We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #110 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
“very good hotel”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent choice if you have to be in that area. Very reasonable price. Good service, I could check in at 830 am when I arrived from the airport. Very nice pool and good choice of restaurants. Will come back when I get the chance.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Sebastiaan
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Delft!
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    454
    127
    47
    21
See reviews for
165
293
81
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Cannot speak too highly of this Hotel. The staff were friendly and INCREDIBLE, most notably pool bar attendants, concierge and doormen... nothing was too much trouble and they all made our stay better than we imagined.
Heaps of choice re restaurants and outdoor areas to enjoy. The rooftop bar and restaurant offers incredible views, incredible food and great friendly service.
Gorgeous rooms, comfy beds and the BEST SERVICE ever.
Want to go back to Bangkok, and will only ever stay here!
This 5 star Hotel was definitely 5 star everything in our books.

Room Tip: Our room was great, 45th floor views included. I don't know what other rooms were like, but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanandSueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of New Plymouth !
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
Since you mention that you stay on the 45th floor I would presume that it was at our sister hotel , the Centara Grand at Central World...I will pass on your compliments to my colleagues at this property.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed one night on my way to Sydney and it was for sure a very pleasent experience.
The room is very nice, so is the bathroom - I will qoute my 8 year old son "mummy we have won the lottery". And everything was very nice.
We arrived late so we ordered room service, the food was great but on the very expensive side for Thailand. Even more expensive was the minibar prices - 90 baht for s Coke which you can buy in a supermarket for 10! I am absolutely fine with higher prices on luxury hotels but this was too steep.

We booked limo pick up from the airport and that worked perfectly.

So all in all I am looking forward to my second stay here end of March.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birkbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Birkerod !
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Room was clean, bed was good and I slept like a baby, bathroom was nice. Breakfast was standard fares. There's a nice shopping complex called Central Plaza which is 5 minutes of walking. Nearest BTS station is Mochit and the hotel provide free shuttle bus to the station every hour. For me, it is a nice hotel overall, but only if you happen need to be in the area as there's nothing much here.

For muslim traveller, its quite hard to find Halal food at this part of town. Your best bet will be at Central Plaza which is a kebab stall near Tops supermarket & at JJ market near the clock tower which is a stall selling rice and such.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERLOOVILLE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Meet and greet was as always when in Thailand, warm and very helpfull well trained staff. I had selected a club room on top 6 floors with the use of the club services. Rooms, bed, bathrooms very good. All food services of high standard everywhere. Good shopping attached to the hotel. But there is not much else around the hotel grounds should one wish to take a stroll, as motorways and I do mean 8 lane motorways surround you. There is however well off the walk ways a underground station that can speed you away to more easy downtown sites of which I love more than here...
Travel tip: Dont come to this hotel to use the internet it is so poor I will not return ever. Unless it is greatly improved as in this day and age is the poorest service ever had in Thailand. Not only is it not user friendly where as one has to keep constantly relog on from areas to areas with in the hotel crazy. So iphone users to ipad users or laptops you can only use one of them at any one time. If you can get on that is, so not a stable service. You Have been warned

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Waterloo Ville.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note about your comments on the access to Wi-Fi which you feel was too slow and troublesome.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

was there with my girl friend on 29th of Dec and had my worst dining experience from blue sky open space roof top dining experience and indoor dining experience. had contacted the manager but was given a can of insect repellent during out DINNER?....anyway, thanks the staff there for breeding the mosquito and feeding them with our blood and free ugly swollen and itchy bites gifts

Room Tip: Try to avoid their bluesky restaurant, that was a mosquito breeding and feeding area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricLim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Lim
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Singapore !
I am sorry to hear that you have to been troubled by the mosquito’s invasion in our Blue Sky restaurant.
We will take the appropriate measures to eradicate this problem.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booked for 5 nights during Christmas. Got the limousine transport but the driver was nowhere to be seen at the airport. Had to ask the people from other hotels "Where is the driver from Centara Grand?!". Anyway, he showed up 2 minutes later and drove smoothly to the hotel (90 minutes in rush hour).
Check in was smooth and was then led up to the room.
Room was pretty small and the circular bath was interesting.
Rooms were fine, not much issues and they do have lots of TV channels. Wifi was ok but you had to keep logging in, which was annoying.

Breakfast was fine, with nice hot crispy croissants. Unfortunately, coffee was terrible. Some queues in the morning, which is to be expected during peak season.

Did try room service, their 'thin slice' pizza is one inch thick and other food were terrible. Don't ever order room service! Goto the mall downstairs!

Wanted to try the pool on Level 26 but found it was so polluted (coz the hotel is on the main road, it felt like you were lounging in the street), so we gave it a miss.

The spa was excellent and both my wife enjoyed it, very professionally trained.

I certainly recommend this hotel despite some shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Hong Kong.
I would like to thank you the review and comments you have made about the services and facilities. I presume that you refers about our sister hotel the Centara Grand at Central World.
Nevertheless next time your visit Bangkok you may want to try our property situated on the Lad Prao area.
I will convey your message to the General Manger of our sister hotel, whom I am sure it will be eager to read your comments
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Lad Prao - Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 852 in Bangkok
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#65 of 852 in Bangkok
4,991 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#69 of 852 in Bangkok
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#99 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing