart from the honeymoon suite). We had an extra bed in the room , which was enormous, but I would have preferred that the lounge area of the suite was separate to the bedroom area, that way we could have put the kids to bed without having to go to bed ourselves. The chocolate cafe was sooo yummy, but quite expensive (not surprising, really). The boat across the river was really handy and much faster than travelling any other way. All in all, a magnificent place to stay, although if you want to be in the heart of things,then this isn't for you. It took quite a while to get to any of the major shopping centres.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms, if staying as a family with children,I would go for the connecting rooms rather than the suite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachndale2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews