We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosquito experience at Blue sky restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #110 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mosquito experience at Blue sky restaurant”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

was there with my girl friend on 29th of Dec and had my worst dining experience from blue sky open space roof top dining experience and indoor dining experience. had contacted the manager but was given a can of insect repellent during out DINNER?....anyway, thanks the staff there for breeding the mosquito and feeding them with our blood and free ugly swollen and itchy bites gifts

Room Tip: Try to avoid their bluesky restaurant, that was a mosquito breeding and feeding area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricLim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Lim
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Singapore !
I am sorry to hear that you have to been troubled by the mosquito’s invasion in our Blue Sky restaurant.
We will take the appropriate measures to eradicate this problem.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    459
    128
    47
    22
See reviews for
167
300
81
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booked for 5 nights during Christmas. Got the limousine transport but the driver was nowhere to be seen at the airport. Had to ask the people from other hotels "Where is the driver from Centara Grand?!". Anyway, he showed up 2 minutes later and drove smoothly to the hotel (90 minutes in rush hour).
Check in was smooth and was then led up to the room.
Room was pretty small and the circular bath was interesting.
Rooms were fine, not much issues and they do have lots of TV channels. Wifi was ok but you had to keep logging in, which was annoying.

Breakfast was fine, with nice hot crispy croissants. Unfortunately, coffee was terrible. Some queues in the morning, which is to be expected during peak season.

Did try room service, their 'thin slice' pizza is one inch thick and other food were terrible. Don't ever order room service! Goto the mall downstairs!

Wanted to try the pool on Level 26 but found it was so polluted (coz the hotel is on the main road, it felt like you were lounging in the street), so we gave it a miss.

The spa was excellent and both my wife enjoyed it, very professionally trained.

I certainly recommend this hotel despite some shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Hong Kong.
I would like to thank you the review and comments you have made about the services and facilities. I presume that you refers about our sister hotel the Centara Grand at Central World.
Nevertheless next time your visit Bangkok you may want to try our property situated on the Lad Prao area.
I will convey your message to the General Manger of our sister hotel, whom I am sure it will be eager to read your comments
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Lad Prao - Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is our first stay in Bangkok. We are on honeymoon and it has not let us down. It is truly a 5 star rating in terms of its feel, look, food and service. The breakfast offering is the best I have ever experienced. There is everything you can imagine you would want to eat from full English to pancakes, smoothies, croissants and even sushi if desired. It caters for all.
There is a lovely pool which gets sun on it all day. Also recommend the Caesar salad for lunch.
Thanks to all the lovely staff for making it a great stay.
Only one down side is the location which is 20 min taxi to sukhumvit road. That said taxis are cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Rob
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Leeds !
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

been there twice .. first time it was old style ( room ) but after i been there for 2nd times ohhh surprise me there all new look ( room design ) i like for new style city living.. service are helpfull and room service they're nice also foods so yummy.. of cause i planing to stay there again..

Room Tip: abit far from city and the area it traffic!!! but 1 thing it next to big shopping mall ( Central Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gappza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Hope that life is treating you well in our beautiful city of Bangkok.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was a surprise package - i planned to stay here for one night(sunday night) due to its proximity to the Chatuchak Weekend market. I was given an upgrade and the room was just awesome. The food is not that great, but the room and property are cool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayushmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful State of Bangalore.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great Hotel. For a little over $100 per night, we got:

deluxe room
2 complimentary breakfast buffet daily
wifi
access to resort style swimming pool and gym

This is a great hotel. The deluxe room is comparable to 4 stars hotels in Europe...been there and done that!..for the price that is much less.

Room Tip: Reques for the deluxe room on the high floor on the BACK SIDE of the hotel. The front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siraseranant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Springfield.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. It is a very modern hotel. Breakfast was very good. However we will not stay at this hotel again. Check in at reception was a real mood breaker when you arrive there. We have stayed at a Centara resort in Phuket and thought that we will receive the same treatment there but however not. Some of the staff are friendly and really helpful but others are just really annoyed as if you are bothering them while they work. Communication is a bit of a problem there and as soon as staff do not understand you they just laugh and talk to the other staff at reception in Thai, enjoying their own little private joke, which is really annoying. Bedrooms and swimming pool area is great. I have got mixed feelings about this place... nice hotel but some staff members don't represent the friendly Thailand factor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Ms Clarissa
I would like to thank you to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay.
I am really sorry that the lack of respect of certain member of the team did affect your stay .We will share your comments with our collaborators and continue to strive for improvement.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#51 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,118 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#69 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing