We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Style Hotel in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #16 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Anantara is a Oasis in the otherwise hectic city life of Bangkok. Its a low rise building, made in a resort style, which differentiates it from the other riverside hotels.

Rooms are classy. Pool scene is very good. Staff is great. Their river transport service is unique and connects you with the BTS station. Asiatique, the night market opposite the hotel is good place to shop, dine and just have a lot of fun. The hotel has a ferry every 10 minutes.

Also, they have a McDonalds, Star Bucks and basic grocery and pharmacy store right outside the hotel.

The hotel concierge is very good.

Just a couple of points which I think they should improve are:

1) We are Vegetarians. But the hotel hardly had any veg dishes. Of these also, a few were not available. I would not expect this of a Five star.

2) Some of the rooms open into a passage which faces the central hotel lobby. We were on the third floor and post 7.30 am our sleep was a little disturbed with the activity below. I suggest go for a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Take a room on a higher floor. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,343 - 3,349 of 6,301 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this Resort - our 3rd booking at an Anantara Hotel in Thailand - and it won't be our last. We wanted a resort atmosphere, low rise , good food , quiet , and easy access to the city and shopping.
Our highlight was finding Asiatique , a new shopping/market/entertainment/bar and cafe centre , a short river shuttle away that opens 5.00pm till midnight. We went there most nights, and generally returned to the Hotel for dinner or supper.
Trader Vic's was our favourite eatery -- Only [the delightful front of house lady} and Chef Nan and their amazing staff were so friendly and obliging. The food may not be the cheapest in town, but it is very very good. Just try the Tropical prawn cocktail for two.
Breakfast -- everything one could want.
Lunch -- build you own sanwiches, very fresh bagettes,croisants , at the coffee bar , were the best. Staff are tops .Full marks Anantara for your training programs. See you soon we hope

Room Tip: Less mossies on the top foors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tophole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is a great find and great value for the money. Big beautiful rooms. The pool and grounds are good for all ages. But the best was the staff – professional and friendly (Volkert and Thippayarat)- Agoda did not book us the hotel transfer or the room with the river terrace and they took care of us immediately. We where only in Bangkok for 24-hour layover but we now will go back. Good place for kids young and old.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravevlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Anantara Riverside Spa and Resort is a nice hotel situated along the Chao Phraya, it has a number of restaurants within the grounds including a floating one.
It is a good quality hotel with two shuttle boat services to the Asiatique mall and to the Saphan Taksin BTS (SkyTrain) linking to numerous locations across Bangkok.
The staff are exceptionally polite and made the experience very enjoyable. Highly recommended if you want to relax next to the pool and occasionally pop into the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Have spent 3 nites in this resort with family and kid.
Pros:- The setting is nice with lots of trees. Swimming Pool is very nice and big enough with a resort feeling. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Breakfast is good and I go to take their breakfast aroung 830, not too crowded. Bed is comfortable. A new Samsung TV and plenty of channels for english speakers.

Cons:- Too many mosquitos around, my little daughter is the victim. Shampoo, foam bath and conditioner have not been refilled when we arrive. Location is a bit far though there is free boat ride provided every half an hour. Kids room.....really too old and need decoration.

Based on this price tag, I think it is still worth to stay in this hotel. However, as there are so many hotels to choose from in bangkok, I would prefer other newer hotels in the next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Anantara is always good quality hotels, and the Anantara Riverside Resort in Bangkok is no exception from this. It is a great place. a little far out from City Centre, but the shuttle boat sails every ½ hour and is free of charge. 15 min. and you are at the Central Pier from where the Sky Train and the Express Boat can be taken.
The hotel is a small oasis with a nice, but very crowded pool area. The rooms are comfortable - we had a Junior Suite, but surely less will do. The breakfast buffet is enormeous, and again very crowded with people, but it functions well nevertheless.
There are several restaurant choices at the hotel - Traders Vic, Benihana and Brio (Italian) and The Market Place offer a nice evening buffet with Thai Dancing and entertainment while you eat.
However, pricing in the restaurant are certainly on the absolute high side! And vey often people seem to choose to go to the Centre for the dinner.
All in all a nice place for some days in Bangkok.

Room Tip: A Junior Suite is nice and spacious. Also they have river and city view and a small balcony. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Enjoyable, clean and fresh on the river. Older rooms are nicely appointed and those overlooking the river with balcony are worth the time to ensure you get one.
Far enough from the smog of the city, but still only 20 minutes or so by shuttle into the heart of Bangkok.
If you are not doing business or into all-out shopping, this is a good choice for a Bangkok hotel.
The Pen is still my favourite if i am on business, but the Riverside is a really nice break.

Room Tip: A riverview is a must in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,552 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#40 of 887 in Bangkok
6,600 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $107 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing