We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place nice staffs live roof top bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #104 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed there with my special friend. The hotel location is extremely out standing near the shopping mall!! kinda heaven for shopaholic like us! all staffs are super friendly! we met a manager she is such a service mind and stylish person in the elevator. she recommended us to visit roof top bar in 24th floor. it' such a fabulous place ever! love it and for sure we will come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebbastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Sebbastain,

Greetings from Bangkok.

Thank you very much for having stayed with us recently and for your positive comments, especially regarding the friendly attitude of our manager, which we value a lot.

Our Blue Sky rooftop bar is indeed a great place to relax while watching the city skyline after an intense day of shopping at the large department store next to our hotel.

In case you are not a Centara The 1 Card loyalty program member yet, I kindly suggest you to enroll yourself via this web link: http://centara1card.com as you can receive many rewards being a member when staying at any Centara hotel.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back again to our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Recently I stayed at the Centara Grand at Ladprao and was pleasantly surprised by the facilities. The hotel was well maintained, clean, and spacious. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The hotel itself has several good quality restaurants, and if you prefer something else, you could just walk a short distance to the Central Plaza Mall where you can find more restaurants and shopping.
This hotel is conveniently located near shopping mall and close to the local airport. Best of all, the rate was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfrancisco201025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Bangkok.

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our hotel offering you great value for money which is highly appreciated.

It is very nice to read that you experienced our room and hotel facilities to be clean and well maintained and that our wide range of restaurants offered you pleasant and quality dining experiences, as well as our hotel being at a very convenient location for both your shopping and travelling to the airport.

In case you are not a Centara The 1 Card loyalty program member yet, I kindly suggest you to enroll yourself via this web link: http://centara1card.com as you can receive many rewards being a member when staying at any Centara hotel.

On behalf of the entire team at the Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok I would like to thank you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had booked for Club Deluxe room in July. As it was monsoon season and our kid was not even 2 yrs old we were apprehensive about too much sight seeing. Centara is linked to Central Plaza. I think this is one of the best hotels to stay in, if you have limitation in moving around.
Central Plaza is quite a big mall so a shopper can spend some good time here. However most of the stuff here is branded and the prices are not exactly cheap. In the basement of the mall though you may get some good bargains.
Also incase you are not very found of trying out Thai food you can find Mc Donalds, KFC, Cold stone etc here.
The Hotel club lounge serves snacks almost throughout the day. So incase you are determined to stay in the hotel it makes real good sense to go for the club deals.
There are not many things around the hotel however if you are at the hotel during the weekend you should not miss the Chatuchak market. The hotel offers complimentary drops every 2-3 hours.
Then there is Dusit Zoo which is also in close proximity.
Coming back to the hotel. The aesthetics of the hotel is slightly old fashioned but well maintained. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool not very big and situated very far away from the rooms in one corner. It wasn't very inviting.
We did not dine at any of the restuarants but ordered food by room service. The food was excellent which is very rare. In most hotels room serviced food is not great but here it was wonderful. Breakfast is served a Chatuchak cafe. It had a good variety of Thai and continental cuisines. Breads and cakes were limited though.
Most of the staff is really friendly. I was traveling with my wife and 1.8 yr old kid. It was really nice to see how the staff would interact my kid and make him comfortable.
There is one thing that I really appreciate about Centara is some of their good practices and care in ensuring our comfort.
Every time we would call for a cab. The bell boy would hand over a card which mentions the car no., brand, color etc.
We had kept our digicam in the our childs stroller. This one time on when we called for a cab we accidently dropped the camera in the trunk of the cab. I had lost any hopes of finding the camera. But my wife was very disappointed about losing the camera which was filled with memories. She said lets at least have a word with the Bell captain if anything was found at the hotel entrance. I must say the Bell Captain acted like a true captain. He enquired in the lost and found. Unfortunately nothing was found. He then took all the details of the camera, the cab, time of the event etc and said that he would check if it could be found. We had little hope of finding our camera as we were checking out the next day. A few hours when we were reached the hotel. The Bell Captain exclaimed “Madam! You are really very lucky”. I couldn’t believe our luck on how the Bell Captain got in touch with the cab driver and got the camera delivered. Full marks to the Bell Captain.
However, on our way back to the airport once we sat in the taxi, the cab driver insisted they he would not be going by the meter and demanded charges as THB 500 + toll charges extra. So we ended up paying THB 630 for our drive back to the airport.
I thought the hotel should of informed us before we got into the taxi that the cab driver would not be following the meter.
Overall, it was very pleasant stay at Centara Ladprao and wouldn't think twice about staying there.

Room Tip: Go for the Club Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Vineet K,

Warm greetings from Bangkok and hope life is treating you well in Mumbai.

We are extremely happy to read that you think our hotel is one of the best hotels to stay in here in Bangkok and that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you very much for the positive comments on our Club Lounge services, our hotel location being good for shopping and our good room service & breakfast food quality. Hereby I would like to inform you that our swimming pool area will be completely renovated end this year and we will have great new pool facilties for all our guests.

Your kind words on our Bell Captain going out of his way to find back your lost photo camera and succeeding in doing so are very much appreciated and we will surely reward him for his excellent service provided to you.

In case you are not a Centara The 1 Card loyalty program member yet, I kindly suggest you to enroll yourself via this web link: http://centara1card.com as you can receive many rewards being a member when staying at any Centara hotel.

The entire team here at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok would like to thank you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was a very cozy hotel. Near to Central Plaza Mall for some shopping and good Nuat Thai.The room was clean and the facilities were well-maintained. The amenities were also good. If you want to have easy access going out of the city, this is the perfect place to stay because it just a minute away from the expressway.

You may also want to have enjoy the night in Blue Sky- a bar on top of the hotel and have a glimpse of the city at night.

Room Tip: Request for a room on higher floors because the hotel is beside the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirciram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sirciram,

Hope that all is well with you in Petaling Jaya.

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us which is much appreciated.

It pleases us to read that you found our room cleanliness and facilities to be of a very high standard and that our hotel location was perfect for you for both shopping and travelling out of the city.

Our Blue Sky roof top bar and restaurant is indeed a very good place to unwind and relax at night while overlooking the magnificent Bangkok skyline.

In case you are not a Centara The 1 Card loyalty program member yet, I kindly suggest you to enroll yourself via this web link: http://centara1card.com as you can receive many rewards being a member when staying at any Centara hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok I would like to thank you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights there. Gym facility is old and rusty. Do not have individual TV for each machine. WiFi only for 1 equipment. Additional gadget has to pay. Club lounge open until 7PM for alcohol, which usually that is when people return to the hotel. On my first evening, I got to the lounge at 7:05 and they refused to serve me a glass of wine. The only consolation is that the hotel does have good italian restaurant. However, the ventilation is poor and you smell like kitchen staff after your meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Bangkok.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us regarding our gym, internet pricing and Club Lounge as this enables us to to further enhance on our facilities and services.

Your comments will be shared with our team and we will put measures in place to make the necessary improvements.

We were happy to read though that you were overall satisfied with your dining experience at our
Don Giovanni Italian restaurant.

Your sincerely,


Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Newly renovated 5 star hotel everything is beautiful and comfortable
If you love to shopping to central ladprao this hotel is suitable for walk about 5 min to shopping center and have many shop in underground ( not expensive)
The international buffet is ok , swimming pool is surround with many tree
The room is newly decoration clean and beautiful modern swimin
Staff service is helpful and warm greeting

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patporn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Khun Patporn,

Thank you very much for having stayed with us recently and for your nice review comments.

It pleases us very much to read that you were impressed by the service level provided to you by our staff as well as our nice tropical garden & swimming pool and that you enjoyed staying in our newly renovated rooms.

It is indeed very easy to go shopping with the Central Department Store conveniently located right next to our hotel.

Our entire team is very appreciative and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here mid 2012 in a club deluxe room. Club services and staff were excellent.

Enjoyed everything about our stay here including the staff, restaurants and our lovely room. Would like to make a special mention of the Club staff though as they were so helpful and really went out of their way to make this a pleasant stay.

The hotel is attached to a big shopping mall so the credit card got a nice workout during our stay!

My only criticism is that during our short stay the tour booking desk was not open to assist us booking any tours while we were there and this was disappointing.

Room Tip: Recommend staying on a room with club access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatL700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Madam,

I hope all is well with you in Canberra!

Thank you very much for having stayed with us last year and for your nice comments about our hotel and in particular on our Executive Club staff who did a great job in making your stay a very pleasant one.

I will certainly share your appreciation with the Club team and they will be rewarded for that as well.

Am sorry to read about the tour desk being closed at certain times last year. We have changed the system and are handling all tour bookings ourselves nowadays and it is possible to make tour bookings basically 24 hours a day with our concierge.

If you plan to come back to visit us or one of our other Centara Hotels, may I suggest you that you check our new program the Centara 1 Card. Just click on the web link of Centara 1 card and discover the many rewards you can get by enrolling into our customer loyalty program.

Our team is very appreciative and we hope to welcome you back again soon here in Bangkok.

Best regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
AETAS bangkok
#65 of 893 in Bangkok
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#56 of 893 in Bangkok
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#95 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing