We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came in with good first impression, left with nothing but disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #109 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Came in with good first impression, left with nothing but disappointment”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for a long weekend with my family and girlfriend a couple weeks ago. We chose this hotel initially because we wanted to go the chaktuchak market during weekend as well as the small malls and central mall attached next to the hotel.

The lobby looks pretty big and grand as the long sofas give you ample of space to sit down. Check-in time was acceptable although the front desk agent wasn't as friendly maybe because she didnt really comprehend english.

We were given three rooms (610.611.612) so it was pretty convenient for us to find each other. The rooms were neat and tidy especially the bathroom as it looks very modern.

Next morning when we were about to go downstairs for breakfast the bathroom there was a foul sewage smell. We called housekeeping to follow on that while we were out and the smell was gone by the time we came back late at night.

The same smell came up again the next morning after flushing and this time it was even worse. I had no choice but to spray my adidas deodorant to neutralize the smell. This time i didnt bother calling housekeeping because we were going to leave the next day anyway.

Overall, i am quite impressed with the refurbishment of his hotel (aside from the sewage smell in the bathroom) until the last day when we headed down for breakfast at their coffee shop/restaurant.

For the past few days, the servers/waiters' service were below par but we overlooked it because the food was pretty good especially the croissant and danish.

As we were going in to the coffee shop we saw a signage that said "men are not allowed to wear singlets" (along the lines of). I was wearing a tank top with shorts. There was no hostess at the counter so one of the waiters came and told me to put on a tshirt because men wearing singlets or tanktops arent allowed to enter. I was surprised because the signage wasnt there for the past two days so i replied to the waiter that i wore the exact same thing yesterday and the day before but no one approached me at all with this concern. I guess she didnt understand english so she just directed us to a table. When we were walking towards the table another waiter told me to leave because i wasn't following the dress code. The thing that really irritated me was her attitude. On top of that, what makes men wearing tanktops worse than women wearing spaghetti tops? I didn't see any one wearing suits or whatsoever, so i don't see the point at all in enforcing this policy.

I went back up to change because i wanted to eat instead of dealing with waiters who dont care about their guests' feelings.

When my family came down as well, no one came to offer coffee/tea and set up the cutleries. Needless to say, i was
beyond dissappointed.

No - i won't be staying at this hotel again. I've never recieved poor service in the past hotels i stayed before in bkk so i was pretty upset.

If you are all about the value, this hotel could be right for you. But ifyou also value service, never go to this hotel please. I honestly didnt need a server to ruin my day especially when i was on a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Marcus
I would like to thank you & you family to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, I am very sorry to read that you were not totally satisfied with our services and facilities.
We have taken good note of the recurrent bad smell problems in your bathroom.
In relation to the clothing attire in our restaurant , if we do have to enforce some standards, we should have shown more clemency on this instance.
We will brief accordingly the concerned persons to act with a more diplomatic approach!
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    459
    128
    47
    22
See reviews for
167
300
81
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went to Bangkok for Business purpose and stayed at Centara Grand for a week. Overall if you look at the Lobby it looks good in terms of property they have put up. I was put up on 18th floor which was a smoking floor and it was stinking because they use carpet in foyer as well as room. this was a negative point for me. If you look the room size it was decent with all the regular things in place. Room service was good and the food i had was delicious, though costly. Main drawback i felt was the internet connection. It was way too slow. Overall good experience and i would recommend this hotel though this is away from the main city.

Room Tip: please look for non-smoking floor and the top floors have decent room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TusharP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Tusharp
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Bangalore
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
We have taken good note on your comments related to Internet speed and to smoking floor. We apologized if, indeed, we select the wrong floor for your accommodation.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Centara's hotel are always good quality hotels. This one is situated in the north of bangkok. It is a two minute work from the MRT station Phahon Yothin; to get to the BTS you can take the MRT one stop to Chatuchak Park and walk two minutes to Mo Chit BTS. Travel around Bangkok is there fore very easy.
The main selling point is that the hotel is adjoined to a very large shooping and modern shopping centre with lots of places to take a coffee or to eat. I didn't eat in the hotel, why would i as i have a massive shopping centre next door where the bottom floor is dedicated to a food market.
The room was very tidy and had one of those showe room with glass; which can be fun if you like watching poeple shower :-) you can pull down a blind from the bedroom if the person showering wants privacy.

The down sides to this hotel are: the mini bar was very expensive. a small bottle of chang was 200bht. The room is more geared for business stop overs. WIFI was an exta charge(200bh per day). If like me you didn't bring a laptop then the hotel has no computers that you can use; this in my opinion is daft! I couldn't find an internet cafe near by, though the hotel did have a business centre where you could use the internet for 300bt per hour - i kid you not. Obviously you'd have to be daft or desperate to use this facility.

The OK's were: the gym was small but adequate. If you wee a body builder it would be insufficicent, but for average Joe it looked ok. The swimming pool was never used as far as i could see. it was medium sized and surrounded by plam trees so it offerred plenty of shade maybe a bit too much.Service from reception staff was quite good and friendly.

Conclusion: rooms were very clean though geared for business users. The hotels location is very good for shoppers, this will keep you wife very happy. The roof top bar looked amazing. make sure you bring a laptop if you need regular internet access. Apart from the roof top bar i'd skip eating at the hotel. Also, very easy to commute around bangkok from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Peter
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of London.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Room: tiny, cheap fittings. Bathroom in a wardrobe.

Club privilege: We booked a suite club room but to my horror, it was just a show. Drinks were locked up, staff could not be bother to refill drinks. Breakfast as awful. And not flexible enough to go from a club breakfast to a standard room breakfast in the lobby. First time I experienced this. when I asked why they said because I booked from Internet rate. Which makes sense because Internet booking should not be a disadvantage.

Service: awful from reception booking to doorman to concierge. They could not be bother. I don't know why they would even bother to turn up to work. They have forgotten who paid their wages. Not only that they are unfriendly but they are also not ver knowledgeable nor bright. They can't help you in anyway. No idea of the surrounds, not very informative tour information.
Location: the only thing right about it. Although I prefer Hansar in many ways from service, room to the closeness to the bts.
Tour desk stuff up with returning the guest back to the right location which wasted one hour of people's time in the bk traffic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Madam
I would like to thank you to have chosen our Hotel for your recent visit.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the services and facilities throughout your stay.
We are very proud of our set up standards in the Club lounge, and reckon that most of our customers enjoy the facilities. Nevertheless we have taken good note on your comments and we will take the adequate corrective measure to improve upon.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Park, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent service, upon arrival on 14th September to 22nd September. The lovely fruit carving and fruit baskets sent to the room was most appreciated and the staff were always helpful and polite. Conveniently located near Central Plaza for shopping and the MRT to go to Chatuchak weekend market. Highly recommend this hotel. We had dinner at the Thai restaurant as well and the food was quite good.

Room Tip: WE had the room right at the elevators, it was convenient and had a little sitting room with a slidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuniceGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGLB, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Singapore.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casatenovo, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I spent three days in this hotel for a business trip. The room was very nice. Windowed bathroom (you can see through it from the bedroom), with a fantastic huge shower.
All the lights and air condition switch are in a common console next to the bed. Bed is big and comfortable. Restaurants at first floor were nice and the breakfast full of many different things.
Not very expansive for European standards.
I was disappointed that internet wi-fi is an extra.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugenioCazzaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel S, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Cazzaniga
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Casatenovo.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were so lucky to got a room on the executive floor with city view. This hotel is not far from Bts, MRT and Chatuchak Market. anyway, the hotel provides the shuttle bus to that destitions as well. There is various kind of food for breakfast but so so for dessert. Some staff there needs improvement including staff in the restaurant who chit-chatted loudly...and not paid attention enough for 5 star as its said.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel S, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madam
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of New York Mills
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
We have taken good note on your comments in relation to staff behavior during the meal period, and we will take the adequate corrective measure to improve upon.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,129 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#70 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#99 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing