We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #109 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

In the northen parts of Bangkok, in case you want to visit this area. Big hotel close to huge shopping center. I have room in the Club department, which in my opinion is always worthwhile if the hotel has that possibility. More exclusive service. You check in/check out at the club lobby and dont have to wait in line. Here they also serve several meals, like breakfast and snacks, around the clock, all included in the price. You enjoy a fantastic view in spledid isolation from the crowd. Also had the privilege of a limo service for 800 anywhere in Bangkok area, which should be compared with the 2000 you normally will be charged for a lime to the airport for example. Staff perhaps a little reserved and stiff but basically friendly. This is a fine hotel and well recommeded it u are willing to pay a little more. Have nothing to say about the restaurant, because I didn't eat at any. But they looked fine. I think there were at least 3 plus a big lobby bar. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful island of Phuket
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    459
    128
    47
    22
See reviews for
167
300
81
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We attended a conference at the hotel and found it very enjoyable . Breakfast is fantastic a real fusion experience. The only challenge was making sure that taxi drivers took you to the right Centara Grand! On two occasions taken to the Centara at Central Plaza 45mins-1 hour away.
Service was pretty good though disappointed when trying to get a taxi the door men made no effort and tried to hustle us into a hotel limo. The shuttle to the local train station was good though and that is the way to travel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veiutotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful island of Fiji .
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
We are sorry that you did not found our doorman attitude totally satisfactory.
We will share your concerns with the respective members of our team.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is greatly let down by it's lack of free WIFI. I booked my room through booking.com & mistakenly thought this hotel offered free wifi to guests like almost every other hotel in Bangkok. I was shocked when checking in last night that they charge is 790 baht per day!!! (approx $26). I complained about this to the night manager who agreed with me that the hotel should offer free wifi like every other hotel in the area. I was annoyed because I need WIFI for business & would now need to go to an internet cafe to answer my emails. He assured me that the General manager (who would be on duty this morning) would phone me & may be able to offer me the free wifi as I am staying for 3 nights. It is now 1pm & still no call from General Manager to resolve this. Another black mark against this hotel for not phoning me as promised.

This is a great shame as the hotel is otherwise nice & offering free wifi to guests is something everyone comes to expect these days. I will not be staying here again nor recommending it to anyone who requires WIFI, which is just about everyone these days! A big disappointment for Centara.
Cindy Amey

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank phuketexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Mrs Amey
Thank you for sharing your comments and your concerns.
We have actually tried to contact you on the same day, and left you a note offering you a more economical proposal.
Actually not many hotels, in Bangkok, offer free internet access, unless you book a specific package deal inclusive of free internet access.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Centara Grand for the last 2 nights at the end of our Thailand trip, and it was definitely a major disappointment. In comparison to the other 5-star hotels we stayed in during our trip, this hotel's staff weren't very welcoming or helpful. They didn't provide us with the necessary information, and the hotel was way too busy and crowded to be enjoyable. The service was indifferent and not warm at all, and the staff at the tourist information desk were very inefficient. The lady provided us with incorrect information on getting to a tourist destination. Instead of it taking 2 hours out of our day, the information she provided us left us stranded at random piers and streetsides until we finally found our way home. At this stage, the entire day was wasted, and we got back at the hotel by 9pm. The location of the hotel isn't useful for Bangkok tourists wanting to see the main sites of the city. Taxi drivers refuse to drive to that area due to shocking traffic on the tollways. The buffets and other things are very expensive too. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Ingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Sydney.
I would like to thank you to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay.
I have taken good note on your comments related to our tourist desk services, which were not as efficient as expected. Our apology for that .We will ensure that our Guest Relation Officer are better trained to give the most accurate information
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiraz, Iran
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

For our honeymoon me and my husband stayed 4 days in this hotel. Everything was perfect. The room was clean, nice bathroom and great comfortable king size bed, staffs were very kind and helpful, breakfast was delicious and we had many different choices to eat. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time for the club located on the last floor, but it seemed very nice. The best part about this hotel for me was the swimming pool. We had our drink by the jacuzzi which was very fun and no one was there, so we had our privacy quite well. Everything was great in this hotel which made my honeymoon perfect. There was nothing negative about this hotel except for one little tiny issue. Most of the taxi drivers didn't know the location of this hotel or they misunderstood it with some other hotels. So I suggest you to have the business card of the hotel with you at all time when you are out.
In the end I assure you that this is a REAL 5 STAR HOTEL so don't miss it at all!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Mr Amin
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful country of Iran...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
We are please to know that your truly enjoy your honeymoon !
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here for a conference that was held onsite so chose it based solely on that but the rooms were nice, the staff friendly, and service was good. It is not close to some key tourist sites in Bangkok, but found it to be fine for business. Check-in and out was relatively quick. The hotel is adjacent to a shopping mall which can be accessed directly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenMarkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel S, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful country of Denmark.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

during our time in bangkok, weve never experienced anything like it EVER
it is a very busy city as is any other but this one you get a feel of the real bangkok.
We went to the malls where locals would go but i must say keep valuables very close.
The hotel as a whole was lovely they had entertainment which was very good, resturants was nice but was varied english food and quite pricey, they put a lot of tax on once your bill has arrived but still really nice
staff more than happy to help, id stay again if i went back to bangkok.

Room Tip: only go for a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel S, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Miss Rebecca
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Birmingham...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,130 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#70 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#99 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing