We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #18 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just returned from a two week trip to Thailand and started and finished at the Anantara Riverside. It was our first time in Bangkok and we feel lucky that we chose a hotel next to the river - this made travelling around so much easier. A complementary ferry over to the main pier allows you to buy a day pass to get around with ease. Much better than relying on road transport and lovely and cool as well. Try to get onto one of the commuter boats for at least some of the journeys for a bit of hectic colour!

The hotel itself was very good - big, airy public spaces and a decent pool with a (pricy) bar. We only had breakfast on one day but it is fabulous and worth trying at least once. If you are travelling with kids, they pay half the normal cost. Staff are friendly and helpful and there is a lovely atmosphere.

The only disappointment was the slightly shambolic check-in process. It's clear that they just bung you into rooms as they become available after house-keeping and both times it was a pointlessly lengthy procedure. We did get room upgrades as a result but wasting almost an hour doing something pretty basic is frustrating. Also, don't bother going to the attached shopping centre - practically deserted with most units shut down.

On a practical note, it's about a 50 minute taxi journey to the airport and 30 minutes to the main railway station. Bad congestion can double these times apparently.

Overall, a firm recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,513 - 3,519 of 6,679 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property for 2 nights with our two children (ages 5 & 6). We stayed in a deluxe river front corner suite which was completely worth the money. The room was absolutely stunning with big views towards the river. Featuring a huge dining area, living area and very spacious bedroom and bathroom (including an additional 1/2 bath which was very nice when traveling with kids), we could not have been more pleased with the room. Beds were extremely comfortable, towels were fluffy, bath products were exceptional- all that you would expect of a luxury hotel.

The pool scene was a mess. Towels were left on chairs long after guests had departed, dishes and glasses also lingered far too long (like an hour) for a property of this caliber. We actually had difficulty finding a place to sit because of all of the dirty towels and dishes surrounding the pool area. Drink service was basically non-existent so we got drinks at the bar in the pool. Drinks were very good and the bar service was great. The pool grounds were gorgeous but there is definitely a lot of deferred maintenance of the boardwalks surrounding it, with boards popping up and nails exposed.

The breakfast buffet was just ok. The tables are not turned very quickly and they were not staffed very well for the number of people coming through in the mornings. Food stations were ok, but unfortunately the items were frequently running out.

Room service food was not worth it- poor delivery and food quality. We decided to eat off property the rest of the time, which was a better value and far better (and more authentic) food options. Hop the boat shuttle to the other side of the river for better dining at Asiatique.

The boat shuttle was fun and a great amenity to the property. Kids and adults alike had fun with this! Just be aware that the shuttle times are not dependable. The service was supposed to run every 30 minutes, but was at least 45 minutes to an hour between shuttles.

Overall, rooms were wonderful but service was not what it should be for such a nice property.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on the riverfront corner suite. The rooms are huge and views are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jholetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed in the Anantara for five days in mid-March with my 15 year old son and found it to be very nice. The rooms are large and comfortable and the hotel offers many dining options, including Western fare such as Brio (Italian) and Trader Vic's (steaks). One thing to keep in mind might be that, although the nightly rate at the hotel is quite low, some of the prices in the restaurants are fairly high, as in New York City high. The pool is very nice and very large. It is surrounded by lush foliage and one huge tree, that is beautifully lit at night with paper lanterns. The hotel has a river boat service, as do all of the hotels that are along the river in Bangkok, that operates every half hour or so. We found it to be a bit unreliable (we got stuck waiting upriver in the heat for 45 minutes watching other hotel boats come 4 or 5 times before the Anantara boat finally showed up), and found ourselves just taking taxis after a while. Overall, I'm glad we stayed where we did. Most of the other hotels seem like high rises, whereas the Anantara Riverside truly feels like a resort.

Room Tip: Riverview, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

There is Asiatique; a new shopping mall including night market, restaurants, and a show place just across the river. The Anantara offers you free shuttle boat service to go there and of course to Saphan Taksin central boat pier.

Hotel itself is very good too, having a resort atmosphere and letting us forget that we are in BKK city. Especially staff hospitality is notable.

Although it's a bit far from city center, still worth using this hotel. I may go back there when I visit BKK again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nozomi_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Anantara resort and spa ( near riverside ) there it the best hotel and best choice to stay on your vacation also have shopping ( jim Thomson shop ).. staff are very kinds with a smile and helpful anything you ask for a trips in bangkok .. Have pool bar with a cool/cold drinks happy hour they will serve you all the best /breakfast many choice you can eat chinese food/western food/japaness and also thai food . evening romantic bar riverside view.. recommend for 5 stars hotel ..

Room Tip: with this hotel all it the best .. if u choose the room riverside view ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gappza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Anantara is a world-class hotel - PERIOD. The location is fabulous, the service impeccable, and the amenities almost too numerous to mention. The rooms choices range from deluxe river view suites to standard single rooms, all tastefully decorated and exuding the "Oriental Allure" that a first time visitor would expect. The river shuttle service is an adventure in itself, providing free service to light-rail hubs that can take you anywhere in the city. Their tour and travel office is one of the best I've seen, and you do NOT have to worry about arranging tours prior to your visit to Thailand - they can arrange EVERYTHING. The restaurants and cafes, ranging from Trader Vics to the Poolside Cabana can satisfy anyone's palates, and the shopping center and adjacent mall is filled with outstanding ice cream parlors and even a Sizzler Steak House. The grounds and hotel are beautiful, and we will be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive Suite over-looking the river and it was a beautiful room with incredible v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank araxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is situated by the river, with beautiful gardens, a lovely pool, good gym, and an excellent selection of food from the restaurants. The rooms are lovely and clean and very comfortale. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. It is the perfect location for peace and quiet and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Every time I have stayed there I have been reluctant to leave and this time was no exception

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 893 in Bangkok
8,878 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 893 in Bangkok
4,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#34 of 893 in Bangkok
6,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $113 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing