We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and with some character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #23 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good and with some character”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friendly welcome and they put themselves out to sort us two rooms despite our very early arrival. Expensive but good quality and service in the restaurants, room was as you would expect in a good Asian hotel.
An electrical fault woke us up on two of the three nights but it was one of those things no one could anticipate and the duty manager Prathana Maneedej resolved this courteously and to our complete satisfaction.

Some building work going on during our stay but it didn't impact on us

Would be a good base for a business trip and we would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have a view of the car park !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikes-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,107
    1,362
    277
    82
    31
See reviews for
1,632
2,517
257
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We tried the other Anantara in Bangkok the previous week and after a dreadful experience in another hotel (from which we escaped after a night) we decided to try the Riverside one because we wanted to visit night markets and the Reclining Buddha and this hotel offers a free boat shuttle service so it was perfect.
Furthermore we had been very happy with the other Anantara so we decided to book at the very last minute. Everything was perfect, lovely spacious room, stylish design, great gym and pool (open until 11pm!) with Jacuzzi. They also offer an excellent range of restaurants and a bakery that will satisfy any cravings you may have (it's open until late around 11pm) they also have special prices for lunch.
Breakfast is just unbelievable, they have anything you can think of!
At night they lit up the lights on the trees that surrounds the pool and it's so beautiful.
Such a pity we were here for one night only! The only downside of this hotel is that they don't offer free wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloriajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have not been to Thailand before and this was our first encounter of a Thai hotel and (authentic) Thai food. The greeting at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and courteous. They offered us an upgrade of our room for little money and it was worthwhile doing it. The room was fantastic.

Tired from travelling a long way, we ordered food to the room and it was delicious. We did so for the next two nights as well and every dish we ordered was very, very good and the prices were okay too.

The pool area is very neat and spacious and the drinks were very tasty too. The breakfast buffet was huge, you can get anything you could ever wish for. The hotel is located next to the river and with frequent boat shuttles, you can get anywhere in Bangkok.

There were only two poor things: The staff's English was really bad and arriving at the restaurant in the mornings, we felt like being at the airport: Dozens of tourists swarming around, staff giving us short shrift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Anantara Riverside Resort is really a classic Thai Hotel. The lobby is very chic with high airy ceilings and comfortable places to sit. The rooms are also spacious and very comfortable. Our room overlooked the pool and river area which was quite nice to see at night when the city is all lit up. By the far, the best part of the hotel was the incredible pool. With a built in bar right inside the pool, you never had to leave. 5-7pm is Happy Hour where the drinks are buy one, get one free. For dinner, we enjoyed the buffet restaurant located right on the water. Dancers performed traditional Thai dances which was very nice. Afterwards, my sister and I took their free river ferry over to the Central Pier shopping area for night shopping. Thai local market vendors were set up in a nice clean outdoor mall area. My 12 year old really enjoyed the huge ferris wheel located right on the pier. Afterwards, we just took the free ferry back to the hotel when we were done. The only criticism is that the drinks and food were pricey. Overall though, just having finished a three week cruise with Princess, we couldn't have asked for a better ending to a vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at Anantara Resort was too short! There are so many restaurants to choose from, awesome breakfast buffet, large and refreshing swimming pool, picture perfect spots in every corner, great amenities and overall worth every single penny spent!

Room Tip: A deluxe room with a river view would be best to book if you're a couple and a junior suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnolia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although not in city center, the hotel is only a 200 baht taxi ride away from Sathorn... Great service, nice room, friendly and quick service and good breakfast. Most taxi drivers knew the hotel, although some refused to take us because thy said it was too far... As a result, the only complaint is distance from where e hung out at night (Khao San, Sathorn, etc) and taxi drivers tried to overcharge because they knew our options were limited at 2-3am... Despite those minir irritations, i would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcphillygermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Anantara (formerly the Marriott) many times over the past 15 years. I flew in From Canada and he from Koh Samui for a weekend in Bangkok. This hotel is our favourite in BKK, it has a wonderful resort feel, huge pool area and the staff is an example of wonderful Thai hospitality. The renovated rooms are elegant and very comfortable, an oasis after being downtown. The breakfast buffet is completely over the top....the baked goods are legendary.
When the door opens upon arrival and the young man says "welcome to the Anantara resort and Spa" I feel like I have arrived "home". There are many 5star hotels in Bangkok but The Anantara is something everyone must experience, we will be back!

Room Tip: The River View rooms offer the opportunity to enjoy the Activity on "the river of Kings"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 866 in Bangkok
8,277 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 866 in Bangkok
4,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing