We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #20 of 834 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The resort is not located in city center but there is free boat transfer from Asiatique and BTS. We encountered some taxi drivers who have no idea of the location of this resort. Advice you check for address in Thai and take a hotel card for taxi. The pool is great with pool side bar so you can enjoy a whole afternoon there. Breakfast buffet provides a variety of choices. The room is clean and large, and it is value for money. Not a bad choice if you like to stay near riverside to enjoy some relaxing moments rather than just shopping in Siam.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,133
    1,052
    218
    74
    22
See reviews for
1,203
1,976
190
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived in Bangkok for our three day stay at the Anantara. We were immediately impressed with the welcome we received. The staff here are very friendly and always looking to ensure your stay is a good one. The room was very good with nice decor and plenty of room. The hotel itself has a number of restaurants and we ate at Número UNO and the Riverside Terrace. Both restaurants were good with the Número UNO serving snacks and light meals. The Riverside provided a buffet serving a varied menu and a wide range of cuisines. The Riverside also has a staged area with Thai dancing and this provided a sample of Thai culture. The breakfast was also very well received and offered a great choice, something for everyone.
The pool area was very relaxing and although we only used this area to have a early evening drink it was a nice spot even when the resident large lizard made an appearance!
The free boat shuttle is very good with trips over to the Asiatique a must. This area has many restaurants and shops and is well worth a visit. The other drop off for the boat is further up river and is ideal for starting your exploration of Bangkok.
This hotel was perfect for our stay in Bangkok. Bangkok is a busy, exciting city and the Anantara offers a great retreat for all the hustle and bustle. Thank you Anantara, I would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albionHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A spectacular hotel with the wow factor. Everything first class, from staff who couldn't do enough for you, excellent accommodation and wonderful food. The rooms were spacious with superb bathrooms and toliletries and great big comfortable beds. There were several venues to eat within the hotel, which were all good but a little on the pricey side. Breakfast was a feast with a truly tremendous choice of food and drink - amazing. The pool area had lots of comfortable sun-beds and brollies to relax before or after your busy site seeing and there were available beach towels. Cold towels and free ice lollies were provided during the daytime. Each evening at dusk there was a lighting up ceremony of the hotel, with the girls and gents in national dress peforming to music - a wonderful site. The hotel grounds are all illuminated at night and it looks specatular along the river front. The free boat shuttle from the hotel pier into Bangkok takes around 15 minutes and is a treat in itself. The only downside was that we had to leave to go home after 4 nights. Highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting bangkok.

Room Tip: Other guests said they had wonderful views over the river, so this might be worth requesting but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanneNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden,Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In many years of traveling this ranks way out front for indescribable breakfast buffet, pool relaxation, beautiful surroundings, and the always entertaining hotel boat to the other side of the river. The breakfast offers about six major cuisines, Japanese, Thai,Chinese, European, American, it's about 70 feet of loaded tables, fruit,fresh juice, crepes to order, sushi, dim sum to name just the least of it. It is served overlooking the river by a very gracious staff.
We would catch the hotel boat to the main dock and switch to another hotel boat, such as The Oriental Hotel ,and go for a jazz evening, or over to Asiatique for dinner and night bazaar.
So much fun and just great service. I recommend it highly, we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eshaver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with the wow factor from the lobby onwards. We had a room overlooking the river, there were 2 very comfortable beds, tea making facilities and bottled water in the room.
There was a vast choice at breakfast, we ate in 3 different restaurants, had the 'rib' deal at Trader Vics' the staff were really smiley and friendly, we had the buffet one night, the choice and quality was amazing. Only draw back to eating and drinking at the hotel was the cost! There is a complimentary boat service from the hotel to the central pier where you can either transfer to an on/off boat service which was good value or use the skytrain which was easy and cheap. If I was ever going to Bangkok again I would want to stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room you had they didn't seem to be any bad views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and services. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience The Market, Trader Vic’s and Riverside Terrace Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back one day, so please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist you with future bookings for our hotel or any of our Anantara Hotels, Resorts & Spas.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
Resident Manager
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great time in Anantara Riverside in Bangkok. The hotel is excelent, the breakfast is probably one of the bests that I ever had. They also had 4 or 5 options to eat, like famous japanese Benihana, the italian Brio and a few more. The staff was very kind and gently and the pool is awesome. Definitely is an excelent option in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guicarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and services. We are very happy to read your comments, especially about our breakfast offerings in The Market.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist you with future bookings for our hotel or any of our Anantara Hotels, Resorts & Spas.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
Resident Manager
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
mkrebs@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just finished our stay in Bangkok where we stayed at the Anantara riverside and we couldn't be happier. It was more expensive than some other places but definitely worth it - especially after our long flight from Los Angeles. Beds were great, staff was great, and our 4 year loved the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tawnya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 6,878 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#21 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 5,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing