We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As you would expect....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #109 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“As you would expect....”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed in many 5 star hotels in Bangkok and Centara Grand Lad Prao certainly holds its own.

Check in was super smooth and the service from the front door to our room was faultless. We were in 1515 which as a excellent view across Bangkok.

The room exceeded my expectation, after services were also top notch.

My daughter found the pool fine, although at £8 for coke and a beer I didn't have any more drinks, these prices are 5 star and up with any western hotel.

The breakfast was ok, just enough to keep a western visitor like myself happy.

I have to say I'll be stopping here again because I'm writing this review from my room on our 2nd visit this month and we're due to stop again next week.

You also need to try the Sky bar on 24th floor, outstanding.

Room Tip: Upgrade to premium deluxe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Belper!
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
If you wish to come back to visit us or one of our Centara Hotels , may I suggest you that you check our new program the Centara 1 Card. Just click on the web link of Centara 1 card and discover the many rewards you can get by enrolling into our customer loyalty program.

The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    459
    128
    47
    22
See reviews for
167
300
81
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In real estate, its location that impresses above all. And so to here, right in the midst of where in Bangkokians live. So you will be surrounded by locals, not throngs of tourists. We've been returning here for over a decade -- and sampling so many other hotel properties in between -- and this is a better location that those properties on crowded roads around Silom& Sukhumvit. Extremely close to the old Don Muang airport, and surprisingly to new Suvarnabhumi because of direct toll way access. Best of all, its near the weekend Chatuchak market. The Centara grand is linked immediately to a vast shopping centre and cinema. Plus the hotel has 7 food outlets, and so many more in the mall as well. Then there is the staff, who treat us like family. We weren't won over by the brand new renovations, but everything else outweighs. We'll come back! Globetrotting Gourmet

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite or a corner room. It's worth the extra. And the exec lounge is excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetr0ttingG0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Sydney!
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
If you wish to come back to visit us or one of our Centara Hotels , may I suggest you that you check our new program the Centara 1 Card. Just click on the web link of Centara 1 card and discover the many rewards you can get by enrolling into our customer loyalty program.

The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

For a 5 star hotel we were disappointed with this hotel. We were on the 6th floor. The corridor smelt with a mixture of what smelt like boiled cabbage and cigarette smoke. We were in a non smoking room. The airconditioning control in the room didn't seem to work. We were contacted in our room at 11.45pm about a mistake with our bar bill which could have waited until the morning instead of waking us up. At the breakfast buffet when we returned to the table with our second helping our dirty plates were still on the table.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Miss Dawn
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Brisbane !
I would like to thank you to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay.
It seems obvious that you did not fully enjoy our services and facilities being disturb by smells in the corridor and defects in our Air conditioning system.
We will take the appropriate measure on the hotel services deficiencies, as well as brief our employee not to disturb guest at odd hours.
If you wish to come back to visit us or one of our Centara Hotels , may I suggest you that you check our new program the Centara 1 Card. Just click on the web link of Centara 1 card and discover the many rewards you can get by enrolling into our customer loyalty program.

The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is situated at the Lad Phrao Toll and close to the Chatuchak market which is fun to wander around. The rooms have been fairly recently renovated and that is a good thing as it was looking quite tired last year. The facilities are very good and the hotel is linked to a decent mall for shopping and wandering in the downtimes. The restaurant offers a good selection of international food and the service is attentive. There is often a band playing in the evening so the bar is the place to be. Another plus is that it is not too far from the domestic airport and also striking distance of Suvarnahumi international.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the main highway as it can be intrusive from the high volume of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Ian
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Chelmsford!
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities. I am glad that you appreciate the esthetics results of our recent renovation.
If you decide to come back to Thailand, may I suggest you that you check our new program the Centara 1 Card. Just click on the web link of Centara 1 card and discover the many rewards you can get by enrolling into our customer loyalty program.
On you next visit you could enjoy free internet access as one of our new feature!
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OKI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Centara Ladprao a few times over the past year in the regular rooms, the corner rooms, and once on the club level. I suggest spending the extra money if you can and get the higher floor corner rooms. They are very nice, well appointed, nice work area, and good views. Plus traffic noise is minimized.

The hotel is attached to the Central Plaza shopping center which has many upscale stores, with many places to eat and a grocery store on the lowest floor. MTR stop is also a short walk and give good access to the city.

The hotel has some decent places to eat although service can be hit or miss. The breakfast buffet is adequat but can be really crowded depending on the number of tourists at the hotel and time of morning. There have always been tour buses coming and going when I have been there.

The pool area is nice with a bar and places to lounge and just hang out if you want. The gym is good enough for a decent workout, albeit there are not many aerobic type machines.

The club lounge is nice with a good varity of drinks and finger foods, and a very relaxing place to kick back.

The bar on the first floor is very nice but way overpriced. Small mug of beer for like $8USD. If they added pint glasses that would make it much better! The Sky Bar on top of the hotel is a great place and service has been excellent when I have been there.

The Wifi is a pain as you can only access it in your room without paying double the price to get access say in the lobby bar or elsewhere. That and the overpriced drinks are my main complaints.

Overall I like the Centara Ladprao and will continue staying there when working on the north side of Bangkok.

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms or club rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bconwayOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sir
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities. I am glad that you enjoy in particular the services and features of our Club Floor.
If you decide to come back to Thailand, may I suggest you that you check our new program the Centara 1 Card. Just click on the web link of Centara 1 card and discover the many rewards you can get by enrolling into our customer loyalty program.
On you next visit you could enjoy free internet access as one of our new feature!

The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall this hotel is a pretty good hotel with everything working. The staff are efficient.

The rooms are very good. Again no complaints in this department.

The pool is a little quite old fashion. The garden is fantastic with matured trees.

The breakfast buffet could be better.

The one not very good thing about this hotel is access to the sky train. It is a long walk to the station. The hotel should have regular shuttles to/from the BTS station.

If you have to stay in this location for some particular reasons this is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Lan,

Warm greetings from Bangkok!

I hope that is well with you in your beautiful city Saigon.

I would like to thank you for not only having chosen our hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.

We are pleased to inform you that there is a renovation in the planning by end this year for our swimming pool area as to enhance our facilities for our guests.

Your comment regarding breakfast is duly noted and we will review this with our Executive Chef.

Am very sorry to read that you probably were not aware of our free shuttle service to the Morchit BTS station which runs 9 times a day from our hotel. Furthermore there is a MRT station next to the hotel on 2 minutes walking distance with direct access to the city center as well, arriving at the city center within 15 minutes.

Our Centara hotel team is very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok.

Kind Regards,

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is 4th time we are staying at this hotel and it is really amazing. Excellent Interiors, Hospitality, Ambience and No words to describe the Sky Bar on 56th Floor. Don't ever miss, to feel the sky bar experience, with your loved one's.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the higher possible floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Navrosh,

Warm greetings from Bangkok.

We hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Secunderabad.

Thank you very much for having stayed with Centara Grand in Bangkok and for your nice comments regarding the Sky Bar being amazing.

After reading your comments It might be the case that you have stayed at our sister hotel the Centara Grand and Bangkok Convention Centre at CentralWorld as they have a sky bar on the 54 & 55th floor.

We will pass on your your message to the General Manager of our sister hotel and I am sure he will be delighted to hear of your wonderful comments.

The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

Jeroen Jolij
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,130 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#70 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#99 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing