We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic apartment in premium part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duchess Hotel and Residences
Ranked #252 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic apartment in premium part of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The first indication this is not a hotel but an apartment building is the lobby. Focal points are three near empty pastry display cases lit by white florescent bulbs. If this were a hotel it would rate the low side of 3 stars. Rented a 1 BR unit. The unit is spacious and the kitchen seemed adequate (did not use it). The springs of the sofa were worn out. We sat on stacked accent pillows to remain level. The fabric on the two dining room chairs was stained and the two small tube tv's appeared 15 years old. They required brightness adjustments every time they were turned on. The bed was firm and comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. The apartments, indeed the entire building suffers from beige-out. Everything is beige; furniture, drapes, carpets, hallways. Overall, it has an institutional feel to it.
The pool is swimming size and dimly lit at night, perfect for a romantic swim with your partner. Surrounded by nearby high rise buildings, its probably the only cool feature.
The restaurant appears to be an afterthought. Too little space to accommodate the breakfast crowd. The breakfast was adequate and varied. From Asian to Continental to American, including cooked to order eggs.
The registration staff appeared slightly bored and remote, probably because this is not a hotel, but an apartment building. However, the parking lot attendants were always attentive and helpful.
The hotel is located in a premium part of town near embassies and not too far from good department stores. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the Villa Grocery store across the street is exceptionally well-stocked with a surprising array of foodstuffs, ranging from American junk food to French Champagnes. It also has a remarkable selection of wines.
All in all, a convenient set-up for stays over a week. If your trip is shorter than that, spend an extra $40 per night and stay in a four star hotel in a more convenient location.
TIPS:
- Get a room on a high floor facing the street. The units in the rear face a tall apartment building, close enough you could carry on a conversation with its occupants if you opened the windows. Zero privacy and views.
- Get a card from the reception desk showing the address of the building in Thai. We had a hard time finding taxi drivers who knew how to get to the building and, apparently, even fewer knew how to read a marked map.
- Ask the parking attenants to flag down a taxi. They will jump out onto the street to do it and tell the driiver in Thai your destination. Note, there are always taxis in front of the building. Just make sure they have the meter on when you get in. If not, just say "meter please" and they will
do so.
- Unless you enjoy dining alone in the NV's restaurant, as my wife and I did upon our arrival day, go to any of the nearby luxury hotel restaurants or European styled restaurants down the block. Entrees at NV run from $15-$30 per entree, which is substantial for Thailand. The food is merely OK and the portions are small.
- Visit nearby Lumpini park in the morning. An absolute delight. The park is well maintained and spotting the giant lizards (related to the Komono dragons) is a hoot.

Room Tip: High floor,front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    270
    60
    11
    8
See reviews for
67
129
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nothing wrong with the hotel and services but nothing extra ordinary either.
Good price for the 1 bed apartment but might find cheaper in the same level of hotel in BKK.
Bathroom shower clogs, towels not replaced. One evening I return at 8 pm and the room isnt serviced. They promptly sent 2 housekeepin guys to do up my room. Great service and least expected. I extended my stay with latestays and luckily was able to stay in the same room. Thats greatly appreciated as hate having to move rooms. Apartments has fully rquipped kitchen with huge fridge and lots of glasses, crockery and cutlery. Nice touch of some fruits too...
Internet in room is free but business centre is 110 baht for 30 mins, found that to be absurd.
Breakfast was just mediocre , juices are canned not always fresh. A little more variety wud be nice. French restaurant in the hotel is very expensive and thats the only room service available. Having said that they have a Food By Phone guide in the apt. Well appreciated in case to tired to go out and want to order in.
Villa market right across,7-11 is 2 mins walk away, Central chitlom 5 mins, Crepes and Co is 2 mins and so is Starbucks. GOOD LOCATION AND QUIET STREET , NOT ALWAYS EASY TO GET A CAB.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Been to Bangkok many times and this is probably the lousiest hotel I've stayed in.
It's about a 300m walk to Ratchadamri BTS( just cross the road and walk straight) and 600m walk to Chidlom BTS (just turn right when you exit hotel and walk straight). Though the walk to Chidlom BTS is longer but there're restaurants and spas aplenty, including a 7-11. The shorter walk to Ratchadamri BTS has nothing but office buildings.
Concierge: 1/5 (not friendly)
Housekeeping: 5/5 (fast and friendly)
Room: 4/5 (good sized room)
Cleanliness of room: 2/5
Shower room: 0/5 (water ponding in shower area due to bad design; water is either too hot or too cold)
TV: 4/5 (2 flat screens. The one in the living room has a dvd player with soundbar)
Restaurant: 3/5 (very limited selection for breakfast, but pastries are good and the capuccino's good)
I would not choose to stay here again given that there're better hotels & serviced apartments in better locations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stay six nights at the Natural Ville hotel, my stay could have been five stars. Could, yes...

Overall the quality of this hotel is the infrastructure and the problem is the lack of service and training in some areas.

Welcoming was very good, the security guard - skinny gentleman - at the parking area was very helpful every time and had a real sense of hospitality.
Front desk and Bellman staff, luggage and concierge service were good as well. Mention to Khun Benyawan - sorry for spelling - for her positive attitude, as well as her elegance in guest service. She handled a situation with a true professionalism, situation which could have seen me checking out very unhappy.

My one bedroom was huge and looked more like a 5 star Junior Suite. During my third stay I even have been upgraded to the higger category. Amazing value.
The entire kitchen is well furnished. The only element which could have been there was a basic kitchen set including sponge, basic cleaning products, salt, pepper, oil...
At less, the set could have been sell upon check in and even bring revenue to the hotel in that way.

The housekeeping staff were very accomodating and available any time. But it is the first hotel were you don't find your room as it was upon check-in after the turndown - bed setup.

The buffet at breakfast was good and staff friendly, same experience for lunch.
For breakfast the staff should be more careful about breakfast ticket cause I really could have eat without paying as no one asked about it.

The business center staff was excellent, also very helpful and efficient.

On the other hand, experience at the fitness center was average. But once again, the room is very well furnished.

Would recomend and be back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobtrotShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying with this hotel (me and my wife) but couldn't wait to write the review. Right from the point of location, which is right off the metro line to the hotel reception where we got upgraded suite, this place has been great.

The apartments are in excellent conditions, the hotel staff is very very helpful and the hustle bustle of the city which is only a short walk away is not at all disturbing within the confines of the hotel.

The quaint little French cafe downstairs is quite relaxing as well.

We asked the hotel for a late check out for 1600 hours but the hotel could only accommodate us till 1400 hrs... which really isn't all that bad. And believe me, this is the only point of concern at all we have had.

I will definitely like to stay here again whenever I am here next.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karanbhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimbaran, Bali
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been using Natural Ville regularly for the past years either for business or pleasure, and always felt at home. Spacious well cleaned rooms, excellent breakfast and wonderful ambience at the bar for having a drink or a meal.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing the front as on the back there is a construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoTreeVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

With Wife and 1 year old Baby.

We all loved the Deluxe Double Room - 75 Sqm, Nice room, more space, modern style of interior and fully equipped of kitchen with a very nice of city view. Quiet location (No Pubs or Clubs nearby)

The hotel staff was friendly and very very helpful (Since I have a baby with me)
Near Central shopping area.

I will return to stay here

Room Tip: NOTE: There is a supermarket that caters to Expats living in the area with a large selection across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imgod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
#95 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Sukhumvit
Executive Club at Windsor
Executive Club at Windsor
#403 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Bliston Suwan Park View
#230 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
All Together Suite
#700 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Cape House, Bangkok
#67 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duchess Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess Hotel and Residences

Property: The Duchess Hotel and Residences
Address: 61 Langsuan Road, Lumpini | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Natural Ville Executive Residences)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#144 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#174 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duchess Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duchess Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Ville Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Natural Ville Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Natural Ville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing