We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rate,,, aging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Duchess Hotel and Residences
Ranked #266 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enjoy having a suite, nice space, powerfully shower and maid service good. Furniture needs cleaned... As its showing wear...bed. Comfortable, the place has potential and they have taken good care of me on several visits. I'd love to see them change up some of the furniture, flat screen tvs and a bit of color on the walla would go a long ways to improving the look of the hotel.

Room Tip: Street view gives urban view of the city. Good location between sky train lines.... Villa market acr...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for The Duchess Hotel and Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May 2013 with a group of friends. We booked this hotel after reading the comments from TA. A good 3-5 mins walk from the main road (depending on your speed of walking).

Must note that when walking from Chidlom BTS, upon descending from the BTS exit staircase, to turn back from the staircase to the street just behind the staircase. We misread the map given and took a really long walk on really hot day, towards Witthayu road and ended up we had to take taxis to bring us to the right location.

Our rooms (3 in total) were standard hotel rooms with a pantry which were very useful to us since we don't have to wait for each other to use the basin. Nice room size but if only the bed was bigger (king size please). We had wanted 2 twin beds but they didn't have any then. So we (not small in size) have to squeeze in a "super queen" bed... kinda inconvenient.

Breakfast spread was just nice but I enjoyed the pastry more, true to many TA reviewers' report on their good pastry.

Overall, we do enjoy staying here and is rather convenient to shopping area, except that the walk to/from the chidlom BTS can be daunting if the weather is really hot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The very large clean rooms, well airconditioned hotel, enjoyable and comprehensive buffet breakfast, friendly service gets a thumbs up for me.
My wife and I started our Bangkok trip here and stayed for 3 nights.
Great location and near sky trains and other public transportation.
Value for money for sure.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papaown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This serviced apartment just about gets the thumbs up sign!!

Choose this hotel for its location. Nice family friendly road with an excellent selection of restaurants. It is on a 1 way though and if you take a taxi ride back from the central siam area you have to go all the way around

Last year we visited we stayed at the aetas 2 roads away and it was positively a far better place to stay. We only stayed here because they were willing to let 2 adults and 2 kids stay in a 1 bedroom apartment

The apartment was adequately furnished both soft and hard. The person who laid the tiles in our bathroom needs to be spanked. The shower floor is not sloped to drain and water flows out. You have to keep a couple of towels on the floor to soak up the water. There are 2 sizes of 1 bedroom apartments. The bigger one is better and totally worth the extra money. We were in 1106. My sister was in 1104 which was given to them as an upgrade as they had 2 kids with them. The bigger rooms are the corner rooms. 8 rooms per floor.

The smaller apartments have the washbasin outside the bathroom. Not good. If your partner is a light sleeper then he/she will definitely be disturbed if you use the washbasin at night. The wash basin is glass and shaky (1106 room)

The corridor outside smelled carpet musty. They do not have a treated fresh air system for the corridor. There is ac for the lift lobby but it is kept off most of the time. No TFA and a carpet is a bad idea. They should either put in a TFA or replace the carpet with stone tiles or wood flooring

The breakfast is super really good

But the cafe is really small and narrow. The whole entrance arrangement to the hotel is a bit disjointed. There are 3 separate entrances to the hotel. 1 to the cafe LeNotre. One to a lounge in the middle and 1 to the reception and elevator bank. All 3 spaces are interconnected. I am still wondering why....

Reception staff excellent and check in process super duper fast

Bell desk boys were a bit of rascals. Try to sell you private taxi service etc. You also have to specifically ask them to hail a meter taxi. The taxis outside will not go by meter. 500 THB ride to airport. By meter 300THB inclusive of tolls

The room key cards were super difficult to work. Both 1104 and 1106 were very difficult. Insert and remove and insert 10 to 20 times to get the green light. We got so many cards made at the reception when we were leaving we handed in about 12 cards for 2 rooms. Very irritating especially for kids to use on their own

When getting to the hotel the easiest landmark is the centre point hotel on Langsuan road. Its about 4 buildings after the muse hotel. You will not see the natural ville board

The restaurant 9th cafe is excellent casual dining

The restaurant Gaggan serving nouvelle indian cuisine by a chef owner trained under the great Ferran Adria (El Buli) is 2 buildings away. We could not get a reservation, but worth a try I guess as it is rated 10th in Asia. 1600THB per head for the 10 course tasting menu

Its an easy walk down to Pathumwan shopping and entertainment area. The closest BTS skytrain is the chidlom station on the green sukhumvit line. The Silom MRT line is better accessed by taxi. Choose the Silom station instead of the Lumpini park station

If you are just couple with 1 kid miximum choose the aetas or aetas residence on soi ruam rudee 2 roads away. One of my earlier reviews. Much better. Also soi ruamrudee is a 2 way street and not one way like langsuan road

This place must be great for long stays. We met someone who has been staying for the last 4 years with her husband....

I am giving cleanliness 1 star because the sofas arm rests in room 1104 had stains on them. I have photos on my cell which i will put up here

Room Tip: Ask for the corner suites. They are much better. 8 suites on a floor so there are 4 good ones on eac...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirstyTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChuckyBangkok, General Manager at The Duchess Hotel and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We certainly appreciate all your comments, and as you have noticed the apartments are in a poor state and fortunately we will be commencing our refurbishment in the next two months. That will certainly bring us back to being one of the leaders in Bangkok.
With regards to our bell boys this matter has been addressed and is resolved. Unfortunately we do not have any say over the taxis that stand right in front of our hotel as they are on public property, even though we have made 6 complaints to the police nothing comes out of it. This is a serious problem for Bangkok and does tarnish the 'Land of Smiles' image that Thailand is so well known for. I assure you that you will see a huge change once our property completes its refurbishment. Thank you again for your comments. And please do not refer your readers to another hotel as you have generally enjoyed your stay here,You certainly would have paid much more in the hotel that you refferred to that would not allow the children to stay with their parents in the same apartment. I believe this is a very important point. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have now stayed at the Natural Ville probably ten times and am always impressed with the property. The apartments are spacious and comfortable, the location is great for shopping as well as finding good restaurants within walking distance and the staff is friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi connection is very good and the gym well equipped. Rooms are being renovated which was needed as some of the older apartments are showing signs of wear. Breakfast is a delight with a good selection of cold items while the hot items tend to be more focused on their Asian clients. The breads and croissants are excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lumpini Park have a view and get the sun.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

While this is no 5 star hotel, the location of the hotel is unbeatable as it is on a beautiful tree lined Langsuan road, which is close to BTS Chidlom. The room is clean and has good ambiance. The bathroom is a bit small but it is also clean and functional. So, to sum it up, if you just want a good night sleep in a really good location in Bangkok at a reasonable price, then this hotel is for you. If you are more into fashionable facilities and room service, then you'd be better off booking a 5 star hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Apartment style room large and clean, although the water in the shower didn't flow into the drain hole and would sit adjacent to it. Nice to have the full kitchen, but they forgot to stock the basics such as seasonings and cooking oil.
They have an awesome breakfast buffet in Le Notre restaurant with hot Thai and American style foods which varied day to day and french pastries.
There was a female staff member seen coughing into her hands then handling food plates and utensils daily, disgusting.
The staff were never ready by the breakfast start time of 6am, which resulted in us missing the omlet station two mornings, but by the last morning they seem to have everything going on time and even had some nice music playing in the background.
We did buy the Ayutthaya tour through the concierge for more than our other tour members so be sure to shop around, despite the concierges insistence that they don't make any money off the tour.
Directly across the street there is a grocery store, it looks closed as it is on the ground floor of a business building, but it is open till 10pm.
The metro stations are a short walk away as are other small shops, ie Starbucks, Organic grocery store/restaurant.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greenbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
#73 of 879 in Bangkok
653 reviews
All Together Suite
#661 of 879 in Bangkok
27 reviews
Cape House, Bangkok
#62 of 879 in Bangkok
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kantary House, Bangkok
#345 of 879 in Bangkok
163 reviews
Bliston Suwan Park View
#256 of 879 in Bangkok
599 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
#197 of 879 in Bangkok
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duchess Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess Hotel and Residences

Address: 61 Langsuan Road, Lumpini | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Natural Ville Executive Residences)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#144 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#188 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $68 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duchess Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duchess Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Ville Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Natural Ville Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Natural Ville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing