We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort for a short Bangkok getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #22 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort for a short Bangkok getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

After six days in busy Sukhumvit we went to the Anantara for a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle over the Christmas weekend. We were not disappointed.

The resort had very polite, English speaking staff who were only too willing to help us with anything we asked. They even offered to upgrade our room to a lovely Junior Suite facing the pool. We politely declined so they suggested they show us the suite, along with the Deluxe room so we could choose. We accepted the Junior Suite.

The beds were great, shower was in the bath, a kettle with tea and coffee, plus bottles of water to clean our teeth. There was nothing we could fault.

The pool was gorgeous, not too hot or too cold. We could choose two towels per person which we found generous. The restaurants offered good food, breakfast was delicious, as you'd expect from a resort of this standard.

A boat shuttle ran every half hour to the nearest ferry dock and train station on the other side of the river.

Reception happily organised us a tuk tuk boat to take us for a two hour trip up the river with stops at Wat Arun and the Grand Palace, including a canal trip.

The resort organised for Santa and his singing helpers to pay everyone a visit by the pool on Christmas Day. It made the day seem a little more special. The children received a small gift from Santa.

We'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,757
    1,262
    262
    83
    26
See reviews for
1,466
2,346
234
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here on the 1st of January. Called earlier and asked what time was check in. The staff on the phone said 2pm. Arrived at the hotel at around 3pm. Front desk agent said rooms weren't ready yet and would take about 20 minutes. Sat and waited in the lobby for about almost an hour until we couldn't wait anymore cause my parents were tired and needed some rest. The staff apologized and got us a temporarily room to stay in while the other rooms were still being cleaned up. By the time we got our reserved rooms, it was almost 5pm. Suggestion: You need to have your rooms ready for guests when they check in. Getting a room at 5 pm when told on the phone 2pm is unacceptable. However providing a temporary room is courteous and professtional. Thank you for that nice gesture. I stayed in a junior suite in room 423. Room was nice, spacious, clean, and comfortable. Bathroom was grand, two sinks, shower, bathtub, bathroom, and a viewing mirror and stool. The bed was nice and comfy (had a pleasant nice sleep). Breakfast was fantastic with a large selections of food. River Terrace was good also, but I thought there should had a been a large selection and portions of food. Also, one of the staff gave us the wrong bill and charged in on my dad's credit card. He apologized and fixed the problem. Overall, great stay but still had some problems that need attention.

Room Tip: Junior suite with river view much better than normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLegend007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Have just returned form a holiday in Thailand that started in the Anantara. Our suite was so beautiful, comfortable beds and and quality linen. Food of a very high quality, and the bonus of the hotel shuttle boat.
However what made our stay so memorable was the exceptionally high quality of the service offered by every member of staff we came across. We truly felt pampered they made a stay in a beautiful hotel to something so memorable, that I cannot thank them enough.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a great river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We loved staying here at the Mariott Anantara, it has a boat that takes you up the river to the trasit system suplies you with cold bottled water and a cold towel just Brilient service and at a very good price, Staff Brilliant, hotel and food Briliant too..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed many times here before when it was still the Marriott Resort and Spa. Little has changed. It's not shining new anymore but still exceptionally beautiful.Some people have problems with the free shuttle boat. It's an asset: nice breeze and a drink on the way back home - great views on the river. The rooms are impeccable. Love the wooden floors rather than the usual carpet or tiles. The balconies i must say are not on par and some of the non river views are less than inspiring. Excellent breakfast buffet. Pool and jacuzzi are great. Evening seafood buffet and show are spectacular. Lots of green which you simply won't find in the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalperido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Former Marriot Riverside:
Nice Rooms and pool. Direct at the river with own ferry (every 30 min) to the public piers. Riverside restaurant with daily Big evening buffet. Around 600 bht to And from the Airport. Driving time depends: 30 to 60 min. Negative: prices for Dinner Drinks And others are exeptionel. Outside no restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwindi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Lancs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Anantara Hotel Bangkok (Riverside)

We stayed at the Anantara Hotel for 2 nights in November 2011 at the start of our holiday to Thailand.The hotel was very quiet due to the recent floods in the Bangkok area (despite the central areas of Bangkok being unaffected).

We had a standard room which was a good size and very clean, we had no issue with the room. We did not have breakfast included with the room but we didn't need it - we were too tiered after the trip! We did eat in the Numero Uno cafe which although slightly pricy due to being in the hotel was good. Drinks at the pool bar and the Elephant bar are again more expensive than in the bars outside of the hotel but to be expected in that standard of hotel. The Elephant bar shows the English football matches.

The pool is fantastic and the hotel is generally very exotic in appearance. The location of the hotel was good for us - just £3 approx to Ko San Road. The hotel provide a free boat every 30 mins to the Central pier from where you can catch other boats to the popular attractions, which is very pleasant and useful, the boat takes 15 mins although the connecting boats do not run in the evening.

Overall a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clare_g10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing